Customer Reviews for

The Last Little Blue Envelope

Average Rating 4
( 554 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(272)

4 Star

(189)

3 Star

(62)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Good read

What a book! l loved it!

posted by Balina on August 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Courtesy of Readergirl Reviews a Teen Book

I always enjoy the idea of someone who has passed on leaving behind a set of instructions, letters, tasks or gifts for a loved one still alive. Loved it in P.S. I Love You (awesome movie. If you haven't seen it yet, what's wrong with you?) I also love the concept in ...
I always enjoy the idea of someone who has passed on leaving behind a set of instructions, letters, tasks or gifts for a loved one still alive. Loved it in P.S. I Love You (awesome movie. If you haven't seen it yet, what's wrong with you?) I also love the concept in Maureen Johnson's The Last Little Blue Envelope. She brings such a neat new perspective to the concept, where Ginny's Aunt Peg has left a series of letters for her that send her on adventures through Europe.

This time, Ginny's last letter, which she thought lost, is found by an English boy named Oliver. The adventure begins again, with some old friends returning, and a new one, Oliver, there to stir up trouble and feelings. I loved Ginny! She was such a fun character to read because she was independent, smart, and determined to follow her aunt's instructions to the end of the journey and its rewarding conclusion. Oliver was a bit harder to figure out. At first, his motives for what he does seem not so very honorable, until much later you find out what the true motives are. I had guessed along the way that Oliver probably had a good reason for what he was doing, and as romance began to bloom between Oliver and Ginny, I found myself convinced that he was a great guy. The romance between the two was sweet, although I could have stood to see a bit more development on this aspect. It was pretty late into the book before things really start to take off, so it didn't leave a whole lot of time left to really see their relationship grow. So Ginny's final decision, while nice and what I would have wanted, didn't make as much sense.

I haven't read the previous book, but this one intrigued me enough that I will definitely be picking up a copy. I enjoyed Maureen Johnson's straightforward writing style and had fun reading this book and following Ginny's adventures. All in all, a satisfying read.

posted by ReadergirlReviews on March 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 189 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    Recommend - but only for older teens and up

    I am an adult who traveled Europe with my friends when I was in my early 20's and I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I did notice that it was recommended both for 9 to 12 and teens. This is definitely NOT a 9 to 12 read, only for one passage, but it is not appropriate for a 9, or a 12 year old to read about a girl being felt up by a boy and making the decision that it shouldn't go further. Makes me question who is making these recommendations.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    As good as the first. A good read

    I really enjoyed the characters and style. The author did a great job of keeping me engaged and wanting to find out what happened next.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    What a fantastic story and journey to go on!

    What a great conclusion to this story. I love how the author ties this story together with the artist aunt taking her neice on an incredible journey of life and its mysteries. Teachering her to trust in others and have faith in the unknown, discovering who you are and what a wonderful journey life can be if you are not afraid to take risks and chances and to explore other cultures. Ginny learns to trust strangers and put faith in the world and those around her and for being a shy girl she does it gracefully. Actually the story doesn't really need to end. I can see the author taking Ginny to college and a journey of education outside of the united states and all the strange characters she will meet. Who knows maybe we will see more of her journey.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Amazing

    Almost better than the first one, just wish there was more rimance

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Good

    I reaaly liked this book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    Enjoyed this sequel

    I tend to read Urban Fantasy, which can be a bit dark. I like this series because both books were light-hearted and fun. A great "summer read" with just enough angst and drama to keep you interested. Be sure o read them in order :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    Nice... But really no point

    I am an avid reader and I pick books like these up once in awhile.
    It was a nice book but there was really no point at all. The plot was all too slow for me, and well some things didn't make any sense. Make sure to read the first book before you read this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Not as good as the first, but still AMAZING!

    Not as good as the first, but still AMAZING!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2013

    Refreshing read!!!

