Customer Reviews for

Last Night at Chateau Marmont

Average Rating 3.5
( 318 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(113)

3 Star

(82)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Wonderfully Addicting

After five years of marriage Brook and Julian's lives are catapulted into the spotlight of fame. Julian, a musician, catches his break and is quickly made into one of the most famous rock stars. Brooke, after working two jobs to help get Julian to this point, is in aw...
After five years of marriage Brook and Julian's lives are catapulted into the spotlight of fame. Julian, a musician, catches his break and is quickly made into one of the most famous rock stars. Brooke, after working two jobs to help get Julian to this point, is in awe and amazement and couldn't be more proud of her husband. Then the publicity hits, the constant travel starts and Brooke is left in the background and alone. Fighting to keep her job and her marriage while remaining supportive, Last Night at Chateau Marmont tells the tale of Brooke and Julian Alters' lives before and after fame. When the breaking point hits, and Julian is caught seducing another woman, Brooke is left to decipher the truth from the lies to see if she has a marriage anymore. The story is one that a reader will not soon forget.

Last Night at Chateau Marmont was simply amazing. I absolutely loved this novel. Lauren does a fantastic job enabling the reader to get to know the Alters individually and as a couple before the fame. This magnifies the readers' emotions and involvement throughout novel. The reader is able to feel both Brooke and Julian's personal struggles as well as understand the strain on their marriage. All of this leads up to an amazing ending. I couldn't have been any happier with this novel. It has every emotion. I laughed, I cried, I was hooked and involved in every aspect.

The author clearly shows she did her homework with this novel. She skillfully wove Brooke and Julian's story into recent events of the decade, making the story feel it was almost true. The novel gives the reader the skinny on stardom. It tells the good, the bad and the ugly. It is a must read that will provide comical relief as well as a suspenseful urge to keep reading. Once you pick it up you won't want to put it down. Last Night at Chateau Marmont, which could not have a better title, gives light on the question "What would it be like if your husband became a star overnight?"

*Reviewed for http://acozyreaderscorner.blogspot.com

posted by IsabellaRenae on July 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

BAFFLED????

I am truly baffled as to why anyone would care about the main female character Brooke. While the author initially portrays her as a dedicated, selfless and devoted wife in short order she is anything but. Instead you get a whiny, low self esteem, narcissist, and she su...
I am truly baffled as to why anyone would care about the main female character Brooke. While the author initially portrays her as a dedicated, selfless and devoted wife in short order she is anything but. Instead you get a whiny, low self esteem, narcissist, and she suffers from a martyr complex.
She is relatively content with her life as she works two jobs to support her musician husband even though she wants nothing more than a family which is on hold until they are both more settled in their careers. When he starts achieving success she has issues. Everything and everyone else seems more important to her than her marriage. GIVE ME A BREAK! After his schedule starts straining the marriage he asks her to give up one of her jobs which would allow her to travel with him. Her perception: he's self absorbed and selfish. My perception: she's delusional. Eventually she loses both jobs (again his fault) yet she can't wait to get another job because she's so good and dedicated. Her priorities are obviously marriage last. At no time does she fight for their marriage. She waits for him to make a move because after all it all about her. She waits for him to come up with a compromise/solution. Only then does she admit she should have given up one of her jobs. My question to Julian: WHY DO YOU WANT HER?
The writer is great at putting you inside the head of the main character I just didn't like what I saw.
In light of the times we live in this was a wasted opportunity to show a spouse how to deal with the other's fame.

posted by RaeRS on August 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 320 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted July 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderfully Addicting

    After five years of marriage Brook and Julian's lives are catapulted into the spotlight of fame. Julian, a musician, catches his break and is quickly made into one of the most famous rock stars. Brooke, after working two jobs to help get Julian to this point, is in awe and amazement and couldn't be more proud of her husband. Then the publicity hits, the constant travel starts and Brooke is left in the background and alone. Fighting to keep her job and her marriage while remaining supportive, Last Night at Chateau Marmont tells the tale of Brooke and Julian Alters' lives before and after fame. When the breaking point hits, and Julian is caught seducing another woman, Brooke is left to decipher the truth from the lies to see if she has a marriage anymore. The story is one that a reader will not soon forget.

