Customer Reviews for

The Last Olympian (Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 5949 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4928)

4 Star

(655)

3 Star

(178)

2 Star

(51)

1 Star

(137)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

143 out of 172 people found this review helpful.

I STINKING LOVE THESE BOOKS!!!

I love this series!! Before I read them, Harry Potter was at the top of the list of my fav books. Now, it's #2, and #1 is Percy Jackson and the Olympians! It's got a modern spin on old legend and myths, not to mention humor. I LOVE humor. And sarcasm. That's good too. I...
I love this series!! Before I read them, Harry Potter was at the top of the list of my fav books. Now, it's #2, and #1 is Percy Jackson and the Olympians! It's got a modern spin on old legend and myths, not to mention humor. I LOVE humor. And sarcasm. That's good too. I'll admit, I'm sad to see it end, but I'm sure I'll read the books enough times to nearly memorize them. The first thing that caught my attention about these books were the chapter titles. I love how they make absolutely no sense until you actually read the book. I showed my friends and they're all, "What the HECK?" I did that at first too. Percy Jackson, if it was you against Harry Potter, even with his magic you would win in a battle. I'm sure Riptide could DEFINITELY help with that (Not to mention maybe some water, but that's ok if there's none, 'cause you're awesome). I've caught up on my reading lately, and now I need to read the rest once more before Tuesday! I can't wait for The Last Olympian!! :)

posted by Twelvefan12 on May 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

40 out of 140 people found this review helpful.

Last book in series ties up all loose ends ...

I have read all the previous books which I enjoyed very much. This book was also good although there were parts that were repetitive. I thought the ending was pretty cool.

posted by 1534559 on June 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 4928 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 247
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    To great

    Rachel and percy kiss at the beach. Annabeth and percy kiss in a volcano and in a lake. I think that im on team annabeth. That is because percy and she begin dating anyway, and because in mark of athena percy and annabeth sleep together. Great book!! Say which team u r on.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Do annabeth and percy get together

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    A.M.A.Z.I.N.G.

    This is the best series I have ever read, and this was the best book in it because *spoiler alert* percy and annabeth finaly get together. And for you haters out there, J.K rowling may be a great author, but you have got nothing on rick riordan or his writing or his series. Harry Potter is great, and so is Percy Jackson. Anyone else who is obsessed about this series should continue reading Percy's story in Riordan's next series : The heroes of Olympus. The first book is called The Lost Hero. The second one: The Son of Neptune. The third one, coming out fall 2012 is called The Mark of Athena.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    RickRiordanFAN- The Coolest Books EVER!!!!!

    The Books are AWSOME!!!!!Ever since I started Fifth grade, I had to read books. And to me that was something not so interesting. But when I read one part of the Lighting Thief, I wanted to read more of it!!! It seams like youre realy there, like Percy does exsist. To me youre books are even better than Harry Potter's. In the "Percy And the Olympians" books there is more adventere, thrilling, challenging things that happen. It's almost like the story POP's out the book. What I mean is... I LOVE IT!!!!! I JUST LOVE IT!!!!! Youre writing is full of greek myth experiences. But the thing I just wish is that this thrilling story would NEVER end.That's the sad thing. It's just so GOOD!!!! And, can't wait for the fifth book. And also if Annabeth and Percy ever get together, if it happens.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Rock on Rick Riordan!!!!

    Im a 11 years old girl, and i must say that i have always hated reading. Ovcorse intill i saw my sis reading this book called The Lightning Theif,at the time i just glanced at it an never looked back (i know how lame). Then i saw kids at my school carring these books and it took me by surprise, but what surprised me most was seeing on teacher carrry the boook into the lounge with her reading glasses. I looked up reviews on that book and every one one them said 5 stars and the only dislike was that it had to end. All these things sayinging its a really awesome book i dicided to read it(or at lest preview. So i did. after i read the first chapter I LOVED IT!!!! i got up to the fourth chapter when u know it was really getting good thie my sister said she had to take back to her school. i begged he not to but it was no use. so that vvery same day i kept nagging my dad to take me to the borders(which was really hard). but hr finally budged on the third day and we went i was so excited after i got back to read it i finished it the next night i didn't mean to n=but i was just so excited to read it. i gave my dad like a week to rest and the started nagging hom again except this time i didn't work so i asked my mo to but she said she would order it online because she didn't like going into shops and stores. a week later it was finaly at bordres and all wed have to do was go there and pick it up it wasn't intell a week later after it was there for me to pick it up. And so i got The Sea of monsters this time i decide to pace myself(and i finished a 2 days later than i did last time. it was so awesome and i apsoulutely loved the beginning of it. book 2 was even better!!! than in about 5 days i got both book 3:the Titans curse and book 4: the bottle of the labrynth i just finished book 3 and 4 and i found this site looking for book 5 annd coming to my conclusion i would just like to say i am so glad that uyour book the lightning thief is the book that turned me on to reading. Your job was sucessful. thnx Rick!! Can't wait for book 5.<BR/><BR/><BR/> sincerly your #1 fan, <BR/> Ely

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Five-Year Olds Using Reviews To "Text"

