Customer Reviews for

Last Noel

Average Rating 4
( 859 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(452)

4 Star

(243)

3 Star

(76)

2 Star

(43)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

57 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

I have read hundreds and hundreds of books and this is the only book I read where I had tears rolling down my cheeks. Anyone who can make you cry with only words written on paper is a true master of the art of writing. I recommend reading this on a cold winter's night i...
I have read hundreds and hundreds of books and this is the only book I read where I had tears rolling down my cheeks. Anyone who can make you cry with only words written on paper is a true master of the art of writing. I recommend reading this on a cold winter's night in front of your fireplace with a box of tissue and some hot chocolate!

posted by Anonymous on June 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Sappy

Not badly written, but the story was like something you'd see on the Hallmark Channel.

posted by GoneGirl74 on December 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    I couldnt finish!

    I couldnt finish reading this book. Bored with characters. Nothing happens as the book goes through years of their lives. I read a few reviews and found out the best part is at the end. So I went from the middle of the book to last two chapters. Yes that was the best part...sad but good! I doubt I would recommend this book or ever read anything from this author again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    !

    Was very disappointed in this. It was very unbelievable at the beginning and continued in that unbelievabilty to the end. Didnt like the subject matter and story jumped so it was hard to figure out when the story was happening. Waste of time reading this

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    1 star

    1star - thankfully this was a free friday book so I won't feel bad deleting it.
    I read as far as page 46 and could not get into the book i was completely bored. Kaye's mother ends up in the hospital no real explanation. If she was that mentally unstable how was she able to raise a child by herself for 7 yrs, and a appear from what little you learn about her to be so political alert. It made no sense.
    The secondary characters at this point are hollow no real development just small tidbits about them.
    Some of the reviews rave about the book and the ending sorry I could not get that far i feel i have wasted enough time i can't get back on this boring book.
    If it is free give it chance who knows you might like but I don't recommend spending any money just in case you delete it.
    Cannot recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Good

    Is it good?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    Awful

    Awful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    Good book--tear jerker!

    The story started out real slow, I almost decided to not finish reading the book. But the story got better, and at the end I couldn't put it down, and it was a wonderful story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    If you're over 15, don't bother.

    Didn't finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    The Last Noel review

    I couldn't get into the characters of the friendship between a little black boy and white girl. I wish I could have though. I hate to delete books after I buy them but this one I did. It just didn't do it for me even if it was free.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Could be better Part 2

    No surprize here as expected. The moral of this story I guess is that even saintly people die young. That's about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    I enjoyed the book very much. Would highly recommend it

    I read a wide variety of books and most of the books are rated best sellers but often I find a sleeper in a book or author I never heard of before. The Last Noel falls in that category but I'm so thankful you chose it for the free book of the week. Otherwise I probably would have never have read it and I found it interesting until the last page. A book I will read again one of these days!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    better than I expected

    I was suprised by this book, it was written very well and the story line grabs you right away. I really enjoyed this book and recommend it to any who want be become involved with the characters of their book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    This is not a book . . . .

    I'm tired of B&N calling a few chapters a free book. At this point I'm sorry I purchased a Nook. Should have gone with another reader. Will stick with my Library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Not a great read

    I just could not get into this book. Finally gave up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Great holiday read

    The Last Noel was a free Friday nookbook. I wasn't expecting too much but was pleasantly surprised. The story takes you through the decades starting in the sixties. It was heartwarming without being sappy. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Disgusting language, in a Christmas book...

    I'd give this piece of garbage zero stars if it would let me. It started out interesting enough, but it wasn't long before the rough language started. In a *Christmas* book?? REALLY?? Unnecessary and inappropriate. I thought I was going to get a nice, cozy Christmas story, and instead I got stupid, gratuitous profanity. I stopped reading by page 16, after the first "S" word; I looked far enough ahead to give it another chance, but when I found the "F" word in there, too, I gave up, disgusted and annoyed. My suggestion to Mr. Malone: Learn how to write, instead of relying on profanity to do your job for you. It's not edgy, and it's not atmospheric -- it's just disgusting. And before anyone tells me to grow up, I'm plenty old enough, and choosing not to accept gutter language in everything you read doesn't mean you're not grown up -- it just means you have a little more discerning and a lot more taste.

    And my advice for Barnes & Noble: Start putting a "language" note on your book descriptions. Some of us don't want to spend our hard-earned money to read filth, and it would be nice if we knew ahead of time whether we'd be stuck with it.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    Awesome Christmas read

    This book took a little to get into, but once the characters were developed it was an awesome story. Since I grew up during that generation, I could relate to the different culture happenings. Others had said that the story made them cry. I am a guy and I lost it at the end. The tears flowed. One of the best books I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    Highly Recommend this book.

    A well written book with interesting characters & plot that progresses nicely. Descriptions very accurate. Couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    WELL WRITTEN. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. OUTSTANDING RATING

    i ENJOYED THE BOOK FROM BEGINNING TO ENDING. NOELLE PROVED TO BE A VERY UNSELFISH WOMAN ATTUNED TO THE NEEDS OF ALL THE OTHER PEOPLE INVOLVED IN HER LIFE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    Just didnt cut it,

    I tried to read it, but couldnt get into it. The story just didnt grab me. I didnt like the book. The story seems contrived, and not believable . I wouldnt recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Waste of time

    Hated it, what a depressing book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3