Customer Reviews for

Last Night in Twisted River

Average Rating 3.5
( 272 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(70)

3 Star

(60)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

This is a truly satisfying read!

I loved every word of this wonderful saga; not only the finely crafted story and the loveable, flawed characters, but the sound of it, the voice, the phrasing and cadence. The language carries us through improbable events and across the decades. By the writer's device...
I loved every word of this wonderful saga; not only the finely crafted story and the loveable, flawed characters, but the sound of it, the voice, the phrasing and cadence. The language carries us through improbable events and across the decades. By the writer's device and the lives of his characters we experience love and joy, sorrow and regret, fear and loneliness. Irving's grim humor lets us laugh at the capriciousness of fate and our own folly. In the face of overwhelming loss, right beside our fictional heros, we continue to live and work and accept our circumstance. In the end we find hope and redemption. What more can you ask for in a novel? The tale is perfection.

posted by SoCal_Reader on November 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

How can you review a book before you have even read it ???

Geesh, I wish people would stop writing reviews and rating books when they haven't even read the book yet. Those reviews do not help me at all in deciding whether I want to read the book or not.

posted by Jane-O on August 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a truly satisfying read!

    I loved every word of this wonderful saga; not only the finely crafted story and the loveable, flawed characters, but the sound of it, the voice, the phrasing and cadence. The language carries us through improbable events and across the decades. By the writer's device and the lives of his characters we experience love and joy, sorrow and regret, fear and loneliness. Irving's grim humor lets us laugh at the capriciousness of fate and our own folly. In the face of overwhelming loss, right beside our fictional heros, we continue to live and work and accept our circumstance. In the end we find hope and redemption. What more can you ask for in a novel? The tale is perfection.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Back to what works best!

    Ahhhhh......it's so nice to read a good Irving book again. It's been a while since I started one of his books and was drawn in. Very reminiscent of A Prayer for Owen Meany and Cider House Rules. I'm less than 100 pages in and loving every page. Cheers to you Mr. Irving for giving us another wonderful novel.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I agree with the first comment!

    I agree that John Irving is a wonderful writer and anything he writes is bound to be good. Once I find a writer I like, I will read everything they publish!

    3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    If it follows his previous offerings it will be a 5 star

    I came across John Irving back in 1984 while visiting my husband's cousin in Ohio. It was truly a man's weekend so I sat in the house reading and found The Hotel New Hampshire. Well, the husband is now an ex but I still love John Irving!

    2 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Irving is an American Great!

    Irving still has it. This novel is reminiscent of Garp. To say Irving is past his prime is ignorant, un-American and wrong :) OK, so I'm a little taken by John Irving's literature; how could I not Be? READ THIS BOOK!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    Last Night in Twisted River by John Irving

    Just listened to his comments on this new book. My daughter introduced me to Mr. Irving's very unique style many years ago and I admit it took me a few years to really delve into his writings. My one objection has always been to the difficult names he uses in his novels. And, they are prolific and unpronounceable. And, I cannot skip over these names, just isn't my style of reading, picture me laughing here. Other than that, I find his books to be real treasures and his comments always inciteful. I will never forget seeing him on a panel, on the internet, when he did a passage from "A Prayer For Owen Meany." Hysterical, I am still laughing. He was on with Stephen King, whom I have never been able to read due to the graphic content of his books, but he, also was hysterical. The one book I have read and own, of Mr. King's is "On Writing," his explanation of how he became the writer he is. Fabulous.
    Please, Mr. Irving, keep 'em coming. You are one in a million and I do so enjoy your tomes. Herman Melville, on the other hand, not so much.
    I look forward to the unique experience of reading your new book, and owning it, also. Probably will give to said daughter for Christmas.
    Thank you and God Bless.

    Teculah

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Irving is Incredible

    John Irving has written my favorite books of all time, The World According to Garp and A Prayer for Owen Meany. His other books are great as well. I am sure this will be another fantastic story.

    1 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Time to get my fix!

    Like a dried out alcoholic, stranded on a deserted island who learns that that the Budweiser tanker has just crashed into his island- I am drunk with anticipation to read the new John Irving novel! This is the cycle of emotions that happens every time he writes a new book: I eagerly await and count down the days until it is released. Then I savor every page and I'm on cloud nine while living with the novel until unfortunately, like all good things it must end. Finally, I wait 2,3, maybe 4 years until his next masterpiece, moping around and reading subsititues that never live up to the greatness of John Irving. Let the new cycle begin- Oct 27th can't come soon enough!!

