Customer Reviews for

Last Man Standing

Average Rating 4
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Yes, excellent!

Despite the review by the somewhat jaded reviewer that appears first in the review section, I thought the book was a great read. Usually I can figure out who the bad guys are early on, but it was well into page 300 + that I thought I had it nailed! Well, I had one of ...
Despite the review by the somewhat jaded reviewer that appears first in the review section, I thought the book was a great read. Usually I can figure out who the bad guys are early on, but it was well into page 300 + that I thought I had it nailed! Well, I had one of them, but not the rest and I could not easily figure out the motives. Lots of characters. Lots of action. Not spell binding, but a fine story involving the FBI, local police and savvy drug dealers. After reading Unbroken by Gup, this one followed closely the kinds of risks and off-the-wall actions of typical law enforcement folk. Like I said to others, it is a great read! Follow the advice o the majority of readers - get the book!

posted by PnamaCritic on June 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

A Birthday Present that turned into a Sour Read!

I received this book as a birthday present and the gift brought a grateful smile to my face since I have enjoyed many of David Baldacci's novels, i.e., Absolute Power, A Simple Truth and others and within a few days I was reading Last Man Standing. Overall, I thought th...
I received this book as a birthday present and the gift brought a grateful smile to my face since I have enjoyed many of David Baldacci's novels, i.e., Absolute Power, A Simple Truth and others and within a few days I was reading Last Man Standing. Overall, I thought the Web London character was boring and shallow. As an FBI hostage team assaulter he seemed more like a loose cannon rather than a team player which I suspect is the SOP for the FBI. The story is plastered with police that have nothing to fill their time with except to shoot bazookas like guns and love every minute of their destruction. Sometimes I had to laugh because some of the author's scenarios were so bizarre and far-fetched. I won't go into the constant splattering of foul, almost detestable language, which I didn't feel added much to the plot. There were few surprises and I felt I was sitting on the edge of my seat waiting to find out what would happen next.

Anyway, in my opinion Last Man Standing doesn't seem to fit Mr. Baldacci's style of a thrilling mystery novel that is at least realistic to a degree and his intensive research into the subject matter that he noted for. One last thought I think the book could have been shorten by at least 50 or 60 pages. It's not a terrible novel, it's a good read and I wouldn't recommend purchasing it.

posted by BoatingBug on February 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    Yes, excellent!

    Despite the review by the somewhat jaded reviewer that appears first in the review section, I thought the book was a great read. Usually I can figure out who the bad guys are early on, but it was well into page 300 + that I thought I had it nailed! Well, I had one of them, but not the rest and I could not easily figure out the motives. Lots of characters. Lots of action. Not spell binding, but a fine story involving the FBI, local police and savvy drug dealers. After reading Unbroken by Gup, this one followed closely the kinds of risks and off-the-wall actions of typical law enforcement folk. Like I said to others, it is a great read! Follow the advice o the majority of readers - get the book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    Baldacci is a master when it comes to writing thrillers and this one is no exception.

    I listened to this book driving north to New York, from Florida. I don't know if the book is as good as a visual read but, as an audio, it was great. There was no chance of falling asleep while driving, that's for sure. It was really an exciting thriller which held my interest constantly. It was just perfect for a long car trip.
    It starts out with an FBI drug bust gone bad and then twists and turns with all sorts of subplots woven into the tale. There are kidnappings, unsolved murders, betrayals, crooked psychiatrists, drug dealers, planted bugs in offices and cars, hired thugs and killers. There are a lot of characters and you really do have to concentrate to keep them straight but they all seem vital to the story and most are very interesting characters with unique personalities.
    Web London is the star FBI agent around whom the plot revolves. Did he become paralyzed with fear during the drug bust or did something else cause his odd, erratic behavior? His past comes back to haunt him as he tries to get to the bottom of that mystery. The book will keep you on the edge of your seat until the end. There are some parts which may require you to suspend disbelief, they are either so obvious or seem outrageous, but they do add to the plot, in their own way.
    There is one major drawback with this audio book. Although the reader was very good, in between each segment, music played. The sound and tempo of the music made it seem like the audio was over as the melody faded off to nothing and silence ensued. If you didn't pause and wait until the CD went back to the 1st track, you wouldn't realize that it was not over and could remove it prematurely, missing part of the story, as a result.
    I recommend this book for airports, plane trips, cruises and beach reading. It is not a serious read; it is an exciting, crime novel, a fun read in which all the ends will tie up nicely and yet, it will still leave you wondering about what the future will hold for Web London, when you turn the final page.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good for a first venture into dramatic reading. If you like 24 you will enjoy this book.

    Web is an interesting character with some hidden demons that he doesn't seem to know about. Working for the government turns out to be an appropriate outlet and he excels at his job. That is until he comes across the one time he is not successful. His failure cascades into a waterfall of revenge and betrayal by those he thought he could trust.
    This is a good book for a first venture into dramatic reading.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2004

    A Definite Page-Turner

    This book is awesome. It's one of those books that looks boring by the cover, but you know what they say. This book you won't have time to put down because you just wat to know whats going to happen. You scored again Baldacci. Good work!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2013

    Recommend

    This is another on the edge of your seat David Baldacci books. I wasn't disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Compelling Story....

    Mr. Baldacci has done another wonderful job of bringing us a terrific compelling story..It is a page turner with a realistic hero. I found it worth the money invested to read it.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Loved this book. I couldn't put it down. I just found Baldacci

    Loved this book. I couldn't put it down. I just found Baldacci this summer and am enjoying all the books I've read of his. This would make a great movie. Web was such an interesting character. I would love to see more in this series and I think a movie or TV series would really be great. A must read and I didn't care that it was long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A thriller!

    A very interesting read – enjoyed the audio as this is a fast paced thriller! Action packed with suspense, plot twists and the main character Wed, a member of FBI HRT—leaving him the last man standing after a wipe out of the team. Taking you from the past to the present as you learn more – as he unravels the mystery with colorful characters along the way --- great job from Baldacci!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2004

    NOT BAD

    I have to say that this book isnt one of my all time faviorites but yet it i wont say that Baldacci didnt do a good job. I think his greatest fault was the beginning, i personnally thought it waaay too boring and i felt some of the stuff in the begging being repeated later on in the book. I enjoyed the second half more because it was intense it had plot twists and made want to never put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2002

    True Baldacci Style

    This was a great, quick read! I enjoyed it even more than Baldacci's earlier work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2002

    Gripping, tense Thriller

    This book has everything a reader looks for in a police/criminal drama. Baldacci is very effective at explaining various weapons and tactics employed by the FBI without over-complicating the material. The only flaw is that he sort of misled the reader on Web and Paulie's relationship at the beginning of the novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2002

    Great Characters

    Please tell me that there is a sequel in the works! I got so involved with Web that I want to know what happens next. David Baldacci is one of my top 5 favorite authors and this book certainly upholds his great reputation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2