    Last Night at Chateau Marmont was simply amazing. I absolutely loved this novel. Lauren does a fantastic job enabling the reader to get to know the Alters individually and as a couple before the fame. This magnifies the readers' emotions and involvement throughout novel. The reader is able to feel both Brooke and Julian's personal struggles as well as understand the strain on their marriage. All of this leads up to an amazing ending. I couldn't have been any happier with this novel. It has every emotion. I laughed, I cried, I was hooked and involved in every aspect.

    The author clearly shows she did her homework with this novel. She skillfully wove Brooke and Julian's story into recent events of the decade, making the story feel it was almost true. The novel gives the reader the skinny on stardom. It tells the good, the bad and the ugly. It is a must read that will provide comical relief as well as a suspenseful urge to keep reading. Once you pick it up you won't want to put it down. Last Night at Chateau Marmont, which could not have a better title, gives light on the question "What would it be like if your husband became a star overnight?"

    *Reviewed for http://acozyreaderscorner.blogspot.com

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2010

    BAFFLED????

    I am truly baffled as to why anyone would care about the main female character Brooke. While the author initially portrays her as a dedicated, selfless and devoted wife in short order she is anything but. Instead you get a whiny, low self esteem, narcissist, and she suffers from a martyr complex.
    She is relatively content with her life as she works two jobs to support her musician husband even though she wants nothing more than a family which is on hold until they are both more settled in their careers. When he starts achieving success she has issues. Everything and everyone else seems more important to her than her marriage. GIVE ME A BREAK! After his schedule starts straining the marriage he asks her to give up one of her jobs which would allow her to travel with him. Her perception: he's self absorbed and selfish. My perception: she's delusional. Eventually she loses both jobs (again his fault) yet she can't wait to get another job because she's so good and dedicated. Her priorities are obviously marriage last. At no time does she fight for their marriage. She waits for him to make a move because after all it all about her. She waits for him to come up with a compromise/solution. Only then does she admit she should have given up one of her jobs. My question to Julian: WHY DO YOU WANT HER?
    The writer is great at putting you inside the head of the main character I just didn't like what I saw.
    In light of the times we live in this was a wasted opportunity to show a spouse how to deal with the other's fame.

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyed!

    Brooke and Julian are a Manhattan couple who have been married five years. She is a nutritionist working two jobs to support the dreams of her talented, musician husband. When Sony comes to him with a recording contract and his career begins to take off the stress and strain on the relationship quickly take their toll. ENJOYED!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    MORE FUN THAN BEING THERE - WEISBERGER DOES IT AGAIN

    Ever wish that you could actually have everything you've dreamed of, that all you've worked and hoped for would really come true? That happened to Brooke and Julian Alter. All their dreams came true and more. It was the more that was the problem.

    With LAST NIGHT AT CHATEAU MARMONT Lauren Weisberger (The Devil Wears Prada) has created another tale about the world of celebs and a young woman who wants to be part of it, but when that happens decides it's not such a good idea after all. In this case it's not just one young woman but a young husband and wife, Julian, an aspiring singer/songwriter, and Brooke, a nutritionist who some day hopes to have her own practice. Meanwhile she's working two jobs (a nutritionist at a NYU hospital and a counselor at an Upper East Side girls school) to support them because she knows, just absolutely knows that he's brilliant and soon that brilliance will be recognized,

    Well, at last it is after Julian gets his big break - performing on the Jay Leno show. Before long his music is nearing the top of the Grammy charts, he's signed by Sony, and asked to tour with Maroon 5. Yes, this is thrilling, exciting to the max, but it soon puts a strain on their relationship when Brooke isn't able to keep her jobs in check and be with Julian when he performs. In addition, her once laid back husband is now sporting a designer wardrobe, his picture appears regularly in the gossipy Last Night, and he's managed by a conniving agent,Leo, who thinks any publicity is good publicity.

    Speaking of publicity, when Brooke sees Julian and a strange girl wrapped around each other at the Chateau Marmont in photos spread all over Last Night she cannot believe her eyes. But, there for the world to see is a shot of the girl leaving Julian's room at six in the a.m.

    What has happened to their once loving, trusting relationship, and what really happened LAST NIGHT AT CHATEAU MARMONT?

    When Weisberger creates characters she does it with a flare for satire and comedy, such as a plastic surgeon father-in-law who had offered to redo Brooke's breasts at cost when she and Julian became engaged, and a hot young rock star who give Brooke sage advice after the photos surface: "Start spending that money immediately.......don't cut off your nose to spite your face."

    Dispense with credibility, smile, and enjoy.

