Customer Reviews for

The Last Operative

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 8, 2010

    Christian spy novel

    I have always loved spy novels. The suspense, the adventure, the danger, and stakes that involve the survival of civilization make them exciting reads. This novel by the Left Behind Series author has all that and more. This operative is a Christian. And that changes the dynamics in a good way. Jordan Kirkwood is not as close to God as he once was. He loves his wife and adult children but knows he has not given them the time they deserve because of his job as a NSA operative. He also knows he's allowed his job to affect his relationship with God and caused him to become cynical. But everything is about to be challenged in a new way when he discovers a plot by terrorists that will make 9/11 look tame in comparison. And someone in the NSA is involved. While he tries to make amends with his family and sort out mistakes of his past, he must contend with the greatest threat he has ever faced as an NSA operative. But he doesn't know who he can trust. I highly recommend this novel. I hope there's a sequel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    Jenkins Delivers!

    As I understand it, this is one of Jerry Jenkins first novels. I've read some of his newer ones and, true to his style, he does not disappoint with this book either. Definitely worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    Recommended

    Vary good. Excellent read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Didn't care for this book. Would not recommend.

    Not enough suspense. He had not even buried his wife when he began to think of his first love. Then the author brings in his first love that he says he never stopped loving. He then finds out he has a daughter he never knew he had with his first love. I didnt know this book would have so much of this. Would not recommend to anyone.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    The Last Operative By Jerry B Jenkins

    Jordan Kirkwood is a NSA operative whose life is upended and challenged when his wife is murdered in an attempt to stop Jordan from uncovering a terrorist attack on the US. The storyline of The Last Operative by Jerry B Jenkins moves seamlessly through all the exciting twists and turns as it reaches the dramatic conclusion and then on to tie up those loose ends every reader wants the answers to before closing the book.
    The story was intriguing and an enjoyable read but I must say I was disappointed at its conclusion. It took me a few days of ruminating over the storyline. (Yes, I think about the plot of books for awhile after I read them just like I do with a good movie.) That's when I came to the conclusion that what I was disappointed in was the life reaction. I know the main character is more James Bond then Every Man, still I felt some of his reactions were not realistic enough. A few of the secondary characters especially his daughter could have been more distraught over the family drama that was taking place while her father saved the world. From a woman's perspective I need that emotional conneccdtion, the grief, the be more satisfying.
    That said I would admit that the details of how organizations like NSA and their operatives work was fascinating and the mystery compelling. I hope Jordan Kirkwood has another adventures for us to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Action, Adventure, Suspense

    I'm thankful to have received a review copy of The Last Operative, by Jerry Jenkins. He creates a story with a 007 type character that is faithful to his wife and family. Even though he's away on missions and he doesn't see his family much, he's thankful to his wife for holding it all together while he's away. He's passionate about his family and will lay down his life for them.

    Jordan Kirkwood, NSA intelligence operative is finally going to make his wife's dream come true. She's wanted to see Europe as tourists-Problem: he's just found out a secret that could end life as he and everyone else knows it. Who can he trust? What can he do? "Jordan was tempted to break his cover, to assure the authorities that all the bullets had come from the same weapon! But he knew this would be determined soon enough by ballistics." He could be compromised if he reveals this secret, but the situation will put the country on high alert-his life could unravel fast and furious if he does what he's thinking about doing! What about his wife and kids? Everything he holds dear could change in the blink of an eye.

    Unbelievable things happen to Jordan in his quest for answers. He even begins to question his faith in God and his own instincts become shaky. His life was turning upside down and inside out. Would he risk it all to find out what was really going on?

    Jordan's career has taken a toll on his family, because he hadn't realized the stakes were so high until he learned of this secret. "Facing the ugliest side of himself. There's no making up for lost time, is there? I've just royally screwed up my relationships with my kids."

    This book has it all - action, adventure, espionage, romance - and so much more. Jerry Jenkins creates likeable characters on top secret missions that will have you up late to see what happens next. Jerry Jenkins says that this is a stand alone book he re-wrote for modern readers, but in my opinion, he did leave it open for a sequel. I'm just saying! Grin!

