Customer Reviews for

The Last Precinct (Kay Scarpetta Series #11)

Average Rating 4
( 161 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Better and better...

This was the first "Scarpetta" book I read; sent to me mistakenly by a book club I belonged to. It hooked me on the series. Going back now after so many years and so many of Cornwall's books, I remember why I was so entranced. The reread, knowing the characters like ...
This was the first "Scarpetta" book I read; sent to me mistakenly by a book club I belonged to. It hooked me on the series. Going back now after so many years and so many of Cornwall's books, I remember why I was so entranced. The reread, knowing the characters like I now do, is even better.

posted by 7778205 on October 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommend to fans and newbies alike

A continuation of Kay's life after Benton's death, her attempted murder by Chandonne and the same attention to detail in the autopsies she performs. I love the way Patricia weaves her stories.

posted by 14546877 on July 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 161 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Better and better...

    This was the first "Scarpetta" book I read; sent to me mistakenly by a book club I belonged to. It hooked me on the series. Going back now after so many years and so many of Cornwall's books, I remember why I was so entranced. The reread, knowing the characters like I now do, is even better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Highly recommend to fans and newbies alike

    A continuation of Kay's life after Benton's death, her attempted murder by Chandonne and the same attention to detail in the autopsies she performs. I love the way Patricia weaves her stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    Loved it!

    Kept me coming back to see what would happen next. Can't wait to read next book in the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Last Precinct

    I've become a true fan of Patricia Cornwell's writings over the years, and this Kay Scarpetta book reminded me once more why I read some of these titles more than once and why I patiently wait for the next Scarpetta book to come to print. Lots going on in this book, and I couldn't wait to see it all play out. From the beginning when Kay moves out of her home, following the attack on her in the book just prior, Black Notice, to the end when she sits facing the jury, I was hooked. Even though you can pick up one of the Scarpetta books and get right into it, I would begin with the very first -- Postmortem.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2006

    My Fav Cornwell Novel!

    After I read Black Notice I couldn't go another day without reading TLP. This book was amazing. It goes deeper into detail about what happened it past books. This book changes Scarpetta's life forever!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    LOVED IT!

    I'm on book 17

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Another great Scarpetta book

    Another great Scarpetta book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Io

    Hlb,jl
    Uo

    Yo

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Fantastic!!!

    Couldn't put it down! One of my favorite Kay Scarpetta books by far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    A little too introspective

    I got a Nook for Christmas with some books installed. I've read most of the Scarpetta books, so this was a logical choice. I have really enjoyed Patricia Cornwell, though not quite as much lately.

    This book has all of the main cast: Marino and Lucy, and brings back the Werewolf - which I enjoyed. Cornwell is a wonderful writer, and for the most part I enjoyed the book, which deals with solving old cases attributed to the Werewolf himself.

    However, some parts moved very slowly for me. The parts dealing with her shrink went on too long - forever it seemed. I enjoy getting into a characters head, but this was a little too much. Also, I really like the Lucy character, but I already get her sexual orientation. I don't think it's necessary to give it such extensive treatment every book.

    That said, I did enjoy getting a little more detail on Kay and her relationships, but think it could have been delivered by a tighter story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2011

    Highly recommend this book.

    Love the Kay Scarpetta series -- and this one didn't disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Makes you wonder:)

    I'm hooked on Kay Scarpetta....I had received "Scarpetta" for Christmas its first year; couldn't read it until I had purchased or borrowed everyone in the proper sequence...I'm now on "Blow Fly" - love 'em all:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    thriller

    Great book that I read long time ago and now bought for my husband to enjoy. Much better than her new book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another good Scarpetta story

    Outstanding story by Patricia Cornwell, as usual.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    We have loved all the Scarpetta novels but Last Precinct was so much better.

    Finally in this book Cornwell has let her characters evolve into realistic beings.,,they settle into their own skins, so to speak, and seem to like themselves more. The plot, as always, is outstanding - one never solves these books before the last page or two. A very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2005

    Not up to Cornwell standards

    I was disappointed by this book. I have read all of her other books and couldn't put them down. This one seemed to drag on. There didn't seem to be a real plot just a bunch of reflections on the past.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2005

    Okay, but not a must read

    I've read a majority of her books and they are all okay, but not great. They are all supsenseful enough and good mysteries, but I have trouble relating to the characters and sometimes Scarpetta's actions are not what I would expect from someone so highly educated. I will say however, that this book was the exception as it focused more on the raw emotion someone would expect to go through during her situation. I was able to finally understand Scarpetta and her reactions to her experience were believable. Her previous books really didn't have me rooting for her 100 percent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2005

    The characters are maddeningly irrational

    I have read all of the previous Scarpetta books, some of them twice. I've also read some of Cornwell's other police procedurals set in Charlotte. Enjoyed them all. However, I stopped reading this one after getting into Chapter Three. The characters are no longer believable as real, effective, functioning, rational people. Scarpetta is supposed to be a high-powered, highly intelligent, successful doctor and scientist, although it has always been clear that she has some problems handling the political interactions required by her position as Chief Medical Examiner for the state of Virginia. Now, however, she is racked with self-doubt and insecurity about---everything. This behavior started a couple of novels back, but it has become insufferable at this point. Her niece has now been transformed from a likable young woman to a whining over-achiever who apparently has been singled out by the FBI for punishment, not for acting inappropriately, but for showing self-restraint during an arrest. The resulting behavior of both women is where the book loses me. They seem to be wallowing in self-pity and anger, unable to deal rationally with their problems. They aren't reacting in any way as real people with their credentials would react to their situations. In short, they've become different paople from the ones we were attracted to in earlier books. Cornwell's novels have gone farther and farther away from police procedurals with interesting character development, and come closer and closer to psychological studies about the effects of Lesbianism, political ambition, and criminal threats on the careers and lives of two weak women, Scarpetta and her niece. Sort of the literary equivalent of Soap Operas. I may try to dig into this novel again someday, but right now I have many other books I'd rather spend my time with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2004

    'Blow Fly' was better...

    I read 'The Last Precinct' after reading 'Blow Fly' and I found it slow and rather boring. The majority of the book is all in conversational flash backs to the prior books. I didn't think it was that good and was disappointed by this one. You could skip this book and not miss much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2003

    she's done it again

    I have read most of her books and loved every one of them. Some of her stories can seem a bit far-fetched but she pulls it off and most of the time you don't even realize that they are because she has brought you into the story in such a natural way. Since there has been enough reviewers that have given you an idea of the story all I'll do is to tell you that I thought it was a good book and will keep you on your toes the whole way through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 161 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9