BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Last Noel

Average Rating 4
( 858 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(451)

4 Star

(243)

3 Star

(76)

2 Star

(43)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

57 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

I have read hundreds and hundreds of books and this is the only book I read where I had tears rolling down my cheeks. Anyone who can make you cry with only words written on paper is a true master of the art of writing. I recommend reading this on a cold winter's night i...
I have read hundreds and hundreds of books and this is the only book I read where I had tears rolling down my cheeks. Anyone who can make you cry with only words written on paper is a true master of the art of writing. I recommend reading this on a cold winter's night in front of your fireplace with a box of tissue and some hot chocolate!

posted by Anonymous on June 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Sappy

Not badly written, but the story was like something you'd see on the Hallmark Channel.

posted by GoneGirl74 on December 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    Sappy

    Not badly written, but the story was like something you'd see on the Hallmark Channel.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    I really wanted to like this book. Its overall theme/ message h

    I really wanted to like this book. Its overall theme/ message has been with me since I've finished it. Rather than heartwarming, I found the story to be a bit distrubing, though. Many of the reviewers have talked about the "love story" between Noni and Kaye. But one of the limitations to the book's structure (kind of like an album of Christmas memories) is that you don't get to see a lot of the positive parts of their relationship. (For example, we read of photographs of their graduations or times where they did homework together.) It seemed like Noni and Kaye had some sort of disagreement every Christmas, many times because he would say something mean about a gift from Noni. I actually felt that Kaye was a very disagreeable character. In many ways, I don't think Kaye would have been any better for her than Roland. I did enjoy the character of Amma, and wish that Bunny would have been more fleshed out.

    This was one of the best Free Friday books that we've seen in a while.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Ummm.....okay

    It was a bit drawn out and not well organized.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Fair.

    Sorry, but I could not get into this book. Never piqued my interest One reviewer complained about the profanity which I did not find much of. I have read more books that are loaded with profanity which this one did not. I just could not get into the storyline. Was a boring story that I gave up on in chapter 3 and skipped to the last chapter and skimmed through it to see how it ended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    I thought the storyline, once it got going, was predictable. It

    I thought the storyline, once it got going, was predictable. It read like the plot of a Lifetime movie.  I'm surprised that there weren't commercial breaks between the chapters. Its heavy-handed attempts to pull at the heartstrings were pretty shameless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    Highly highly recommend

    This is a delightful romance of two childhood friends. Noni is the daughter of the wealthy Tidwell family. Her family employs a Black family who have served Noni's family for many years. Noni's best childhood friend,Kaye, is a Black boy who is the grandson of one of the household servants. They meet each other on a childhood sleigh ride on Christmas Eve. Their lifelong friendship serves the test of time as both excel in their diverse talents. This is a novel of love and strength!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Not for Me

    I could not get into this book. I really tried to like it but by page 10 I had to close.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Can't recommend at this time.

    I just could not get into the book. I could not get past page nine. I will try again later.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Loved it!Buy it!

    was completely different from what I expected. Very unique story should be good for book club discussions. I would buy his other books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Here is a book on life, love and the last days of our lives. How we make these moments come to make us happy or let these times pass and wish we had made a better choice. The heart ache of loving someone for a very long time and never letting them know. When time passes and our hearts still carry deep love the best thing is to tell that someone how much they mean to us and to share that love in return. Life has a way of showing us what is in front us all the time if we would only take those steps and follow our hearts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    It's not what you are expecting

    the book is a bit of a downer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Great story of love and friendship. Laughed & cried.

    Great story of love and friendship. Laughed & cried.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    wasn't the best book

    I didn't get past the first chapter. It wasn't bad it wasn't for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Not a keeper!

    OK, but not one of my keepers. I read mostly for knowledge, not for emotionally related.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Very Moving

    I enjoyed this story tremendously. Right from the beginning I was hooked. The story follows childhood friends through the years at Christmas time. Noni and Kaye are two characters you really begin to know and love. I felt connection to each of the rich characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Highly Recommend -- Must Read

    I started reading this book on Saturday morning during Christmas. I could not put it down until I had finished. I was crying during the last couple of chapters. My heart ached for the characters. I called everyone I knew and told them they had to ready this book it was the greatest. This was a Nook Free Friday selection and could not have come at a better time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Good read

    The book starts a little slow, but the story line is very touching. I would definitely recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Just couldn't get into this one

    Just couldn't get into this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Sweet love story - but not the usual love story

    i enjoyed this book - does not have a plot that you need to follow - just a telling of the lives of 2 people growing up together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Interesting but not a favorite.

    This took a while to establish what the author was trying to achieve. About half-way through the book, it became interesting reading but never really made the trip to become a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3