Customer Reviews for

Last Night of the Yankee Dynasty: The Game, the Team, and the Cost of Greatness

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Yankees suck

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Excellent!

    Huge Yankee fan & great insight into the dynasty. Trully loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    A Huge Report

    The book reads like a news article. It's interesting to read and recall the events that shaped the Yankee dynasty, but the book felt like it was missing something.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Olney

    My last name is olney!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Rise and Fall of the Torre Yankees

    Buster Olney authored a more insightful account of the Yankee dynasty than Joe Torre and his co-writer did in the Yankee Years. I realize that book also covered the A-Rod period but this account has more depth and objectivity. Using Game 7 of the 2001 World Series as a unifying thread, Olney is able to leap back and forth in time as he weaves individual stories together. This is modern sports writing at its best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Reading

    Very good writing about a fascinating time period of contemporary baseball.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2005

    Good Yankee book

    This book is sad if you are a Yankees fan. I personally enjoyed this book. Buster Olney is a great baseball writter. I enjoyed his cloumns in the New York Time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2005

    Olney gets it right

    As A Yankee fan I found this book insightful, thought provoking and very interesting take on the yankees 0f 1996-2001 and even beyond.i read it in two days while travelling on biz.and will read it again at my leisure. great insights and behind the scenes stuff and well written also. as a yankee fan i in no way felt this was dumping on the yankees but it made the picture very clear as to why we have failed to get the ring in the WS. after the latest debacle read this book and you'll understand a little more whats wrong w/the yanks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2005

    The Rise and Fall...

    The author brings a certain presence about this ball club. The way it is ran by the money, but not for the love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2004

    Nothing new here

    Olney presents the same tired argument advanced by every flannel-shirted guy in every bar in Massachusetts. Steinbrenner is a bully, Steinbrenner is mean, Steinbrenner demands winning. Guess what? Every owner demands winning; it's just that others don't accomplish it, so no one cares when they fire the manager, or sign a $14 million per year free agent. And, nobody writes books about them. It's a whiner's look at a winner, playing up to the audience of Yankee-haters, because it's the fashionable thing to do, and forgetting that the Yankees are the most popular baseball team in the country, with legions of fans who let their team do the talking -- on the field.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2004

    Great stuff

    Intimate look at the players and executives who made the Yankees' success from 1996-2001 possible. I thought the book's primary mechanism -- using Game 7 of the 2001 World Series as structure -- worked well, because that game was remarkable, in its time and place, following 9/11. Tons and tons of detail about the players and the game.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2004

    Great great book

    this was the best book i have ever read. IF u are a yankees fan n followed them closely during their 1996-2001 championship run this book is for you. Gives you great insights into the team clubhouse n each of your fav players...cone, knoblauch, soriano, clemons, torre, jeter, steinbrenner, cashman, paul oneil, bernie,mariano,tino pretty much the whole gang. Its a must have for any yankee fan!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2