    - Gail Cooke

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2010

    A Valid Message Here

    This is a story of a couple, Brooke and Julien Alter. Brooke has a concrete plan for her life and Julien has a huge dream based on his talent. What occurs is the collison of both concepts and reality. Much of this story is not new, but the underlying morale is that wherever life leads you, no matter how you are blessed or burdened, who you truly are should be your primary focus amid the hoopla, the pain and everyday drama. Being true to yourself and those you love can steer you on a more positive path that can reinforce the basics of finding our path and our bliss.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    Glad I Read The Reviews

    I almost bought this e-book based mainly on it's reference to the famous Chateau Marmont and all who began and ended there. I'm sure the writer considered this in titling her book even though the Chateau did not play as major a part as her main characters did. Thank you readers before me for giving me the whole last night.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2010

    OK - Not Great

    Found this book to be OK. I kept reading thinking it would get better, that those funny, challenging, slightly embarrassing events that were part of "The Devil Wears Prada" would start. Sadly that never happened. It was 200 pages of Brook refusing to let go of her two jobs once Julian's career took off; mad at him for being successful and either self centered or clueless, that both of their lives were changing. The ending was hopeful. It would have been nice if Brook was proactive in coming up with the resolution that would allow both she and Julian to be successful instead of just letting it happen

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Just Ok!

    Missing the depth The Devil Wears Prada had. Characters not nearly engaging or wickedly funny enough.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read

    I am a voracious reader who enjoys chicklit novels and Lauren Weisberger is a fantastic writer. i enjoyed reading this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An Enjoyable and Fun Read

    I have seen the movie version of The Devil Wears Prada several times, but not until Last Night at Chateau Marmont, had I actually read a book by Lauren Weisberger. Luckily, Last Night at Chateau Marmont seems to have been the perfect place to start, as it the pure example of the ultimate guilty pleasure read. Filled with romance, drama, and even some heart at its core, there was not a moment where I could not be found eagerly flipping the pages, dying to know what would occur next. For Brooke and her husband Julian, fame was only something they could dream or read about. Because while Julian has the voice of a god, his musician dreams seem to be going nowhere quickly, this is why Brooke has been supporting him for the past few years. Working two jobs, whilst Julian works on his latest album, Brooke does not complain much, because if anyone is her husband's biggest supporter it would be her. Surprisingly enough Julian's latest song sky rockets. Suddenly Julian is everyone. on TV, at the Grammys. However, at the same time Julian and Brooke's personal life is splashed on every tabloid as well, and while Julian tells Brooke nothing will change, everything quickly comes to a halt when her husband is caught up in one big scandal, a scandal that could mean the end of their marriage as they know it. Will they be able to pull through it, or will they become yet another Hollywood cliché? Rich yet broken and alone? Only time and more pages call tell in this scandalous, name-dropping read that will have nearly any reader wondering about (and possibly rooting for) Brooke and Julian every step of the way. Throughout Last Night at Chateau Marmont, I was constantly torn between liking and disliking Brooke for a variety of reasons, because while I loved Brooke's dedication to her husband, friends, family and jobs, at the same time, I couldn't always understand why she complained and bickered instead of voicing her concerns about Julian and their new lifestyle together. However, by the end of the book, I do have to say I enjoyed following her story, because she was a sweet girl deep down, who learned many lessons throughout. My favorite character in the whole thing would have to Nola, however, because even though Nola was a secondary character, she nearly always managed to steal the show with her personality and ways. My favorite part of the novel, though, was the premise and more importantly the execution of the said ideas. It isn't often you get to see what happens to a couple once one of them hits star status, and because of that and the compelling way in which Lauren told the story, I ate it all up. It was fun seeing all the twists and turns that occurred in Julian and Brooke's relationship and lives, and I especially loved how with that, Lauren brought more heart and questions to the story. I also enjoyed the secondary focus on Brooke's career as a nutritionist at a school, because it always brought more development to her character. Weisberger's writing was also easy to get lost in as well, because while Last Night at Chateau Marmont isn't the best or most well written book out there, Lauren still certainly knows how to keep a reader entertained for an hour or two. Sweet, fast paced, and romantic, Last Night at Chateau Marmont is a perfect beach read, and even better, it is now in available paperback! Grade: B

