Customer Reviews for

The Last Report on the Miracles at Little No Horse

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    Spellbound

    Enchanting spirit, endearing characters with such deep revelation of their fears, strengths, greatness and human brokeness. Fr. Damian is a real piece of cake with so much to give yet there are rules that hold him back. Rules of his own making, rules imposed upon him by society and rock solid institutions. I think any person finds this in life. Choices of how one deals with it has consequenses. The author spells this out giving each letter breath, and each word spirit.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    Wonderful book

    I absolutely adored this book. It was assigned reading for a class on Women Writers and I devoured every page.

    Erdrich is a talented, imaginative author and the story she tells is both interesting and intricate.

    I enjoyed the book so much I have asked my professors and fellow classmates to join me in an Erdrich book club this semester. We are all excited about it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2004

    Breath-taking read!

    I can not say enough about the power, beauty and honesty of this story. Anyone wanting to search the human soul will do well to read this...and then read it again. It has the mystery, intensity and depth of another favorite book of mine: Walking the Trail, One Man's Journey Along the Cherokee Trail of Tears, by Jerry Ellis.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2001

    A#10 STAR,DISCUSS AROUND THE WATERCOOLER BOOK, you will want to discuss this book with your friends............

    I couldn't put this book down. It took me for a delightful spin as the fictional events unfolded. I liked the main character and the supporting characters that Ms. Erdrich created. I never guessed where it was going or where it would end. It made me examine my core beliefs and it made me laugh...I think it's in the same realm as Angels Ashes & should get a Pulitzer. Can't get much better than this. Also, ( the real test for me ) I will buy this book for friends...and I want to read more of her works. She is like Kingsolver, creating a story that is easy to read, yet thought provoking. You become the authors captive. This would be a good book for any book group to read. Buy and enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    Enjoyed very much.

    A "grounding" story.
    Pragmatic and absurd at the same time.
    Enjoyed story. Only one point did it bog down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2013

    Reading this book will make you more human... The spiritual, soc

    Reading this book will make you more human... The spiritual, social, and practical changes that came to North Dakota between 1910 and the present are described in the most lyrical way. Father Damien embodies many contradictions (woman and man; Catholic and Ojibwe world views; passion and endurance.) and yet life is unified in a seamless quest for the divine. Erdrich's descriptions of hunger, violence, and mental anguish are rivetting. Never sentimental, the whole book is infused with love. I plan to read it over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2008

    Not literature, its more... This book is magic

    This book is the native american answer to Gunter Grass's Tin Drum. The main character of this book is the delightful, ancient and quirky Fr. Damien who is not quite what he seems. This book will make you laugh, cry and believe. The characters are so alive and real, so vital. I am a voracious reader and this book is one of the very best you will ever read. Few better. Only one thing did irritate me about this book. It had to end. And what the heck,I nominate Fr. Damien for Beatification.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2006

    Story telling at its finest!

    This is perhaps the only book I have ever read almost completely and then started over so I could savor it again. The first time I read it, I did not finish the last two chapters, but immediately started from the beginning to make sure I didn't miss anything! Beautifully written, a masterpiece of sorts! This book would make a great reading group project! Highly recommeded if you love superb character development and outstanding details!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2001

    Boldly Imaginative, Compassionate

    Louise Erdrich always blows me away, and this novel is her best yet. She has such a wild, quirky, and bold vision of the world -- and so much compassion for human flaws!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2001

    Erdrich at her best.

    Louise Erdrich is at her best here, and from me - the one who hands everyone a copy of the Beet Queen - that is high praise. This is about a person who must life a lie on the outside in order to be true to her own self. Typcally, Erdrich's characters are endearing despite themselves and leave you with a feeling both that you've visited a magic kingdom, and that you've been there before. Other books that have left me with this feeling are Sights by Susanna Vance (supposedly a YA book, but don't you believe it) and One Hundred Secret Senses by Amy Tan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2001

    EVERLASTING MYSTICISM

    I cannot begin to describe this book. Nothing I say will give it proper credit. So far this is one of the best books I have read this year; not at all a sleeper book. It kept me involved in all the everlasting mysticism and renowned characters; and never once does she stray from her signature, poetic voice. I hope this walks away with at least one literary achievement award.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2001

    What a page turner!!

    I couldn't put this book down. I read it in the course of two nights. I just bought two more books by the same author, and can't wait to read them. I strongly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2001

    Wonderful

    This is a great book. Spellbinding. Yet down to earth characters. I love Erdrich's style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2