Customer Reviews for

Last Night's Scandal

Average Rating 4
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Hopefully more Carsington's will be found in Ms. Chase's imagin

    Hopefully more Carsington's will be found in Ms. Chase's imagination so that she can write their stories. Loved this romance and these characters. They were kids in Lord Perfect and will probably remain forever young in heart.. Although this is a stand alone book, the series will bring you joy. Very well written. Good reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is a terrific jocular historical romance

    1831 London, Earl Peregrine Dalmay has just returned from Egypt, but plans to go back as soon as he can make arrangements. While oversea for several years he and Olivia Wingate-Carsington became pen pals. In her writings, she made it clear that her blood lines mean trouble as they are filled with con artists, including her.

    His parents ask Peregrine to manage the restoration of Gorewood castle, which is falling apart in Scotland. He says no, but ends up heading to the Scottish family property with Olivia cleverly manipulating her way onto his retinue chasing after a last adventure before respectability bites her. Nothing goes right for Peregrine at the construction sight as apparently ghosts harass him, a murder may have occurred, and Olivia haunts him. However, the Egyptologist and the con artist are not as fazed by family, homicide, spirits and other intruders as they are frightened by love.

    This is a terrific jocular historical romance that will hook the audience from the opening act of his parents as drama queens driving him to Scotland for some relief and never takes a breather until the final con occurs. Fast-paced, fans will enjoy the amusing story line as Peregrine and Olivia fall in love, but must deal with family and ghosts before they can decide how to deal with each other.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2013

    Absolutely Scandalous!!!

    I loved this book. Loved the characters - wish I knew them. Loretta Chase has such wit and passed that along to her characters. You feel right along with them. Very, very good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Such a fun read!

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    Another hit for Loretta Chase.

    Fantastic book! I would give 4 1/2 stars! Loretta Chase is such a good historical romance author. She is definitely one of my favorites. Her books have humor, adventure and terrific characters. This book is no exception!

    While reading Last Night's Scandal, I felt like I was catching up with old friends. The main two characters, Lisle and Olivia, were children in 'Lord Perfect' who had set out on an adventure together. From the moment the see each other again, sparks fly between these two old friends. Olivia is outrageous and emotional. Lisle is analytical and conscientious. Together they are terrific.

    There is one thing I missed in the book. I wanted more verbalization of their feelings between the characters. They had a long history and obviously, cared for each other for years. It was a missed opportunity for the author.

    Still, I highly recommend the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    no horrible

    ihgjngjmbgmkhhnmkj

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2010

    Light, Fun and Entertaining

    Last Night's Scandal is part of Loretta Chase's Carsington series. Looking up information on this series to write this review, I have come to realize I might have missed out. I read the first book Lord Perfect. A lot of people raved about that book. I, on the other hand, wasn't too crazy about the main characters and instead found myself completely wrapped up in the escapades of the two children, Olivia and Peregrine. Then I caught wind that Ms. Chase had plans to write Olivia and Peregrine's story and my interest was piqued. I put Last Night's Scandal on the wish list. But come to find out, there are more books in the series that span the time between Mr. Perfect and Last Night's Scandal. I might have missed out on other scenes involving Olivia and Peregrine!

    Last Night's Scandal is such an enjoyable, fun read. There is nothing overtly heavy emotionally about this book. The characters Olivia and Peregrine are great and in the story they have been long time friends who have corresponded through letters while Peregrine was in Egypt. Olivia writes the Best Letters and has quite an ADVENTUROUS side to her nature. Peregrine on the other hand is logical and steadfast. They both fight their attraction for each other for fear that it will ruin their friendship. They know that their personalities are too different and that they won't be able to provide the other with what they need. It's wonderful to see them discover just how much they mean to each other.

    So, while Peregrine and Olivia are fighting their attraction or maybe I should say discovering it, they are also putting to rights a haunted castle in Scotland. The mystery is not serious at all. I think it was rather hokey and fun. I really don't have any complaints. This book lived up to my expectations. If you are in the mood for something cheerful and light, look no further.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2010

    Very disappointing. No storyline, just longing looks and arguments.

    Very disappointing. No storyline, just longing looks and arguments. I could not finish reading it. Such a shame, I was so looking forward to Olivia and Peregrine's story as they were such entertaining children. Unfortunately they languished in silly interactions that took pages to get through with no reward at the end. I adore her other books but it is as though someone else wrote this one and wrote it badly. Boring.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Oh those Carsington Men (by association) and those DeLucey Women!

    As a long awaited sequel to "Lord Perfect," "Last Night's Scandal" (the scandal being a person -- Olivia Carsington, one of the dreadful DeLuceys) marks the return of a grown-up Lisle and Olivia and the friendship which Olivia began and which she fans continually with a letter-writing campaign to Lisle as he explores Egypt with his aunt and uncle (see "Mr. Impossible") that spans all the missing years between "Lord Perfect" and the current novel, and is the one true North in both of their lives.

    How these two recover from the unbalancing discovery of each other's maturity and sexuality from years of living with the idea of the youths they once were, and deal with the combustibility of their new relationship at the same time as they deal with recalcitrant servants, ghosts in a Scottish castle, two randy gentlewomen along to chaperone Olivia, her maid and his valet, a cast of Scottish villagers, and the emotionally draining Dalmeys (Lisle's parents)on the way to their HEA, make for a first rate conclusion to the Carsington series (See Miss Wonderful, Mr.Impossible, Lord Perfect, and Not Quite a Lady).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4