Customer Reviews for

The Last Olympian (Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 5792 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4790)

4 Star

(647)

3 Star

(177)

2 Star

(49)

1 Star

(129)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

132 out of 157 people found this review helpful.

I STINKING LOVE THESE BOOKS!!!

I love this series!! Before I read them, Harry Potter was at the top of the list of my fav books. Now, it's #2, and #1 is Percy Jackson and the Olympians! It's got a modern spin on old legend and myths, not to mention humor. I LOVE humor. And sarcasm. That's good too. I...
I love this series!! Before I read them, Harry Potter was at the top of the list of my fav books. Now, it's #2, and #1 is Percy Jackson and the Olympians! It's got a modern spin on old legend and myths, not to mention humor. I LOVE humor. And sarcasm. That's good too. I'll admit, I'm sad to see it end, but I'm sure I'll read the books enough times to nearly memorize them. The first thing that caught my attention about these books were the chapter titles. I love how they make absolutely no sense until you actually read the book. I showed my friends and they're all, "What the HECK?" I did that at first too. Percy Jackson, if it was you against Harry Potter, even with his magic you would win in a battle. I'm sure Riptide could DEFINITELY help with that (Not to mention maybe some water, but that's ok if there's none, 'cause you're awesome). I've caught up on my reading lately, and now I need to read the rest once more before Tuesday! I can't wait for The Last Olympian!! :)

posted by Twelvefan12 on May 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

34 out of 129 people found this review helpful.

Last book in series ties up all loose ends ...

I have read all the previous books which I enjoyed very much. This book was also good although there were parts that were repetitive. I thought the ending was pretty cool.

posted by 1534559 on June 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 5880 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 294
  • Posted May 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I STINKING LOVE THESE BOOKS!!!

    I love this series!! Before I read them, Harry Potter was at the top of the list of my fav books. Now, it's #2, and #1 is Percy Jackson and the Olympians! It's got a modern spin on old legend and myths, not to mention humor. I LOVE humor. And sarcasm. That's good too. I'll admit, I'm sad to see it end, but I'm sure I'll read the books enough times to nearly memorize them. The first thing that caught my attention about these books were the chapter titles. I love how they make absolutely no sense until you actually read the book. I showed my friends and they're all, "What the HECK?" I did that at first too. Percy Jackson, if it was you against Harry Potter, even with his magic you would win in a battle. I'm sure Riptide could DEFINITELY help with that (Not to mention maybe some water, but that's ok if there's none, 'cause you're awesome). I've caught up on my reading lately, and now I need to read the rest once more before Tuesday! I can't wait for The Last Olympian!! :)

    132 out of 157 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2010

    Pulls you in!

    You don't know a good book until you read The Last Olympian! Percy and his fiends fight to rid the world of Kronos and his cohorts in this epic tale of modern times and Greek mythology. It's a must read!

    89 out of 101 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read

    I have read all Rick Riordan's books and this one is awesome.

    78 out of 101 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A series I will remember for a long time

    These books are some of the most imaginative I have ever read. I really like how you get to know the characters, and how they each arrive at Camp Half-Blood with their own personal problems. Rick Riordan writes the stories so well that it feels like your there right alongside Percy. I have not complained once about there being something that I didn't like in any of the books. They are so funny and random at times that I can't stop laughing. I have gotten friends into the series and their glad that I did. Now im just sad that it's going to end. And I guess that IS the only complaint I have. But I can't wait!

    72 out of 82 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting Interesting Interesting

    My daughter loved this book. I had her write the review....

    She wrote, "The last Olympian is the last book of the lightning thief series. In the book Percy Jackson and his friends are on one quest to defeat Kronos from destroying the world. Rick Riordan is the best author ever, because this book will get your kids to want to learn and love Greek mythology. I think k you should read this book because of the adventure, tragedy and little romance. If you read this then you will not be bored".

    Taiya

    47 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    can't wait

    my eyes are aching to read this book! i can't wait till percy and annabeth get together. i can't wait to read that prophecy of percy, i think the prophecy has a little to do with the romance between annabeth and percy, and also, of course, the fate of the world. i also know i'm definatley going to cry once this beautiful series is ended. well at least i might feel better by the fact that these books are becoming movies. you guys should also check out a website called blue trident 'fan site'. can't wait, can't wait.

    45 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Best Book Ever!!!

    This book was absolutely amazing! Not only did the author make this book very humerous and interesting, but it was also educational! There were many places in the book where the he referred to actual greek myths. I have read the whole series two times and will probably read it again soon! I would deffinately recommend this book to anyone who finds greek myths fascinating or even if you know nothing about them! This book is just an all around good book!!! :)

    36 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    Last book in series ties up all loose ends ...

    I have read all the previous books which I enjoyed very much. This book was also good although there were parts that were repetitive. I thought the ending was pretty cool.

    34 out of 129 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2009

    Amazing!

    Rick Rioran is the best author in the WORLD! he's sooo discriptive, and he makes everything fun and thrilling! he also wrote another fav of mine "39 Clues" It's awsome!

    34 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    New York Times

    A fast paced, fantacy aout the greek gods. It should be on the Top 5 books of all time.

