Customer Reviews for

Last Night at Chateau Marmont

Average Rating 3.5
( 318 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(113)

3 Star

(82)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Wonderfully Addicting

After five years of marriage Brook and Julian's lives are catapulted into the spotlight of fame. Julian, a musician, catches his break and is quickly made into one of the most famous rock stars. Brooke, after working two jobs to help get Julian to this point, is in aw...
After five years of marriage Brook and Julian's lives are catapulted into the spotlight of fame. Julian, a musician, catches his break and is quickly made into one of the most famous rock stars. Brooke, after working two jobs to help get Julian to this point, is in awe and amazement and couldn't be more proud of her husband. Then the publicity hits, the constant travel starts and Brooke is left in the background and alone. Fighting to keep her job and her marriage while remaining supportive, Last Night at Chateau Marmont tells the tale of Brooke and Julian Alters' lives before and after fame. When the breaking point hits, and Julian is caught seducing another woman, Brooke is left to decipher the truth from the lies to see if she has a marriage anymore. The story is one that a reader will not soon forget.

Last Night at Chateau Marmont was simply amazing. I absolutely loved this novel. Lauren does a fantastic job enabling the reader to get to know the Alters individually and as a couple before the fame. This magnifies the readers' emotions and involvement throughout novel. The reader is able to feel both Brooke and Julian's personal struggles as well as understand the strain on their marriage. All of this leads up to an amazing ending. I couldn't have been any happier with this novel. It has every emotion. I laughed, I cried, I was hooked and involved in every aspect.

The author clearly shows she did her homework with this novel. She skillfully wove Brooke and Julian's story into recent events of the decade, making the story feel it was almost true. The novel gives the reader the skinny on stardom. It tells the good, the bad and the ugly. It is a must read that will provide comical relief as well as a suspenseful urge to keep reading. Once you pick it up you won't want to put it down. Last Night at Chateau Marmont, which could not have a better title, gives light on the question "What would it be like if your husband became a star overnight?"

*Reviewed for http://acozyreaderscorner.blogspot.com

posted by IsabellaRenae on July 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

BAFFLED????

I am truly baffled as to why anyone would care about the main female character Brooke. While the author initially portrays her as a dedicated, selfless and devoted wife in short order she is anything but. Instead you get a whiny, low self esteem, narcissist, and she su...
I am truly baffled as to why anyone would care about the main female character Brooke. While the author initially portrays her as a dedicated, selfless and devoted wife in short order she is anything but. Instead you get a whiny, low self esteem, narcissist, and she suffers from a martyr complex.
She is relatively content with her life as she works two jobs to support her musician husband even though she wants nothing more than a family which is on hold until they are both more settled in their careers. When he starts achieving success she has issues. Everything and everyone else seems more important to her than her marriage. GIVE ME A BREAK! After his schedule starts straining the marriage he asks her to give up one of her jobs which would allow her to travel with him. Her perception: he's self absorbed and selfish. My perception: she's delusional. Eventually she loses both jobs (again his fault) yet she can't wait to get another job because she's so good and dedicated. Her priorities are obviously marriage last. At no time does she fight for their marriage. She waits for him to make a move because after all it all about her. She waits for him to come up with a compromise/solution. Only then does she admit she should have given up one of her jobs. My question to Julian: WHY DO YOU WANT HER?
The writer is great at putting you inside the head of the main character I just didn't like what I saw.
In light of the times we live in this was a wasted opportunity to show a spouse how to deal with the other's fame.

posted by RaeRS on August 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted August 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    MORE FUN THAN BEING THERE - WEISBERGER DOES IT AGAIN

    Ever wish that you could actually have everything you've dreamed of, that all you've worked and hoped for would really come true? That happened to Brooke and Julian Alter. All their dreams came true and more. It was the more that was the problem.

    With LAST NIGHT AT CHATEAU MARMONT Lauren Weisberger (The Devil Wears Prada) has created another tale about the world of celebs and a young woman who wants to be part of it, but when that happens decides it's not such a good idea after all. In this case it's not just one young woman but a young husband and wife, Julian, an aspiring singer/songwriter, and Brooke, a nutritionist who some day hopes to have her own practice. Meanwhile she's working two jobs (a nutritionist at a NYU hospital and a counselor at an Upper East Side girls school) to support them because she knows, just absolutely knows that he's brilliant and soon that brilliance will be recognized,

    Well, at last it is after Julian gets his big break - performing on the Jay Leno show. Before long his music is nearing the top of the Grammy charts, he's signed by Sony, and asked to tour with Maroon 5. Yes, this is thrilling, exciting to the max, but it soon puts a strain on their relationship when Brooke isn't able to keep her jobs in check and be with Julian when he performs. In addition, her once laid back husband is now sporting a designer wardrobe, his picture appears regularly in the gossipy Last Night, and he's managed by a conniving agent,Leo, who thinks any publicity is good publicity.

