Customer Reviews for

The Last Precinct (Kay Scarpetta Series #11)

Average Rating 4
( 161 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Better and better...

This was the first "Scarpetta" book I read; sent to me mistakenly by a book club I belonged to. It hooked me on the series. Going back now after so many years and so many of Cornwall's books, I remember why I was so entranced. The reread, knowing the characters like ...
This was the first "Scarpetta" book I read; sent to me mistakenly by a book club I belonged to. It hooked me on the series. Going back now after so many years and so many of Cornwall's books, I remember why I was so entranced. The reread, knowing the characters like I now do, is even better.

posted by 7778205 on October 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommend to fans and newbies alike

A continuation of Kay's life after Benton's death, her attempted murder by Chandonne and the same attention to detail in the autopsies she performs. I love the way Patricia weaves her stories.

posted by 14546877 on July 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Last Precinct

    I've become a true fan of Patricia Cornwell's writings over the years, and this Kay Scarpetta book reminded me once more why I read some of these titles more than once and why I patiently wait for the next Scarpetta book to come to print. Lots going on in this book, and I couldn't wait to see it all play out. From the beginning when Kay moves out of her home, following the attack on her in the book just prior, Black Notice, to the end when she sits facing the jury, I was hooked. Even though you can pick up one of the Scarpetta books and get right into it, I would begin with the very first -- Postmortem.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2006

    My Fav Cornwell Novel!

    After I read Black Notice I couldn't go another day without reading TLP. This book was amazing. It goes deeper into detail about what happened it past books. This book changes Scarpetta's life forever!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    LOVED IT!

    I'm on book 17

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Io

    Hlb,jl
    Uo

    Yo

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Fantastic!!!

    Couldn't put it down! One of my favorite Kay Scarpetta books by far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Makes you wonder:)

    I'm hooked on Kay Scarpetta....I had received "Scarpetta" for Christmas its first year; couldn't read it until I had purchased or borrowed everyone in the proper sequence...I'm now on "Blow Fly" - love 'em all:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another good Scarpetta story

    Outstanding story by Patricia Cornwell, as usual.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    We have loved all the Scarpetta novels but Last Precinct was so much better.

    Finally in this book Cornwell has let her characters evolve into realistic beings.,,they settle into their own skins, so to speak, and seem to like themselves more. The plot, as always, is outstanding - one never solves these books before the last page or two. A very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2003

    she's done it again

    I have read most of her books and loved every one of them. Some of her stories can seem a bit far-fetched but she pulls it off and most of the time you don't even realize that they are because she has brought you into the story in such a natural way. Since there has been enough reviewers that have given you an idea of the story all I'll do is to tell you that I thought it was a good book and will keep you on your toes the whole way through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2003

    Another standing ovation for Patricia Cornwell.

    I can't get enough. The Last Precinct gripped my nerves, fueled my emotion and left me wanting more. I've read all of the books in the Scarpetta series now and find myself wanting to know when the next in the series will be released.... I can't wait. I love all of the characters, I cried when one of my favorite characters died. The detail Patricia provides in the investigations makes me feel a part of it. Keep them coming, please!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2002

    Another great book from Patricia Cornwell

    I must say that I always enjoy Patricia Cornwell's books. This one was very descriptive and it really gave me the chance to deeply explore Kay Scarpetta's personality. A must for all fans like me then. Interesting charachters like Kamie Berger and the so LOVED Lucy Farinelli. I think I'm in love with that girl :-) My advice is....... READ IT!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2002

    The best again!!

    I don't know how people can say that this was boring and a waste of space. I think this is one of her better ones and the time her new one comes out can't come quick enough. I hope to god she doesn't kill Marino off. He is one of the best characters. I hope she carries on writing the way she does!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2002

    Absolutely the Top..

    I have loved all of The Kay Scarpetta Books. This was the greatest book yet... I cannot wait until the next one comes out...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2001

    LOVED IT!!!

    As with all the rest of PC's books, I couldn't put this one down. I CANNOT wait for the next Scarpetta novel!!! Please hurry!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2001

    classic battle between good and evil

    This is your classic battle between good and evil, set in a terrific criminal justice setting. Couldn't put it down!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2001

    One of the best Scarpetta books I've read yet....

    I could not put this book down!!! Held my attention with all the twists and turns and surprises. I recommend this book to all Kay Scarpetta readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2001

    RIVETTING. KEEPS YOU ON THE EDGE

    LIKE ALL THE OTHER SCARPETTA BOOKS,I JUST COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN.DON'T LEAVE US HANGING MS CORNWELL. CAN'TWAIT FOR THE NEXT INSTALLMENT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2001

    Scarpetta Carries On

    Patricia Cornwell continues to be engaging and calculating in her writing. I appreciate the believability of her investigating dramas, and I've grown very fond of all her main characters. I anxiously await the next book to find out what the future holds for Scarpetta and her career as medical examiner...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2001

    Thrilling

    I have read all of Cornwell's Scarpetta books. They just keep getting better and better. The book never gives you a chance to catch your breath, it just goes from one situation to the next. Another heads up book by Cornwell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2001

    better that the others

    I couldnt wait to read this book. i have waited a year. now i will have to wait another year for another smash hit. It gets better and better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4