    Nora St. Laurent
    The Book Club Network www.bookfun.org
    Finding Hope Through Fiction
    www.psalm516.blogpsot.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2010

    The Last Operative Book Review by Barbara J. Robinson

    The Last Operative by Jerry B. Jenkins is 23 chapters and 371 pages of riveting suspense published by Tyndale, copyright 2010 in hardcover. Jordan Kirkwood's top-notch career as an NSA intelligence operative cost him quality family time causing a rift between him and son until it cost him his wife's life. His daughter is more understanding, but will his son ever forgive him, so hearts can mend, and they can enjoy their time left together? He helplessly watches as he losses the love of his life, his wife, just when she was meeting him for some well-deserved quality time, and he faces a retirement decision. But, as much as he would like to just quit the job that has cost him his family in more ways than one, a larger threat rears its ugly head. He has two grown children and a country to protect, so he's not able to call it quits just yet.

    A threat worse than 9/11 and someone at a top level in the NSA might be to blame. On his most dangerous mission, Jordan's deepest secret is revealed and his past confronts him head on, a secret he, himself, knew nothing about. The fate of his country hangs in the balance as he fights to discover who he can trust and depend upon, and his own life is at stake. The risks are high for homeland and family. He wants to be sure his son and daughter are protected and do not follow the same fate as his wife. He loses a best friend. His family home, where he raised his children, is blown to bits, and his uncle takes him in, only to have his own home bombed.

    An old love returns during the worse time of his life with a surprise from the past. The book ends like a serial, so I hope we find out what happens to Jordan, Cydya--his former love, and Katrina--someone from the past, as well as his two grown children, Christa and Ken. But, the book is a retelling of his first standalone novel. I felt the ending was too abrupt unless he plans a serial, since it left me with a hunger for more. And, I think it has potential for a great serial. His readers will want to know what happens to these characters as a family, perhaps a family saga. When a reader becomes involved with the characters, they can't help but want to know what happens to them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2010

    high five's from a reviewer

    "Rosemary and Uncle Dex had been the only people outside the NSA who even knew the name of the agency for which Jordan worked. And not even Rosemary (Jordan's wife) knew precisely what he did, except that he used disguises. She had never known about Cydya either. Dex Lee had." (p. 168)

    This spy thriller has a strong main character-Jordan Kirkwood, an intelligence operative. I was riveted by the dynamics of his life: having to constantly keep his head together when one wrong move or misjudgment could be fatal while, at the same time, regrets, conflicts, and secrets churned relentlessly in his soul. His job demanded he trust no one, which ultimately took a toll on his family and his faith in God. His real-life struggles are deep and honest, drawing in the reader.

    Jenkins used his imagination and did his research to make this a plausible scenario in our post 9/11 world. The page-turner chapter endings and startling twists made me want to jump to the last page more than once, but I resisted. Instead, I let the story take me there and I am glad I waited. Men and women readers will enjoy the action and mystery, relationships and love.

    From a writer's point of view, the book has strong narrative. The characters are recognizable without having to say "Jordan said." The narrative makes it an easy read and one that the author "shows" not "tells". Rather than Jenkins telling the story, he moves out of the way to let the characters develop the plot themselves. This is such a well-written book that it should be used as a model in Jenkins' Writer's Guild courses.

    My only criticism is that it ended rather abruptly - the climactic threat to the world was resolved quickly and with little detail. The loose ends in the personal relationships were tied together in a way that lent itself to a "they lived happily ever after" end. I closed the book wanting more, which is good if a sequel is in the works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2010

    The Last Operative

    The Last Operative

    By Jerry B. Jenkins

    This book was about a man, Jordan Kirkwood, who works as an undercover operative with the NSA. He has been kept away from his family his whole career because of his job. When he finally gets the opportunity to take a break and go on a vacation with his wife, something terrible happens. I'll let you read it and find out what happens. In the aftermath, Jordan finds out that there are fighter planes hiding out in a bunker in the U.S. Problem is, they aren't American planes. They belong to an Islam extremist group. And someone within the NSA is somehow involved. So the book is about Jordan trying to figure out who he can trust, trying to stop these planes from being unleashed on U.S. soil, all while trying to repair his relationship with his basically estranged children.