    I really enjoyed this book, though I thought I wouldn't. It just takes you to place to place as though you feel like you are there. And when it ends you wished you had more! A good light hearted beach read! Enjoy!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    READ THIS SERIES!!!!

    I love this book so much. A new love intrest!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Thumbs up

    Read this right after finishing the first book. Both books were easy reads. Finished both books withina couple days!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Good book!

    I thought this was a pretty good book! Obviously you have to read the first book in the series, though:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    First

    I read the first of these books in the 5th grade but never finished it. Im excited to get back to it now, because of this and can't wait to read this instalment, is it worth it to buy on the Nook???

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Intreging

    I llove it from the very first chapter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting, and quick paced!

    Other than a few small issues, I really enjoyed reading 13 Little Blue Envelopes, the first book in this series. I enjoyed reading The Last Little Blue Envelope as well! Having just finished the first book, it was nice to hop right on to the second book, and still have it all in my memory.

    I have to say, I still had the problems with this book that I had with the first book. A young girl traveling across the country, with people she barely knows. At least she wasn¿t completely alone this time, so that was something.

    I think I connected a little more with the main character, Ginny, this time around. She showed a lot more emotion, although not so much in the beginning of the book. (Come on Ginny, you¿re in London, at Christmas!) In my review for the last book, I said I hope to see more of Keith in The Last Little Blue Envelope. Well, we definitely see more of him, but I have to say I didn¿t care much for the way he acted. We are also introduced to two new characters in this book. (Ellis and Oliver). I really, really liked Oliver right from the start, and didn¿t care for the way he was treated. I love Uncle Richard; I¿ve liked him from the first book, and wish he had a larger role in this book.

    The storyline in The Last Little Blue Envelope was interesting and quick paced. It kept me wondering what was going to happen next. There were also quite a few laugh out loud moments! I enjoyed following Ginny on her journey around Europe once again, especially when she visited Ireland. I hope to one day visit there myself.

    I can¿t say I am satisfied with the ending of the book. It kind of left me hanging. There¿s definitely room for a third book, (hint, hint), and I would love to see what Ginny does with her future. And I would totally love to see more of Oliver and Uncle Richard!

    If you enjoyed the first book, you will most likely enjoy this book as well. I know I did.

    Happy Reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    helps "13 little blue envelopes" to have closure.

    I read the first book when it was first published. I remember thinking at the time that the ending was not how I would have liked it to go. I always wondered what the 13th envelope said. It just didn't seem fitting for Ginny to fly all the way to Europe for the adventure of a lifetime, and then at the last envelope, the adventure is abruptly ended."The Last Little Blue Envelope" clears all the questions from its predecessor.
    This books will make you laugh, and may even make you cry. It's a genuinely well written, and i could not put it down!
    I will say one thing though, you must read "13 Little Blue Envelopes" first. This book will not make nearly as much as sense if you don't. As I said before, this book answers many questions that had been left unsaid from the last book. Maureen Johnson doesn't get muddled down in explaining what happened in the first, either.
    Overall a lovely ending to Miss. Ginny's "little" adventure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    Pretty good!

    I thought that this book was a bit had to get into and needed a tiny bit more detail :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    great!

    this is a great book. well written with a great ending! its the perfect ending ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Yippee--Ginny returns!

    Loved, loved, loved the first book, Thirteen Little Blue Envelopes, and liked this one alot but it did not give me the warm, fuzzy feeling that I was hoping for. Ginny is off on yet another adventure, as the 13 envelopes have been found. However, the dastardly Oliver is holding them for ransom. Seems a bit far-fetched; why didn't Ginny alert her uncle or the authorities about the situation? But I did enjoy the story, with the romance, the excitement, the nostalgia for Aunt Peg, and the hilarity of driving that beater car through wintery weather in several countries. Teen will enjoy picking up where the first story left off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    I liked this book

    I would say read the first book first its called 13 blue enevoples. Both r really good reaads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 189 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10