    34 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    it rocks

    i read the hole thing around 26 hours after i bought it. o wish there was more! we all qant to see more of percy jackson with annebeth! er want to see if elizabith can handle being the orcal! i dont care if another book would be less then 100 pages we wont more even though this was the last! pecy jakson books should keep going not die! he is invunsable! we also want to see if athena will get angry and go to battle with posiden because percy and anabeth going out! we want to see what happens with all the new campers! WE WANT MORE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    26 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Noooooooooooooooooooooo!!!

    This is the last instalment in the series everyone loves "Percy jackson an the olympians". The end is here. There must be a war and we will finally see what the prophosy is all about!! After all these years since percy diccovered he was a demigod, after all the problems and battles and risking his life what will happen to him? Does he love Annabeth or Rachel Elizabeth Dare? What will happen to the gods and to olympus? there is only one way to find out!!

    21 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    THE BEST BOOKS IN THE WORLD!!!

    I love these books, they are AMAZING. Ever sice the first grade, I have always loved to read books. My favorite books to read have always been fantasy books! During the summer I went and purchased a copy of The Lightning Thief. I started to read it and I couldn't stop!!! I was just so interested!!! After I read the first book, I went and purchased the rest of the series 1-4. I cant stop reading them! They are so interesting and I learn so much about Greek Mythology from These books I even checked out a book on Greek Mythology at the library. The books are about a young boy named Percy Jackson who is the son of Posiedon the see god and also one of the big three gods of Olympas. Him and his frinds Grover and Annabeth (also half bloods) face many challenges against the Titan lord Kronos. They face danger, betrayal, obstacales and many more includeing the profecy of The Titans curse! I Highly recomend these books for anyone who likes to read and also for people who dont!

    17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Evans Gatuna : )

    Rick you are the best author in the world

    I wish I could write as good as you

    I also want to read the Son of Neptune,

    Mark of Athena,and the House of Hades!!


    Press yes if you agree!!!!

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Fantastic Finale to a Hugely Compelling Series

    "The Last Olympian," by Rick Riordan is the fifth and final installment in the New York Times #1 best-selling "Percy Jackson and the Olympians" series. Packed with a large plethora of surprising twists and turns, this book is suspenseful, humorous, and, of course, completely action-packed! Revealing many shocking truths, this novel is a fantastic finale to a hugely compelling series!

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Percy jackson never ceases to Amaze

    I know none of us have read this lasst installment to thre brilliant, humourous, and dramatic Percy Jackson Series, but if you have read the preceeding four books, you will know that this book is sure to be a winner. Try reading this instead of the Over-rated Twilight series. (Yes, i used to be a big fan of stephanie meyers, but please try to look at the books from a neuteral angle.) These books are a blend of everything, so please read and enjoy (I know i will!)

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Last Olympian

    I cannot wait for this book to come out. So excited, I've read all the books out so far so many times! This book will be so exciting. I'm thrilled!I always hated reading, but then my best friend was getting The Sea of Monsters from the library so i decided to join him, not thinking about reading it. Suddenly, I find myself reading because my teacher tells me to, so i just skim, and even that grabs my attention. I start reading the series. First book 2, then 3, then 1, then 4. Later i decided to read it over and over again in order, and I'm still not tired. These books are worth more to me than a regular video game, because there are plenty of those. I don't know how much I would know about Greek mythology without them. They once even helped me on a presentation about Poseidon at school. I can't wait to see What's next. Thanks Rick Riordan.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2009

    Fun Series

    CullenBoy must not have even read the series yet he feels the need to blast it! Really and Twilight is really that much better? Anywho this is a great book to read out loud to your kids, I read them with my sister and her kids and loved them. I own the set so that when mine is old enough to read or listen to such an involved story it will be perfect. Great for boys who need to brush up on their reading skills as it will keep them entertained!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    THE BESTEST BOOKS IN THE WHOLE ENTIRE WORLD EVER KNOWN TO MAN KIND OF ANY MAN, ANIMAL, OR EVEN PLANT. YES PEOPLE READ TO YOUR PLANTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    oK hands down. down down people. this series is the bestest series ever like it 4rele is. its fun kool popular wutevs.i dont believe in the gods duh! but it does give me an understanding of greek mythology. yea yea yea kids u can actually get some education by reading the best book eva. the other books where obviously rele good but i think this book will b the best eva. and guess wut peeps that like percy jackson and not reading, on february 12th i think 2010 the percy jackson movie will come out and be the bestest movie eva in the history of movies! so that is basically all i hav to say but read the percy jackson series and it will change ur life 4eva!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2009

    Percy jackson and the twelve olympians series is so totally awesome!

    Before I started reading this series I hated reading.But now I love reading because I started reading the percy jackoson series (pj). First I liked to read the greek myths, then one day my mom recommended the lighting thief. So I read it and I loved it.I wanted to read the rest of the books in the series. Then I read the sea of monsters. I enjoyed it, but not as much as the lighting thief. After that I read the titans curse, and the strangest thing happened.When I opened the cover it was signed by the author,( I had the biggest happy attack of my life!)I think it was the funniest out of the series. After that I read the battle of the labyrinth. Great book that and the lighting thief are my favorites. Now Im almost done with the demigod files, and after that I will have to wait until the last olympian comes out. Im also recommending it to all my freinds. GO PERCY JACKSON!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 5880 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 294