Customer Reviews for

The Last Olympian (Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 5939 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4918)

4 Star

(655)

3 Star

(178)

2 Star

(51)

1 Star

(137)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

141 out of 169 people found this review helpful.

I STINKING LOVE THESE BOOKS!!!

I love this series!! Before I read them, Harry Potter was at the top of the list of my fav books. Now, it's #2, and #1 is Percy Jackson and the Olympians! It's got a modern spin on old legend and myths, not to mention humor. I LOVE humor. And sarcasm. That's good too. I...
I love this series!! Before I read them, Harry Potter was at the top of the list of my fav books. Now, it's #2, and #1 is Percy Jackson and the Olympians! It's got a modern spin on old legend and myths, not to mention humor. I LOVE humor. And sarcasm. That's good too. I'll admit, I'm sad to see it end, but I'm sure I'll read the books enough times to nearly memorize them. The first thing that caught my attention about these books were the chapter titles. I love how they make absolutely no sense until you actually read the book. I showed my friends and they're all, "What the HECK?" I did that at first too. Percy Jackson, if it was you against Harry Potter, even with his magic you would win in a battle. I'm sure Riptide could DEFINITELY help with that (Not to mention maybe some water, but that's ok if there's none, 'cause you're awesome). I've caught up on my reading lately, and now I need to read the rest once more before Tuesday! I can't wait for The Last Olympian!! :)

posted by Twelvefan12 on May 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

39 out of 138 people found this review helpful.

Last book in series ties up all loose ends ...

I have read all the previous books which I enjoyed very much. This book was also good although there were parts that were repetitive. I thought the ending was pretty cool.

posted by 1534559 on June 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 655 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 33
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Best book I have read in a while!

    The plot is fantastic, and I hope you can read it too!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Percy Jackson and the Olympians #5

    This will be the best book ever.Trust me,I know.I read the whole series and it is fantastic!!!You should really read this series and this book that is coming out soon!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Fun series!

    Another good book in the Percy Jackson series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    TAP HERE

    I have read the whole series. I like them ALOT. If you are sad that Percy us leaving, there is another series with him. Its called Heros of Olympus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Rick Riordian must read this!!!

    This book is a thrilling book to end a 'out of this world' (and into Olympus) seiries. There should still be a 6th book! RickRiordian, if you are reading this, then start writing!!! Sorry... I just love your writing. The way you put a twist into your books, AMAZING!!! Have you met the auther of the Maximmum Ride sieres? ... sighned --a reading maniac

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    It rules!!! : ) : ) : )

    Who ever hasn't read this sould buy & read now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It is so cool. I just read The lost hero it's awesome. You should buy & read NOW!!!!!!!!!!!! ( Or I think so!!! ) So what are waiting for!?!?!?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    a mixed bag

    We had read the first four books in the "Percy Jackson and the Olympians" series, so we figured that we might as well finish them off. In this final installment, Perseus (Percy) Jackson, a son of the Greek god Poseidon by a human mother, and his friends, including Grover Underwood the satyr, Annabeth Chase, a daughter of Athena, and Rachel Elizabeth Dare, a human who can see through "the mist," must fight Kronos the Titan, who is using the body of Luke Castellan, a former friend and son of Hermes, in his attempt to destroy the gods of Mt. Olympus, which is located above the Empire State Building. The monster Typhon, is rampaging across the country and occupying the other gods, so Percy and his crew must protect Olympus from Kronos and his army, which includes some of their former friends from Camp Half-Blood who have defected.
    Percy, who was twelve when the series began, is now about to turn sixteen, and there is a long-awaited prophecy about his fate which relates to his birthday. There is no doubt that the book is exciting reading and will hold the interest of today's average middle school and early teenage reader, but with all the modern pop culture references I'm not sure that it will stand the test of time. As to language, there are a few common euphemisms, references where someone is simply said to have "cursed" ("in Latin" or "Greek," no less), and a childish slang term for the rear end. Worse yet, the ubiquitous and disgusting OMG has been transmuted into "Oh my gods," which is used rather frequently and is about as close to taking the Lord's name in vain as possible without actually doing it.
    Another problem is the troubling practice of the gods in cavalierly having relationships out of wedlock with mortals and producing children. When Percy goes to see his father, Poseidon's god-wife Amphitrite seems annoyed, and Percy concludes, "All his romances with mortals, including with my mom.well, Amphitrite probably didn't like that much." Yes, I know that things like these were common in the old Greek myths, but they are precisely why many Christians feel that the myths are really not something that godly children ought to be reading about, studying, and finding entertainment in, at least in their unexpurgated form. It is a mixed bag, with some things to like and some not to like, but overall it is not too bad, though I would suggest it for older readers, say sixteen and above, rather than the target audience. Riordan has begun a couple of new series, "The Heroes of Olympus," which continues the saga of the half-bloods, and "The Kane Chronicles," which seems to be based on Egyptian mythology.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2009