    The plot itself was a good plot. It is similar to a Clancy-Grisham-Cussler political thriller type novel. One thing I did like about it is that you can tell it was written by a Christian. In the book, Jordan and several other characters are professed Christians. Jordan turns to his faith when dealing with the tragedy that he experiences. It is a topic that is brought up frequently in the dialogues. Because of this, there is no language or explicit or suggestive content. Which is more than I can say for the Clancy-Grisham-Cussler that I've read.

    One thing I didn't like was that parts of the plot were not as developed as they should have been. You never find out the details about what happened or why it happened or who was involved how. Another thing was that the climax of the book wasn't very climactic. Like, they're in the middle of a stand-off with 4 bad guys against 2 good guys. Then, you turn the page and the bad guys have surrendered their weapons. What just happened? I remember turning back to make sure I hadn't skipped a page. In other books I've read, the main fight scene, which in real time lasts about 10 minutes, is drawn out over like, 50 pages. This one happened in like, 2. I felt a little gipped (sp?) Also, at the very end, you think that another plot line is about to start up in like, the last 50 pages. The plot line had the potential to be good, but it was at the very end and so it just kinda fizzled out into nothing. I thought it was pointless to even go there. If the author was just looking to fill pages, he could have developed the main plot a lot more. Then he could have taken that second plot and done a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2010

    Left me on the edge of my seat!

    I was kind of leery about opening the cover of the novel "The Last Operative" by Jerry Jenkins. I am not your typical fan of any kind of spy type or mystery story or even movie for that matter. But I figured that I would give it a chance, after all the author is Jerry Jenkins, surely he would not disappoint!

    Soon after I read the first chapter of this book, I found myself wrapped up in traveling the world with character Jordan Kirkwood on a mission to save his country, while he healed the deep pain within his own heart. Jerry Jenkins did a splendid job on keeping me on the edge of my seat as to the mystery of who Jordan could trust ultimately with his life, and the life of his family.

    This is a fabulous summer read. I highly recommend this book as a sit out on your front porch kick back and relax kind of novel. I would love to see even more of the life of Jordan Kirkwood and other character's of this novel come alive in future novels. Any plans for that in the future Jerry? Hint, hint.

    Splendid job Jerry Jenkins, you changed my outlook on this genre on writing! Fantastic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    character driven taut thriller

    For the past two decades, Jordan Kettering has worked as an NSA field analyst. His job made him a stranger to his wife, daughter and son. To make up for his neglect when the kids were growing up, Jordan arranges to meet his spouse at Heathrow Airport for a European vacation. Before Jordon goes to the airport, he meets with author Stanley Stewart, who insists there are MIGs in a Quonset hut brought there by al Qaeda to use them to attack the United States after missiles are smuggled into the country.

    At Heathrow, a sniper opens fires on Jordan wife and the man she is talking to killing many bystanders. While being debriefed in DC, Jordan meets with his former handler Chuck Wallington. He learns that Stanley was murdered too. Irate and grieving Jordon hides at his Uncle Denton's house. Wallington conceives a plan to stop the missiles from being loaded on a ship in Ecuador, but the enemy is one step ahead of the American counteragents. Kettering ponders whether NSA has a mole working for the enemy as time is running out to prevent the worst attack on American soil since 9/11.

    The Last Operative is a rewriting of Jerry B. Jenkins' first stand-alone The Operative written two decades ago and freshened with a revision of the political situations since the original publication. The story line is a pulse pumping thriller starring a fascinating patriot who goes about his dangerous mission with no time to stop to mourn his loss; yet consequently he remains in the early stages of grief compounded by remorse and regret as he for the first time questions the personal cost. Nathan Hale stated that his only regret was he could only give one life for his country, but that was comparatively easy as Hale bravely gave his own. Loaded with action, this is a character driven taut thriller as the hero faces personal demons he puts on hold while he confronts those killers who claim God on their side while murdering his children.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1