Customer Reviews for

Last Night at the Lobster

Average Rating 3.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Lobsters get off easy

This book quickly draws you into the lives of the characters. Easy to relate to every one from hostess to dishwasher. If you have ever worked in the industry you know these are people you have had the pleasure to know. A quick easy read that was over to soon.

posted by Anonymous on March 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent...

A fine novella about a soon to be failed chain restaurant unit and the impact on the staff, both coming, going and in between. Anyone who has worked food service will recognize the characters,both endearing & infuriating.

posted by 17627063 on August 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A beautiful portrait of American life

    This is a riveting book in spite of its relatively mundane subject. O'Nan can find the simplistic notions that create compound to shape the events of our everyday lives and painstakingly draws them out for the readers to absorb and digest. This book, about little more than the last night of a restaurant actually encompasses so much more. A great book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Simple, but moving

    My review: This is the second O'Nan book I have read, after Snow Angels. Even though Lobster does not have a dramatic plot, it was a beautifully written novella. It is a simple story, the last night of Manny managing a Red Lobster before it closes and he is transferred to work at an Olive Garden. Lots of thing go wrong; staff that doesn't show up, a blizzard, and the loss of an old love, but he is determined to stay open and be responsible. Manny is really the only character that is delved into but the rest of the characters add some flavor. It is difficult to describe but I think this exemplifies what a good writer can do with the most simple of stories. And O'Nan is a great writer. I enjoyed this one and have Songs of the Missing on my tbr list.
    my rating 4.5/5

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Short Yet Poignant

    As a native of Connecticut I am familiar with the setting of Last Night at the Lobster. So for me this story also brought me memories of my home state.

    O'Nan evokes the feelings of 'being there' with his beautiful descriptive passages. I could almost feel the biting wind driving the swirling snow of the early hours of the blizzard.

    By now you'll know that the story centers around the manager of a chain restaurant that is literally on the verge of closing. Not a glamorous job by any means, however, Manager Manny DeLeon has embraced the position and is a study is corporate loyalty. Not so his employees with whom he must deal on this closing day.

    The cast of characters is as complex as life itself. The reader is given much to digest in a short space but the facts are succinct and easily understood. There's Eddie the handicapped employee who arrives via van, Ty the Executive Chef, Roz the head waitress, Jacquie who was at one time Manny's lover (and whom he still thinks he loves), and several disgruntled others who will shortly be out of work.

    The blizzard conditions and lack of customers only deepen the clarity with which we see the behind the scenes areas of a corporate outpost.

    The story is original, the cast unique, the entire novel a truly wonderful read especially on a snowy day.

    My only question is: what happens to the lobsters in the tank?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2008

    Real folks revealed

    O'Nan nails the food service job with all the usual characters - yet avoids caricatures. You believe every minute. It's just a slow snowy night at the Lobster, yet you'll come back to this perfect story often, and that's my measure of success.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2008

    Lobsters get off easy

    This book quickly draws you into the lives of the characters. Easy to relate to every one from hostess to dishwasher. If you have ever worked in the industry you know these are people you have had the pleasure to know. A quick easy read that was over to soon.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    No, nothing happens. And that's the point.

    If you are looking for a relationship drama - turn around.
    If you're looking for some cataclysmic life altering epiphany to occur to the protagonist - step away from the computer.

    That's not what O'Nan does. He writes about the everyday mundane thoughts and actions of the "every" person. It's not meant to be exciting; it's meant to put you inside someone else's life and head. If that's your thing; read this. If this sounds boring to you; look at another book.

    I have to be in the right state of mind to read O'Nan. If I want an entertaining and interestingly far-fetched book, I pick up John Irving.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    Gripping - loved the characters!

    Who hasn't been to Red Lobster? This book takes us to one on its last day...it is closing. We meet the people who work there and discover how their lives have intertwined over the years. I could have spent more time with the employees, (some of) the customers, the restaurant and the atmosphere created by the snow storm. But, alas, it was the last night.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    Not Worth It!

    This book isn't "awful" as far as books go. The writing style is very detailed in the minutiae of running a restaurant, but very subtle in the actual storyline, so many readers might get upset and think, "Nothing happens here!" My real problem with the book overall was that I paid $11.99 for an e-book that was only 94 pages long!!!! So not worth it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Pricing!!!!

    Unbelivable that is is more expensive as a nookbook. Why oh why didn't I buy a Kindle!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2008

    All Style, No Substance

    I can summarize this book in two words: Nothing happens. I bought it because it was Atlantic Monthly's pick. I won't soon trust their judgement again. This attempt at incisive Tom Wolfe-like commentary on popular culture is instead just banal and boring. I couldn't finish, even though it's a slim thing. So my son read it and confirmed my suspicions: Nothing Happens. So unless you're interested in picking up incidental knowledge about french fryers and how to open up a restaurant, skip this one.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2014

    Anonymous

    Good story line....Could feel the characters emotions.... EXCESSIVE SWEARING!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Pass!

    I read this book for a book group discussion. I was not impressed. I loved Manny but found the book to be a bit boring. Thank goodness it was short. It is certainly not worth the amount that is being charged for this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2009

    Fair

    Readable if you have nothing better to do.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Just a bit boring

    Just a bit boring.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2008

    One scene

    This relatively short novel takes place entirely inside a Red Lobster restaurant. The writing is solid but I was hoping for strong characters or some revelation within the story line that would make me care. Neither happens. It is amazing this one was published.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2