    1 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Oh God, please let me live to read this book. I'll be counting the days.

    Irving is a national treasure. If you haven't read this author- start! Let Owen Meany reel you in and I promise you'll keep wanting more.

    1 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Awesome

    #####

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    I was looking at this book in order to see what other customers

    I was looking at this book in order to see what other customers bought along with it because I love it so much. It's one of my favorite John Irving novels, and i was so surprised to discover that a lot of people don't feel the same way I do. I can sort of understand the rather mixed response to the novel because it is a little slow to start, but it didn't take that long for me to feel totally engrossed in the world of the novel that Irving flawlessly creates. It is such a memorable work of literature for me, and that is saying a lot, because I read so voraciously. I thought the novel was remarkable in terms of it's compassion, characterization, and scope.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    WOW! A few of John Irving's books are my all-time favorites (Pr

    WOW! A few of John Irving's books are my all-time favorites (Prayer for Owen Meany; The World According to Garp; Cider House Rules), but there have been a couple that have not gripped me. I half-expected not to be drawn into this book with its odd beginnings in the logging community of New Hampshire in the 1950's. But somehow, the cast of unlikely heroes (KETCHUM!!!, the cook, Injun Jane, Six-Pack Pam...more) became not only compelling but REAL. Ketchum will forever be one of those memorable characters whom I not only love but know. Perhaps the best final chapter [even the title of it!!] I have read in a long time. And - great advice to "Danny/Daniel," Mr. Vonnegut (another of my own personal heroes). The characters are wonderfully flawed (human!), and the narration by Danny is lyricism in prose form.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    Rivotting from the first word. No one spins a tale like John Ir

    Rivotting from the first word. No one spins a tale like John Irving and "Last Night in Twisted River" does not fail. I savored every word and was sad when I finished the story. I will definitely read this book again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Irving is a Master.

    He can write whatever he wants, when he wants... He is so good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Plot question

    I loved coming back to this book, night after night ... one of those good ones that you slow down reading because you don't want it to ever end.
    It would have been good as a trilogy, with Dominic, Ketchum, and Danny dealing with all the fall outs of modern human existence.
    Dominic was my favorite, never repeating like the tiresome "C.C." that Ketchum loved, nor blanding off as Danny often did. And, Danny The Deerslayer didn't feel true.

    What I still don't get - and yes, I'm going back for another reading, is why even dim, brutal Carl would not someday figure out how to steal outright or to blackmail someone into getting Ketchum's mail so he could easily trace where the cook was living. Help?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    My favorite author

    I only want to say that the characters in this book were so well written and endearing and interesting that I've had to re-read this book simply because I "miss" them. Not my favorite JI, but close.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    Loved it! Read it!

    As a mother of a two-year-old, I have very little time to read anything other than Curious George and Babar. I found myself getting up at 4:30 in the morning to read a few chapters. I loved Irving's typical quirky characters, the plot twists, and the settings. Cookie and Ketchum and Six Pack Pam will stay with me a long time. I teach college level English, so my standards are pretty high. Read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2010

    Highly recommend!

    I've always enjoyed John Irving's writing and, in my opinion, his books just get better and better. He takes you on a wild ride where you never quite know what's around the corner. And by the time you've finished, you've learned things about the world you'd never imagine by any other means. This book made me cry. And the ending was the best ending I've ever read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2010

    Excellent reading

    Excellent reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    BEST IRVING NOVEL YET!

    I am never compelled to review books, but this one is such a shining star! I am an avid reader, and John Irving is by far one of my favorite authors, so I much anticipated the release of this novel. I must say, it does not disappoint. For me, there was not one point in this book where I was disengaged (which I confess happened to me frequently while reading Until I Find You). Until this point, A Prayer for Owen Meaney was my favorite, but Last Night in Twisted River just grabs you from the first page, and does not let go until you have read straight through it. The characters are so richly crafted...the river driver Ketchum is now my favorite fictional character. The message that this book provides truly resonates in a time of such disconnect in our world...it truly makes you appreciate those that love and protect you...and it illustrates so well how lives become connected in the most unusual, but sometimes brilliant and beautiful ways...Cheers to John Irving...only getting better as he goes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5