Customer Reviews for

The Last Little Blue Envelope

Average Rating 4
( 552 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(272)

4 Star

(187)

3 Star

(62)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Good read

What a book! l loved it!

posted by Balina on August 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Courtesy of Readergirl Reviews a Teen Book

I always enjoy the idea of someone who has passed on leaving behind a set of instructions, letters, tasks or gifts for a loved one still alive. Loved it in P.S. I Love You (awesome movie. If you haven't seen it yet, what's wrong with you?) I also love the concept in ...
I always enjoy the idea of someone who has passed on leaving behind a set of instructions, letters, tasks or gifts for a loved one still alive. Loved it in P.S. I Love You (awesome movie. If you haven't seen it yet, what's wrong with you?) I also love the concept in Maureen Johnson's The Last Little Blue Envelope. She brings such a neat new perspective to the concept, where Ginny's Aunt Peg has left a series of letters for her that send her on adventures through Europe.

This time, Ginny's last letter, which she thought lost, is found by an English boy named Oliver. The adventure begins again, with some old friends returning, and a new one, Oliver, there to stir up trouble and feelings. I loved Ginny! She was such a fun character to read because she was independent, smart, and determined to follow her aunt's instructions to the end of the journey and its rewarding conclusion. Oliver was a bit harder to figure out. At first, his motives for what he does seem not so very honorable, until much later you find out what the true motives are. I had guessed along the way that Oliver probably had a good reason for what he was doing, and as romance began to bloom between Oliver and Ginny, I found myself convinced that he was a great guy. The romance between the two was sweet, although I could have stood to see a bit more development on this aspect. It was pretty late into the book before things really start to take off, so it didn't leave a whole lot of time left to really see their relationship grow. So Ginny's final decision, while nice and what I would have wanted, didn't make as much sense.

I haven't read the previous book, but this one intrigued me enough that I will definitely be picking up a copy. I enjoyed Maureen Johnson's straightforward writing style and had fun reading this book and following Ginny's adventures. All in all, a satisfying read.

posted by ReadergirlReviews on March 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 555 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 28
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    Courtesy of Readergirl Reviews a Teen Book

    I always enjoy the idea of someone who has passed on leaving behind a set of instructions, letters, tasks or gifts for a loved one still alive. Loved it in P.S. I Love You (awesome movie. If you haven't seen it yet, what's wrong with you?) I also love the concept in Maureen Johnson's The Last Little Blue Envelope. She brings such a neat new perspective to the concept, where Ginny's Aunt Peg has left a series of letters for her that send her on adventures through Europe.

    This time, Ginny's last letter, which she thought lost, is found by an English boy named Oliver. The adventure begins again, with some old friends returning, and a new one, Oliver, there to stir up trouble and feelings. I loved Ginny! She was such a fun character to read because she was independent, smart, and determined to follow her aunt's instructions to the end of the journey and its rewarding conclusion. Oliver was a bit harder to figure out. At first, his motives for what he does seem not so very honorable, until much later you find out what the true motives are. I had guessed along the way that Oliver probably had a good reason for what he was doing, and as romance began to bloom between Oliver and Ginny, I found myself convinced that he was a great guy. The romance between the two was sweet, although I could have stood to see a bit more development on this aspect. It was pretty late into the book before things really start to take off, so it didn't leave a whole lot of time left to really see their relationship grow. So Ginny's final decision, while nice and what I would have wanted, didn't make as much sense.

    I haven't read the previous book, but this one intrigued me enough that I will definitely be picking up a copy. I enjoyed Maureen Johnson's straightforward writing style and had fun reading this book and following Ginny's adventures. All in all, a satisfying read.

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read

    What a book! l loved it!

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    Good read.

    Good way to end the book. It was great to finally get to know what the last letter contained (although, it seems ultimately to not have been the point). Takes care of the loose ends from the previous book, and managed to not bog down the book with recaps from the previous. Definitely recommend for anyone adventurous, or anyone who wishes they were.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Bailey loves this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I LOVED THIS BOOK SOOOOOOOOOSOSOSOSO MICH it is amazing but u must read the first book first CANNOT READ OUT OF ORDER loved it and i like oliver more than keith
    Keith is totally uncool for doing what he did to her but i cant tell u cause im not a spoiler ;) <3

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    i Loved it!

    After reading the free drida selection with the first book i had to buy the second one. I Absolutely love her books. You have a new fan!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Satisfying

    A fabulous continuation of the story from the first book. These stories inspire me to have an adventure of my own. A fun, inspiring, cute and lively story. Get ready to curl up with a cup of tea and read this book from start to finish!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    Had to...

    I bought this after getting the 13 Blue Envelopes free. Good read.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! A must read book : ) : ) : ) : )

    I read the first book and fell in love with it. It was just so good i could not stop reading. You MUST read this and the first book there sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo good.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    Recommend - but only for older teens and up

    I am an adult who traveled Europe with my friends when I was in my early 20's and I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I did notice that it was recommended both for 9 to 12 and teens. This is definitely NOT a 9 to 12 read, only for one passage, but it is not appropriate for a 9, or a 12 year old to read about a girl being felt up by a boy and making the decision that it shouldn't go further. Makes me question who is making these recommendations.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a must read! Favorite book! Read the first book first so

    This is a must read! Favorite book! Read the first book first so you get the whole story :) Also my favorite author!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    As good as the first. A good read

    I really enjoyed the characters and style. The author did a great job of keeping me engaged and wanting to find out what happened next.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Amazing

    I loved the book!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Great second book!

    I really enjoyed the first book, and this one did not disappoint! Like others have said, it answers some questions and ties up loose ends! If you liked the first one, which you should read first, then you'll like this one! It would be nice to know what happens to Ginny after this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    AWESOME BOOK!!!!! :)

    I luved this book! Had a great plot and never got boring. I just wish there was more romance. I also wish that we could find out what happened to keith and ginnys relationship after their fight.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    What a fantastic story and journey to go on!

    What a great conclusion to this story. I love how the author ties this story together with the artist aunt taking her neice on an incredible journey of life and its mysteries. Teachering her to trust in others and have faith in the unknown, discovering who you are and what a wonderful journey life can be if you are not afraid to take risks and chances and to explore other cultures. Ginny learns to trust strangers and put faith in the world and those around her and for being a shy girl she does it gracefully. Actually the story doesn't really need to end. I can see the author taking Ginny to college and a journey of education outside of the united states and all the strange characters she will meet. Who knows maybe we will see more of her journey.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    AWESOME

    I LOVE THIS BOOK I LOVE THIS BOOK I LOVE THIS BOOK I LOVE THIS BOOK I LOVE THIS BOOK I LOVE THIS BOOK I LOVE THIS BOOK I LOVE THIS BOOK I LOVE THIS BOOK I LOVE THIS BOOK I LOVE THIS BOOK I LOVE THIS BOOK I LOV THIS BOOK

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Boringgg

    Ok so .. this isnt really age appropriatre for kids or cchildren under the ages of 12 or13 because of ginnys romance i the novel. But otherwise its i well written and a little dragged out. Please dinttt tell me theres 3 books omg. Read mazerunners instead. Fast paced series tht keeps you on the edge of your seat. Good luck!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Sooooooooooooooooooooooooo good

    I loved t the first one

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Great

    I honestly didn't expect the book to be this good, but it was fantastic. It had some very unexpected twists that left me happy and a little sad at the same time. It was definitely worthwhile because it was more than a good plot, it was a story with feeling (XD I am so cheesey). Read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Questiom Question

    Is this the first book

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 555 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 28