Customer Reviews for

The Last Little Blue Envelope

Average Rating 4
( 552 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(272)

4 Star

(187)

3 Star

(62)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Good read

What a book! l loved it!

posted by Balina on August 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Courtesy of Readergirl Reviews a Teen Book

I always enjoy the idea of someone who has passed on leaving behind a set of instructions, letters, tasks or gifts for a loved one still alive. Loved it in P.S. I Love You (awesome movie. If you haven't seen it yet, what's wrong with you?) I also love the concept in ...
I always enjoy the idea of someone who has passed on leaving behind a set of instructions, letters, tasks or gifts for a loved one still alive. Loved it in P.S. I Love You (awesome movie. If you haven't seen it yet, what's wrong with you?) I also love the concept in Maureen Johnson's The Last Little Blue Envelope. She brings such a neat new perspective to the concept, where Ginny's Aunt Peg has left a series of letters for her that send her on adventures through Europe.

This time, Ginny's last letter, which she thought lost, is found by an English boy named Oliver. The adventure begins again, with some old friends returning, and a new one, Oliver, there to stir up trouble and feelings. I loved Ginny! She was such a fun character to read because she was independent, smart, and determined to follow her aunt's instructions to the end of the journey and its rewarding conclusion. Oliver was a bit harder to figure out. At first, his motives for what he does seem not so very honorable, until much later you find out what the true motives are. I had guessed along the way that Oliver probably had a good reason for what he was doing, and as romance began to bloom between Oliver and Ginny, I found myself convinced that he was a great guy. The romance between the two was sweet, although I could have stood to see a bit more development on this aspect. It was pretty late into the book before things really start to take off, so it didn't leave a whole lot of time left to really see their relationship grow. So Ginny's final decision, while nice and what I would have wanted, didn't make as much sense.

I haven't read the previous book, but this one intrigued me enough that I will definitely be picking up a copy. I enjoyed Maureen Johnson's straightforward writing style and had fun reading this book and following Ginny's adventures. All in all, a satisfying read.

posted by ReadergirlReviews on March 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    Courtesy of Readergirl Reviews a Teen Book

    I always enjoy the idea of someone who has passed on leaving behind a set of instructions, letters, tasks or gifts for a loved one still alive. Loved it in P.S. I Love You (awesome movie. If you haven't seen it yet, what's wrong with you?) I also love the concept in Maureen Johnson's The Last Little Blue Envelope. She brings such a neat new perspective to the concept, where Ginny's Aunt Peg has left a series of letters for her that send her on adventures through Europe.

    This time, Ginny's last letter, which she thought lost, is found by an English boy named Oliver. The adventure begins again, with some old friends returning, and a new one, Oliver, there to stir up trouble and feelings. I loved Ginny! She was such a fun character to read because she was independent, smart, and determined to follow her aunt's instructions to the end of the journey and its rewarding conclusion. Oliver was a bit harder to figure out. At first, his motives for what he does seem not so very honorable, until much later you find out what the true motives are. I had guessed along the way that Oliver probably had a good reason for what he was doing, and as romance began to bloom between Oliver and Ginny, I found myself convinced that he was a great guy. The romance between the two was sweet, although I could have stood to see a bit more development on this aspect. It was pretty late into the book before things really start to take off, so it didn't leave a whole lot of time left to really see their relationship grow. So Ginny's final decision, while nice and what I would have wanted, didn't make as much sense.

    I haven't read the previous book, but this one intrigued me enough that I will definitely be picking up a copy. I enjoyed Maureen Johnson's straightforward writing style and had fun reading this book and following Ginny's adventures. All in all, a satisfying read.

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    The last little blue envelope

    Ok So omg I started reading this book and nothing made sense because I never read the first book which is 13 little blue envelopes so I recommend tet you read that book first

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Besg book ever

    Icase you havent noticed it was sarcasm this book sucks like this other bad book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    Okay of a book

    It wasnt that great of a book but overall it was a okay book. It was also boring no offense or anything since i am an expert

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Ignorant and Naive

    Ginny is portrayed as innocent and naive. But she just comes across as ignorant. She doesnt know what pounds are. For a high school grad she is incredibly stupid and excruciatingly ignorant.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    It was Okay

    I usually hate open ending books. I would like to know for sure what happens in the end I hate coming up with my own conclusions. If you like open ending books well then this is a good book. I just hate that this series ends this way.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2011

    Very Good!!

    This was a very good book it fit in well with the last book and really seemed to sum it up. If you do read this book I would have to say that you have to read the first book before hand. This book was slightly predictable, but still very good an well written. I definitally would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    Good but not great

    The story was good but i felt like i could tell whats going to happen next its good for a quick read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    Pretty good

    Not as good as the first book, but I had to find out what happened to the last letter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    Cute and unique.

    I really liked it but didnt love it. It was a unique story line and i did like that it was different. I wish I had known that it had a sequel before I started

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4