Customer Reviews for

The Last Olympian (Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 5793 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4793)

4 Star

(646)

3 Star

(176)

2 Star

(49)

1 Star

(129)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

131 out of 156 people found this review helpful.

I STINKING LOVE THESE BOOKS!!!

I love this series!! Before I read them, Harry Potter was at the top of the list of my fav books. Now, it's #2, and #1 is Percy Jackson and the Olympians! It's got a modern spin on old legend and myths, not to mention humor. I LOVE humor. And sarcasm. That's good too. I...
I love this series!! Before I read them, Harry Potter was at the top of the list of my fav books. Now, it's #2, and #1 is Percy Jackson and the Olympians! It's got a modern spin on old legend and myths, not to mention humor. I LOVE humor. And sarcasm. That's good too. I'll admit, I'm sad to see it end, but I'm sure I'll read the books enough times to nearly memorize them. The first thing that caught my attention about these books were the chapter titles. I love how they make absolutely no sense until you actually read the book. I showed my friends and they're all, "What the HECK?" I did that at first too. Percy Jackson, if it was you against Harry Potter, even with his magic you would win in a battle. I'm sure Riptide could DEFINITELY help with that (Not to mention maybe some water, but that's ok if there's none, 'cause you're awesome). I've caught up on my reading lately, and now I need to read the rest once more before Tuesday! I can't wait for The Last Olympian!! :)

posted by Twelvefan12 on May 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

33 out of 128 people found this review helpful.

Last book in series ties up all loose ends ...

I have read all the previous books which I enjoyed very much. This book was also good although there were parts that were repetitive. I thought the ending was pretty cool.

posted by 1534559 on June 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 176 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    it just wasn't quite right

    I was majorly looking forward to this book, but it turned out to not be as good as I expected. It was basically a good book, but in comparison, it could have been better. It wasn't as wonderful as the others and I just expected more out of it. It was okay, and if you've read the others, you should read it for the sake of completion.

    8 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2008

    I can't wait that long!!!!

    Wow! 'The Last Olympian' sounds kinda scary! I hope Percy isn't the hero in the prophecy. I'm nervous to read this book, but I really want to. It's sad that it comes out in May of 2009, I hope it's worth the wait!

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    I am the fury Alecto

    I am the fury Alecto. My army is sent by Lord Hades

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I only put it as 3 STARS to make you read this review.

    A little background info- I am a High school student, I began reading this series since elementary school. A Breathtaking novel; simply too good to be put into words, but I shall try my best. The other books were Phenominal, but this one, it's Phenomenal. If you have read its predecessors, honestly you will be addicted from beginning. From page one, you literally feel like it's already the climax of any great movie. Yes, from page ONE. Putting this books down is just simply impossible, I finished it before going to sleep-3 in the morning.Unlike other authors who try to add events and try to make a story more complicated with love or drama, Rick Riordan simply make a compact story filled with everything, yet missing nothing. This book will. NOT. disappoint. It doesn't have a draggy beginning nor does it have all these useless details, it is simply climax from the start.
    P.S. I ONLY put this book as a 3 Stars to make sure you understand this book's magnitude.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Loved it

    Loved it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    Disapointing ending to a great series

    For the longest time Percy Jackson and the Olympians was my favorite series. I would literaly have my dad buy it at the book store the day it came out so i could read it the instant i got home. I did the same with this book.
    From the first chapter, i kind of knew The Last Olympian would be a disapointment. It starts out with Percy and one of his friends attacking Kronos's ship, the Andromada. During that first scene, I didn't really feel any sort of excitment or antisapation or even any danger. And that's how the rest of the book goes. The entire book is just Percy and his friends battling a bunch of monsters. There is a bit of a side plot going on with Nico, but other then that there is no plot at all.
    Granted, I did like the choice percy made at the end of the book. It was heartfelt and bitter sweet. But on the whole, The Last Olympian was a boring and disapointing ending to one of my most beloved series.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2014

    May be the last book of the series but it's far from over. In 20

    May be the last book of the series but it's far from over. In 2010, I began the series with the Lightning Thief but two years later I resumed
    the series and concluded it, now I no longer have the whole set (all five installments I meant) because I took them all to Goodwill. In
    fact, some of those books in this series contains a preview of Percy's next adventure, the Heroes of Olympus series.