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Long Night

    It was a struggle to get into this novel. I kept putting it down, picking it up days later. I just didn't care about the characters, who all seemed quite manufactured rather than created. In the meantime I read a great novel about two young lovers called One Day. When I went back to this, the couple seemed so short of the One Day lovers, and, frankly, the writing did not match up either. When the story hit the Grammys it picked up a bit, but after that was all predictable schmaltz. I think the author needs to seriously consider before writing another novel what her goal is and whether she can write the kind of book that readers expect..and can respect.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining fun read

    Although it was not as good as The Devil Wears Prada, I very much enjoyed this book. I felt that it had better developed characters and a better story line than her last couple of books. There was more that I think she should have went into to develop the story a bit more, the ending sort of just happened in the last couple of pages, rather than going deeper into the couple's lives. I did enjoy reading it and would recommend to those that enjoyed The Devil Wears Prada.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Loved

    Great, light, easyto read and relatable charecters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Amazing

    Omg this book was so amazing! If anyone is hesitant about picking up this book get it. It is just that amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Great read

    Loved this book! The perfect beach read. I enjoyed it on the plane and on the beach in Mexico for my honeymoon. Interesting and ties into real places/locations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    Good Rock Fiction Beach Read

    I am not sure I knew Last Night at Chateau Marmont fell squarely into the category of Rock and Roll Fiction until a copy arrived from BookMooch and I read the cover flap. It¿s the story of Brooke Alter and what happens to her when her husband lands a recording deal and becomes music¿s new darling.

    Okay, so it¿s about Julian as he becomes a mega-star. That qualifies for rock and roll fiction, right? Even if Julian isn¿t a rocker as much as a pop musician in the best sense of the word ¿ after all, the guy lands the opening slot on Maroon 5¿s tour.

    This book doesn¿t feel very rock-ish. If anything, it¿s a story about celebrity. The paparazzi abound (although I don¿t quite get how they conveniently disappear when the dog needs to be walked. Walter Alter didn¿t come across as particularly interested in eating paparazzi.) and the jet-set lifestyle has definite negatives when you are the one at home, trying to continue to live your life as if nothing has changed. Gossip magazines rule your lifestyle.

    In some senses, Julian could have been an actor thrust into the spotlight. Or a reality show star. His being in the music business didn¿t matter.

    And that is why this isn¿t a rock and roll novel.

    It¿s a good read, though. Perfect for the beach. It¿s not too deep, even when it flirts with serious topics like the serious bumps that can end a marriage or eating disorders. Even the ending is easy and breezy. It¿s almost too easy, but that fits the sort of book this is. And it¿s neat to see music from the angle of celebrity. That part, I can¿t find fault with. It¿s so real, so chilling. I can see the meeting of the scorned women so clearly, as if I was watching the reality show based on them. (Is there one? Gosh, I hope not!) And while I don¿t read the rags, I¿ve seen enough of them in my day to believe this vile, snarky world Weisberger plunges us ¿ and Brooke ¿ into.

    If you¿re looking for real rock and roll fiction, there are better books out there. If you want a pleasant read to pass a few hours with, this is definitely the one for you. I may not rave about it, but I¿m sure glad I read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    Very light reading

    If you want something fluffy and don't want to have to think very hard, this is your book. Good plane read on a weekend away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Excellent Read

    I love Lauren Weisbergers novels. I didn't like this one quite as much as The Devil Wears Prada but I did enjoy this easy and entertaining read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    Enjoyable read

    I really enjoyed this book! Nice and easy read that really kept me wanting more! I would love to see another book to follow up with Brooke and Julian!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A good read, but I was expecting more...

    SPOILER ALERT!! Don't read this review unless you want to know how the story ends...

    I expected more than the predictable dribble that this book turned into. I liked the characters and was cheering for the love story, but I couldn't get over Brooke's absolute failure to support her husband. Sure, she worked two jobs to help get him started, but once he hit the big time? She really made the choice to NOT go out on the road with him to be there for him and CONTINUE to support him? Financial support is one thing, but emotional support is something she was sorely lacking. How could she be stupid enough to let him walk into the world of hanlders and managers alone?? She actually put her jobs before her husband? If the book was trying to make a point about Brooke keeping her identity and being independant etc, it missed that entirely. She just came across to me as selfish. Life is about changes, choices and moving forward. Brooke was stuck in a rut of working and everyday life and the story never made her come to terms with that. This book could have been sooooo much better if it had been about the challanges of Julian and Brooke facing fame TOGETHER... Instead they faced it seperatly and pointlessly. The usual "happily every after" ending was less than satisfying...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 320 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16