    The review section is not a place to meet new people. If you wish to mingle, use a social networking site. Please stop spamming random things and advertising also. These reviews are for telling our feelings on a book, and quite frankly, no one cares to chat with random strangers. Sorry but I feel this must be said.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Percy Jackson Series

    I have the whole series of Percy Jackson! I love it! Percy Jackson is way better than Harry Potter! Harry Potter, you just got bumped down to last. Percy Jackson is now #1!! I am reading the Last Olympian and I am lovimg it so far. Percy Jackson is an awesome book!! I recommend you buy it!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Anonymous

    So Ive read every single percy jackson and heroes of olympus by rick riordan possibly out there. If anyone is confused i truly suggest you red the demigod files(percy jackson) and the demigod diaries(heroes of olympus). You have no idea how helpful they are from maps to pictures of characters to background stories mentiond in the book in one sentence such as "we got in a tangle with the maenads last summer..." but has no flashback or details about the encounter in the book. Hope this helped

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Awesome book

    I would recomend this book to anyone!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Anonymous

    I have read The Last Olympian many times. Even though I know what is going to happen, the book never fails to dissapoint me by revealing the little details that I have forgotten. Rick Riordan NEVER dissapoints! I HIGHLY recommend this book! <3 <3 <3 <3 <3

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    AWESOME

    Best book ever!!!!!! Ever since i started reading this series i am really into mytholygy and greek. I like Athena goddess of wisdom. Thats my name!!!! HA HA HA!!!!!! This exciting book is about a half blood named percy jackson, and his friends fight the titan lord Kronos and with the help of the gods no unclaimed halfblood will be unforgotten. But dont read this first start by reding the first book in the the series, The Lightning Thief. Hope this review was helpful! Click yes if it was!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    Related

    This series book kind of reflect on adventures of the original greek heros. The sea of monsters is related to odyssyus's adventures, the titains curse relates to hercules adventures, and the battle of the labyrinth relates to thesus' adventures. Ge what i mean?

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Pure awesomeness

    Best book in the Percy Jackson series; hands down. <3

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    So good!

    I loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2012

    The Last Olympian is an awesome book!! It is up to par with the

    The Last Olympian is an awesome book!! It is up to par with the rest of the series, and tied things up nicely for the last book. This is a wonderful pick for boys or girls ages 9-12. I thought the plot was wonderful, so much so that I didn't ever want to put the book down until I had read the last word. Riordan did not make the last book in his wonderful series too long, or too short, but just right to tell the reader the end of Percy Jackson's story.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    A

    Great book

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Read the lost hero series

    The heros of olympus series is a continuation of the percyjackson series about the new great prophecy for all of you people who are sad to see percy go

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2010

    AWESOME BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Percy Jackson and the last Olympian is a book I highly recommend plus it is one of New York Times #1 bestselling books. It shows amazing plot creativity, characters and many more.
    The story is basically about a demigod or half blood named Percy Jackson. Percy needs to defeat The Titan leader Kronos. Kronos was cut up into pieces and thrown into a pit hole. He finally comes back, but not in his true form. Kronos is inside a traitor (named Luke) from Percy's side. In order to kill him Percy must first know more of Luke's family history and find Luke's weak spot (since he took a bath in a river to turn him invincible except one part on his body). This is funny, has a lot of actions, and gets you into the story. I read this book all in one night because it was so breath taking. I couldn't let go of the book. Rick Riordan did many great things in this book.
    Two things Rick Riordan did really well is taking something that's actually there and turning it somehow into the story and he made the book very descriptive. Lets go to the first thing Rick did well. I lived in New York for a long time. And New York is the main setting of the story, especially in Manhattan. Rick used his creativity and made the statues in Manhattan come alive to carry the master's order. That was really creative. He was also creative at making where each place is. Since the gods also move they live in America. The "mount Olympus" is at the empire state building. There are all different kinds of buildings, place Rick named after those things in Greece.
    I really believe this is a great book with many things to hope for. A lot of creativity, action, some comedy and gives you a vivid image. I highly recommend for you (if you're a kid) or if you're a parent to your kids. This book blew me away.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Ending to A Great Series!!!

    This series has so much to offer.It has such a great advanture and humor in it that that you forget you are learning about the Greek Gods and the mythical myths like:Cyclopes,Nymphs(spirits of the rivers) Dryads(spirit of trees)Satyrs(half man half goat).And also Medusa,Minotaur(half man half bull)Furies(works for the greek god of the underworld)and a lot more monsters when you start this great series.In this last book the Gods need their kids(deimgods) to save mount Olympus from the Titans and a whole lot of other monsters.Percy and his friends meet the challenge head on.Rick Riordan writes his characters so well you didn't know you just read nine chapters and a lot of time has past.Boys and girls and their parents will love this series!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Best books EVER

    Ok I absolutely adore this series and if you havent read them then you must, no really if you dont it's like your missing out on...........like the best thing in the world. I LOVE THIS SERIES ! PERCY AND ANNABETH! EEEEEKKK I LOVE THEM! Rick Riordan is just such an imaginative write and he always makes me laugh and has me hooked right from the first sentence, first word, first letter. I like these books mroe than Harry Potter and thats saying something :)

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 4928 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 247