Customer Reviews for

Last Man Standing

Average Rating 4
( 114 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Yes, excellent!

Despite the review by the somewhat jaded reviewer that appears first in the review section, I thought the book was a great read. Usually I can figure out who the bad guys are early on, but it was well into page 300 + that I thought I had it nailed! Well, I had one of ...
Despite the review by the somewhat jaded reviewer that appears first in the review section, I thought the book was a great read. Usually I can figure out who the bad guys are early on, but it was well into page 300 + that I thought I had it nailed! Well, I had one of them, but not the rest and I could not easily figure out the motives. Lots of characters. Lots of action. Not spell binding, but a fine story involving the FBI, local police and savvy drug dealers. After reading Unbroken by Gup, this one followed closely the kinds of risks and off-the-wall actions of typical law enforcement folk. Like I said to others, it is a great read! Follow the advice o the majority of readers - get the book!

posted by PnamaCritic on June 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

A Birthday Present that turned into a Sour Read!

I received this book as a birthday present and the gift brought a grateful smile to my face since I have enjoyed many of David Baldacci's novels, i.e., Absolute Power, A Simple Truth and others and within a few days I was reading Last Man Standing. Overall, I thought th...
I received this book as a birthday present and the gift brought a grateful smile to my face since I have enjoyed many of David Baldacci's novels, i.e., Absolute Power, A Simple Truth and others and within a few days I was reading Last Man Standing. Overall, I thought the Web London character was boring and shallow. As an FBI hostage team assaulter he seemed more like a loose cannon rather than a team player which I suspect is the SOP for the FBI. The story is plastered with police that have nothing to fill their time with except to shoot bazookas like guns and love every minute of their destruction. Sometimes I had to laugh because some of the author's scenarios were so bizarre and far-fetched. I won't go into the constant splattering of foul, almost detestable language, which I didn't feel added much to the plot. There were few surprises and I felt I was sitting on the edge of my seat waiting to find out what would happen next.

Anyway, in my opinion Last Man Standing doesn't seem to fit Mr. Baldacci's style of a thrilling mystery novel that is at least realistic to a degree and his intensive research into the subject matter that he noted for. One last thought I think the book could have been shorten by at least 50 or 60 pages. It's not a terrible novel, it's a good read and I wouldn't recommend purchasing it.

posted by BoatingBug on February 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 114 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    Highly Recommended!

    A good action-drama. Web London is a guy that all men can relate to. He faces not only physical challenges but also psychological and overcomes them. It would make a great movie staring Matt Damon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    highly recommended if you like suspense and a thriller

    Great story and riveting, couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Extremely entertaining, suspensful story.

    I did not purchase this book, but i had listened to an audio of the book. This book really keeps you on te edge of your seat with the end of chapter twists. There is great action throughout and it really shows how a great mind would think and observe. A must read, though there are parts not suitable for children (i.e. a man and woman engage in intimate activities...). All in all, a book i would read again.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Another thriller Baldacci style......Excellent1!

    Didn't put down start to finish!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Love this book

    Full of action and thrills

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Weak

    Started out good but then took a nose dive at midpoint

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    Twisting Mystery

    Like one of the other reviewers, my normal "I can figure this out" feeling was denied time-after-time. Loved the surprises! Wondered why he never did more Web London character books..............or maybe he did but they're just not listed like the Camel Club is? Good read on this one! Couldn't wait to pick it up during my normal reading time at the end of the day!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2004

    An excellent book!

    The audiobook is wonderful. Jason Culp does an excellent job with variations in voices, etc. Web is a complex character, a flawed hero. Romano, Bates and Cove were also interesting characters. I could piece some of the mystery but how Baldacci ties it up was amazing. I only hope that, with the ending, we will again meet Web London in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2004

    NOT BAD

    I have to say that this book isnt one of my all time faviorites but yet it i wont say that Baldacci didnt do a good job. I think his greatest fault was the beginning, i personnally thought it waaay too boring and i felt some of the stuff in the begging being repeated later on in the book. I enjoyed the second half more because it was intense it had plot twists and made want to never put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2003

    Great Read!

    I really enjoyed this book. The relationship between Web and Paulie was fun, intense and competitive. All the other characters were very believable and interesting. I would have liked more about Randal Cove in the story and also to find out what happened with Web and his dad. But beyond that, it was great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2003

    A High School Junior

    An all around awesome book taht kept me interested. The plot was brilliant with no holes whatsoever. Very entertaining; keeps you guessing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2003

    David Baldacci Presses Everybody's Linen!

    David Baldacci replaces everyone's burnt out fuses in this...scorching (!)...novel about crime, and bad things. Baldacci's cut the toe nails again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2003

    Thrilling

    I absolutely loved this book and was into it the whole way. I read the whole book in one day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2003

    GREAT!

    This is the best story I have read as of yet! Those who could not complete it really missed a hell of story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2003

    SLOW START BUT COMES TOGETHER

    The book started slow and I lost interest early on then jumpen when everything started to come together at the end and from then on I wasn't able to put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2003

    Best Damn Book Ever!

    This book is awesome you mustread it if you are in the middle of this book right now log off your cpu and finish it dammit! If you have already finished it then you better spread the word and for you pansies who haven't read it what the Hell are you waiting for? Get your copy now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2003

    Fascinating!

    I have never come across a book that was so intense and amazing. I'm a fan of Clancy and Grisham, but neither of them have pulled off something like this. The plot is so twisted and gripping. The indepth descriptions only make the story better! This is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2002

    Difficult to Read

    I usually love his books. I found this book hard to read, the story complicated, tedius and boring. I read 250 pages, lost interest and put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2002

    Awesome

    This was my first book from Baldacci. I loved it!! From start to finish it was very well written, with an awesome story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2002

    LIGHTEN UP, DAVE

    This is the complex story of Web London, a highly decorated member of the FBI's Hostage Rescue Team, who is the only man to survive an ambush that takes the lives of six of his closest friends. As is typical of the thriller genre, mysteries and coincidences abound, creating enough interest to keep the reader interested to the end, at which time everything is resolved in a hail of bullets and far-fetched explanations. As usual, the trip is more enjoyable than the destination. Baldacci is a fairly leaden writer, but he does explore Web's psychological hang-ups with some skill. A hypnosis session with his psychiatrist is particularly well executed. The book's major flaw is that every character is completely humorless. A little variety here would go a long way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 114 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6