Customer Reviews for

The Last Picture Show

Average Rating 3.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Summary and critique of 'The Last Picture Show' by Larry McMurtry.

¿The Last Picture Show¿ by Larry McMurtry is about a sixteen-year-old boy, Sonny Crawford, set in the 1950¿s. Sonny and his best friend Duane live in Thalia, Texas, a very small, boring town; and they just try to find fun wherever they can. They have a lot of exciting,...
¿The Last Picture Show¿ by Larry McMurtry is about a sixteen-year-old boy, Sonny Crawford, set in the 1950¿s. Sonny and his best friend Duane live in Thalia, Texas, a very small, boring town; and they just try to find fun wherever they can. They have a lot of exciting, adolescent adventures together; but when life and other distractions get in their path, it leaves both of them feeling very lonely and depressed. The author, Larry McMurtry, is an outstanding author. He did an awesome job at portraying the theme which is terrible things can happen to anyone. Sonny and his best friend go through many hardships such as friends dying, things changing, and them being loyal to each other. The characters in the book are very realistic which always makes a book better.

posted by Anonymous on April 27, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Man Cannot Live on Plot Alone

I am giving this book 3 stars because I reserve 4 stars for great books and 5 stars for perfect books. Having grown up in Texas, I expected McMurtry to more fully capture the sweet nostalgia of southern adolescence. The book is character-driven, yet somehow lacks the ...
I am giving this book 3 stars because I reserve 4 stars for great books and 5 stars for perfect books. Having grown up in Texas, I expected McMurtry to more fully capture the sweet nostalgia of southern adolescence. The book is character-driven, yet somehow lacks the degree of emotion that would have made it truly great. Also, there's a whole lotta' sex, and a lot of it is not 'sexy' sex (if you've read this, I'm talking about the cow scene and the Mexico scene). The characters are basal and, for the most part, one dimensional. I realize I'm knocking what many consider a fine American novel but after hearing my professors sing the praises of the great Larry McMurtry, I was a bit let down. If you read this book, please don't assume that Texas really is a vast wasteland of tiny towns populated by bored teenagers with a penchant for blind heiffers.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2006

    Man Cannot Live on Plot Alone

    I am giving this book 3 stars because I reserve 4 stars for great books and 5 stars for perfect books. Having grown up in Texas, I expected McMurtry to more fully capture the sweet nostalgia of southern adolescence. The book is character-driven, yet somehow lacks the degree of emotion that would have made it truly great. Also, there's a whole lotta' sex, and a lot of it is not 'sexy' sex (if you've read this, I'm talking about the cow scene and the Mexico scene). The characters are basal and, for the most part, one dimensional. I realize I'm knocking what many consider a fine American novel but after hearing my professors sing the praises of the great Larry McMurtry, I was a bit let down. If you read this book, please don't assume that Texas really is a vast wasteland of tiny towns populated by bored teenagers with a penchant for blind heiffers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2005

    Summary and critique of 'The Last Picture Show' by Larry McMurtry.

    ¿The Last Picture Show¿ by Larry McMurtry is about a sixteen-year-old boy, Sonny Crawford, set in the 1950¿s. Sonny and his best friend Duane live in Thalia, Texas, a very small, boring town; and they just try to find fun wherever they can. They have a lot of exciting, adolescent adventures together; but when life and other distractions get in their path, it leaves both of them feeling very lonely and depressed. The author, Larry McMurtry, is an outstanding author. He did an awesome job at portraying the theme which is terrible things can happen to anyone. Sonny and his best friend go through many hardships such as friends dying, things changing, and them being loyal to each other. The characters in the book are very realistic which always makes a book better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    recommended

    Good novel, interesting character development. Ulike other McMurtry books. A good read that holds one's interest. Ending was a bit abrupt, but didn't detract from the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2003

    ...The Last Picture Show...

    This book was interesting and sexual in nature. This illustrated young adolescents growing up. The last picture show is a true demonstration of how life can throw curb balls your way at any time. I although there is strong sexual content throughtout the book, it describes in great detail on every aspect.Truly a great novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2003

    ..The Last Picture Show..

    This book was interesting and focused on many different aspects of teenage life in a rural area in Texas. The story was stuffed with sexual content throught the entire piece. It was great reading and had marvelous descriptions of characters, especially the main character McMurtry made feel like you really knew him in every day life, Sonny. He was the life of the story. Ruth the coaches wife and Sonny's love affiar partner with a need for something eventful to happen in her life, Duane and his love for Jacy, Jacy and her love for Bobby sheen and popularity. This book was a little twisted view on teenage life. Altogether I belive Larry McMurtry did an excellent job on his discription and metaphors. I would recommend this book for a few laughs and for people whom enjoy reading about everyday life. Life that isn't jam packed with.cell phones, Television and the internet. When the hobbies included hanging around the poolhall and socializing at the drive-in-(also for people who don't mind blunt sexual content and undertones).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2002

    For those who are very horny

    Nothing new in this book. There aren't really any moral lessons to be learned, and you don't really see a point of view that startals you. Most of the novel consists of teenage boys screwing blind cows. The characters are cool, but not deep, and their feelings are rather shallow. It was an OK book, but definitly wasn't worth my time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2002

    small town Amreica

    This book is a powerful book we must consider the era it was written in. Some of these things were never spoken about. I find Sonny a appealing charter in the book and Jacy your usual rich snob. Loi is your likeable town slut

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2002

    McMurthy's Big Hit!

    This book is a classic. I have never read such a book with so much reality in it. Every little detail is so realistic. You can go back in time and relate to your high school years. (I know I did)A book that anyone can enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2001

    Classic McMurtry!

    Larry McMurtry¿s ¿The Last Picture Show¿ as a novel is admittedly autobiographical and the characters he introduces us to, he later admitted, are also based (loosely, he says!) on real people. This is the story of vibrant young people in the not-so-vibrant West Texas town of Thalia. A true coming-of-age and rites of passage story, we find Duane Moore, pal Sonny, and girlfriend Jacy at true crossroads of life. They are ready to enter adulthood but they are stuck literally in the middle of nowhere, a dying, last of the old timer-towns in dusty West Texas. But as Grace Metalious earlier showed us that beneath the surface of a small town lies a much more involved--even disgusting--involvement and the secrets that lie there do not need to be uncovered. Uncovered they are, of course, as McMurtry--perhaps on a personal mission of his own--is not content to live with the status quo. He takes the ennui of everyday life in a small town and, after careful study, surgically exposes them, for better or for worse. This is not a ¿they lived happily ever after¿ accounting. It is a tumbleweed infested, drought eroded, down-and-out account of the lives of his protagonist, who find (but they¿ve never really expected anything more) that the world is not lit by candlelight, but by lighting, as Tennesse Williams wrote. They view--but never understand--the mysteries of sex and of love. With McMurtry¿s sometimes not so subtle humor, these realities are somewhat softened. But it is this exposure to the realities of life--its disappointments and depressions--that carries ¿The Last Picture Show.¿

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2000

    A Slice of Life

    This book has a wonderful way of showing the life in west Texas in the early 50's at this time the state was in a oil boom and the paths of peoples lives effected by this. It is very ture what happened in the small town of west Tx. If you would like to see the place that it was filmed you can go to Archer City,Tx.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2