BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Last Nude

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    Last Nude

    Paris in the Twenties comes alive in this beatiful novel.

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    Enjoyable reading

    I am a great admirer of her art. It was fascinating to read about the person in some of de Lempicka's most fampus paintings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    To k

    Come on

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Interesting!

    Well written and kept my attention up to and including the very last page. While none of the characters were appealing (a bit on the sleazy side, questionable morals, etc.), I nevertheless found myself interested in their thinking and doing. If you are a reader who doesn't have to love the people about whom you are reading, then you will find this a very interesting book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2012

    Should have ended sooner

    The Last Nude is another example of taking a good story and stretching it to a novel. The story begins as Raphaela’s story and it is an enjoyable read. Ellis Avery lures the reader into Raphaela’s life and creates empathy for the character.

    The book was difficult to put down through the first chapters, then, in explicably Avery changes the novel to Tamara’s story. With the shift the book was no longer compelling. In fact, it became quite difficult to continue reading as not only was Tamara an unlikeable character, but, Avery’s writing style seemed to slip as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    A really good read

    I enjoy The Last Nude immensely. Both the main characters were well-drawn and the combination of the art/art scene, and the coming out/love story drew me right in and kept me riveted through the book. I wish it had been longer.

    The only minor disappointment was the switch in point of view in the last chapter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Not your mother's book

    Lots of dialogue and drama. Not just the history of a painter whom I have come to admire, but more the exciting adventures of a nineteen year old Italian-American castoff. Entertaining, raw, and unashamed of the human flesh. Not your mother's book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Bella Rafaela

    Even moreso, that there is no closure for Tamara. Great read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Boring

    Biggest waste of time and money invested in a book in years. Wish I wouldve paid attention to others negative comments on this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Brought this book with me to Paris...

    And I was not disappointed.

    Ms. Avery brought the art and beauty of Paris alive, while balancing out that dreamy image with a reality of a young woman struggling to make her way.

    I did enjoy the first half of the book much more than the second half, but that being said, I was ecstatic to have a chance to read this book as soon as it came out. And, what better place to do it than Paris where I could almost imagine the exact scenes taking place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1