    Speaking of publicity, when Brooke sees Julian and a strange girl wrapped around each other at the Chateau Marmont in photos spread all over Last Night she cannot believe her eyes. But, there for the world to see is a shot of the girl leaving Julian's room at six in the a.m.

    What has happened to their once loving, trusting relationship, and what really happened LAST NIGHT AT CHATEAU MARMONT?

    When Weisberger creates characters she does it with a flare for satire and comedy, such as a plastic surgeon father-in-law who had offered to redo Brooke's breasts at cost when she and Julian became engaged, and a hot young rock star who give Brooke sage advice after the photos surface: "Start spending that money immediately.......don't cut off your nose to spite your face."

    Dispense with credibility, smile, and enjoy.

    - Gail Cooke

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2010

    A Valid Message Here

    This is a story of a couple, Brooke and Julien Alter. Brooke has a concrete plan for her life and Julien has a huge dream based on his talent. What occurs is the collison of both concepts and reality. Much of this story is not new, but the underlying morale is that wherever life leads you, no matter how you are blessed or burdened, who you truly are should be your primary focus amid the hoopla, the pain and everyday drama. Being true to yourself and those you love can steer you on a more positive path that can reinforce the basics of finding our path and our bliss.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining fun read

    Although it was not as good as The Devil Wears Prada, I very much enjoyed this book. I felt that it had better developed characters and a better story line than her last couple of books. There was more that I think she should have went into to develop the story a bit more, the ending sort of just happened in the last couple of pages, rather than going deeper into the couple's lives. I did enjoy reading it and would recommend to those that enjoyed The Devil Wears Prada.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    Good Rock Fiction Beach Read

    I am not sure I knew Last Night at Chateau Marmont fell squarely into the category of Rock and Roll Fiction until a copy arrived from BookMooch and I read the cover flap. It¿s the story of Brooke Alter and what happens to her when her husband lands a recording deal and becomes music¿s new darling.

    Okay, so it¿s about Julian as he becomes a mega-star. That qualifies for rock and roll fiction, right? Even if Julian isn¿t a rocker as much as a pop musician in the best sense of the word ¿ after all, the guy lands the opening slot on Maroon 5¿s tour.

    This book doesn¿t feel very rock-ish. If anything, it¿s a story about celebrity. The paparazzi abound (although I don¿t quite get how they conveniently disappear when the dog needs to be walked. Walter Alter didn¿t come across as particularly interested in eating paparazzi.) and the jet-set lifestyle has definite negatives when you are the one at home, trying to continue to live your life as if nothing has changed. Gossip magazines rule your lifestyle.

    In some senses, Julian could have been an actor thrust into the spotlight. Or a reality show star. His being in the music business didn¿t matter.

    And that is why this isn¿t a rock and roll novel.

    It¿s a good read, though. Perfect for the beach. It¿s not too deep, even when it flirts with serious topics like the serious bumps that can end a marriage or eating disorders. Even the ending is easy and breezy. It¿s almost too easy, but that fits the sort of book this is. And it¿s neat to see music from the angle of celebrity. That part, I can¿t find fault with. It¿s so real, so chilling. I can see the meeting of the scorned women so clearly, as if I was watching the reality show based on them. (Is there one? Gosh, I hope not!) And while I don¿t read the rags, I¿ve seen enough of them in my day to believe this vile, snarky world Weisberger plunges us ¿ and Brooke ¿ into.

    If you¿re looking for real rock and roll fiction, there are better books out there. If you want a pleasant read to pass a few hours with, this is definitely the one for you. I may not rave about it, but I¿m sure glad I read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    Very light reading

    If you want something fluffy and don't want to have to think very hard, this is your book. Good plane read on a weekend away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Excellent Read

    I love Lauren Weisbergers novels. I didn't like this one quite as much as The Devil Wears Prada but I did enjoy this easy and entertaining read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6