    The Last Olympian by Rick Riordian

    The Last Olympian is a great book! It has action, danger, suspense, and just a hint of romance. In this book Percy and the gods must battle Kronos in a final battle for the throne and western civilization. The detail in the battles is amazing. Every swipe, every block, is described perfectly, though not over doing it. Percy puts himself out on a limb to save the world by jumping into the River Styx in order to have any chance of battling Kronos and succeeding in protecting the seat of power from him. I thought the ending was a little cheesy. Everything turns out perfect. Percy asks the gods for a favor to recognize their children and the minor gods and of course it is granted. Annabeth and Percy start going out, and a new Oracle has been found. It's just a little too perfect. Overall, though, I think that The Last Olympian is an outstanding book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Great Ending

    I really liked this book, but not as much as I loved the others in the series. I do have to say, this last book answered a lot of my questions. The only thing that really bothered me was how they kind of left you hanging at the end. It seems that there should be another book to add on to *The Last Olympian*. There were still some unanswered questions that, i guess, we all need to answer ourselves. It made me sad, reading all about the campers that died. And it still confuses me the character that the author chose to be the spy. He made you think it would be someone more close to Percy, like Annabeth oe something. She kept asking questions, like where Percy's weak spot was, and also, she was so close to Luke. Another thing that depressed me was the state of Luke's mother. She kept thinking he would come back, driving herself crazy with bits of hope. Overall, I thought it was a good book that kept me reading, but it could have been better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great series, but this one's not as good as the rest

    I usually don't like the books that teachers make us read The Lightning Thief for class, but after the class period in which we read the first chapter aloud, I went home and promptly finished the book. Not only that, but I bought the second one, The Sea of Monsters, read that in a day or two, did the same with the third, The Titan's Curse, waited anxiously for the fourth, The Battle of the Labyrinth, and finally, after what seemed like twenty eternities of waiting for it to be published, the fifth and final book of the series, The Last Olympian. The series is just great - entertaining and educational. Kids will groan when they hear the word, "education" describing a book, but as a kid, really, you don't realize it's educational until you finish the book and realize you know a lot more about Greek Mythology than you did before you started.
    I have to admit that this last book did disappoint me a bit. Don't get me wrong - I loved it, but it had Percy be "too perfect" or if you go on fanfiction, Mary Sue.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    Best book ever. Well worth the wait

    I've waited over a year for this book to come out. I was so excited it came out and was more excited as I read more and more of the book. I love how there were conflicts in the characters lives and how they triumph.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    Great book but not as good as I expected

    I enjoyed the book, I had been looking forward to the last book for a while, the story was nice, but it wasn't as captivating as the last 3. I recommend this book because overall it was a good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2014

    :)

    An amazing book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2014

    Nice final edition to the story. While the almost Hollywood endi

    Nice final edition to the story. While the almost Hollywood ending was a bit disappointing, there were enough surprising twists and unexpected lost characters, that it remained compelling if not frustratingly long to reach the end.

    What I appreciated was that the hero believed to have initiated the crisis at hand and was to play a vital role in the outcome, did have an important decision but not the kind expected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2014

    Tap here

    My name is Cassie.I am 13 and i am loking for a bf.i will ate any guy.i have kissed a lot of guys so any on intereste put #no flex on the top.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Tj

    Okay.ttyl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    To below

    Buzz off pal!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    U r....

    STUUUPPPIIIIIIDDDD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    PRETTY GOOD

    I thought that the last olympian was pretty good. I really likedthe cenrures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    A Mixed Blessing

    I purchased this book as a Christmas gift for my 9-year-old grandson. Since he had already read the first four books of the series, he knew what they were about and was very excited! Unfortunately, he then proceeded to nestle himself in a corner of the room and READ. Since this was a family day and there were other activities for him, he was quickly scolded. I trust he will find a more appropriate time to read - but I was pleased he was so anxious to read The Last Olympian.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 655 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 33