    To see more of my customer reviews in this series, look in the Lightning Thief, the Sea of Monsters, the Titan's Curse and the Battle of
    the Labyrinth, I guess it doesn't matter what customer reviews are other than Rick Riordan because those less than a dozen other
    customer reviews are either by other authors or different publishers, now to switch the topic: I believe that by now I already had countless
    books and since I had so many I've lost count. There are less than 40 books by this author (Rick Riordan obviously) each from 2010 to
    present plus several others. Now that total is zilch, also later learned that Pokemon Omega Ruby and Alpha Sapphire strategy guides
    aren't as an important priority as I thought I would since I'm outgrowing trading cards even though it takes time to do that (even one of
    Percy's friends are into card games, not Yu-Gi-Oh or over a dozen other card games including Pokemon but a more originally generic
    card game, you know like Chaotic, remember that?) and in fact even toys can be hard to outgrow (depends on the toy, though).

    So as a 24 year old man, it's just difficult to be a child trapped in a man's body...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    Walter the farting dog

    Read it not

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2014

    Green

    This is a interesting book cover...........

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    JOIN CAMP ODYSSEY

    AT ODYSSEY RES 2!! BIOS AT RES 1!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    I kissed my hand three times

    I kissed my hand three times

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    To Madison

    Hi

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    ODD GIRLL OUT 6

    Ok! Ry for the wait! Next part Lost Hero. To Jessica Chesselacy/whatever your name is, I have a suprise waiting for you! If you would like to have a character featured in the quest, feel free to give me any ideas. Now et's seee whats going on with Gemma's peculiar quest... My dream was odd, but I decided against thinking about it. My mom was not alive. After a while of walking around LA, Wren, Marc, and I decided to rest. Marc suggested we go get burgers. Wren and I weren't against it, so we went. We found a small burger joint downtown. It smelled AND looked amazing. "This doesn't smell that bad, but somethings wrong. There might be monsters!" I laughed. "Wren. This place smells amazing! There might even be non fat Caesar Salad with tofu chicken!" Her ears perked up a bit at that. As we walked in, my jaw dropped to the floor. At the back table was my favorite half sister. Except she was supposed to be dead. Jess Chesslacey was the most beautiful girl at camp. She was the envied by the Aphrodite, awed by the Ares, and the Athena kids were just amazing. Her mom was daughter of Aphrodite, but her dad was Apollo, so she was both. Back then, I was popular too. After she died of cancer, everyone went back to their normal lives. I poked Marc on the shoulder nodded at Jess. Wren had noticed too. Pretty soon, she was walking towards us. "You three should keep your mouths clossed. It's really not your best look," she giggled, "just kidding. I missed you guys so much!" She pulled me in a big hug. I grasped at her. She was real? Dreams never came true for me. "Why are you here? I thought you were dead!" Wren finally blurted. It was a question we all really wanted to ask. "Well, funny story. I woke up here a few minutes ago. I thought I was dead! I was just in Esylium eating barbeque. And then I'm in a diner. I had this. I think it's for you." She handed me an empty pack. I wondered why it was for us. It was useless. "It's magic. Wish for whatever." She started to shimmer. "Well, I guess I need to go back. I love you all!" And she was gone. Time to get to DOA Recording.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Hmmmm......

    HMM

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Read

    How do you do the symbold?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    If want sex go to swag result three

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Go demigods

    Amazing book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    I need a goirlfriend

    I am 14 and im a boy title Alex if you want to chat

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    To sex

    I am here

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    To Lightningman

    I could help u

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 176 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9