Customer Reviews for

The Last Romanov

Average Rating 3.5
( 335 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(107)

3 Star

(56)

2 Star

(45)

1 Star

(37)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

56 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

I Absolutely LOVED this book!!!

I was immediately swept up in the story. It grabs you from the start. I loved how the author stays true to the history of the time, while at the same time creating such a dramatic and heart-wrenching story. There are so many different factors in the life of the main cha...
I was immediately swept up in the story. It grabs you from the start. I loved how the author stays true to the history of the time, while at the same time creating such a dramatic and heart-wrenching story. There are so many different factors in the life of the main character, Darya, such as love, wisdom, and of course, her past that she must now face, and yet it isn't too much to swallow. It is just the right amount. How Mossanen has delved so deeply into Darya's life while at the same time staying true to the political history of the time without even making the history seem boring is a mystery and a miracle.

posted by 13645136 on June 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

46 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

Story is lost in excessive detail...

Read the book for a book club - I found this to be a difficult book to finish. The author's excessive use of detail didn't add anything to the plot or the development of characters. I'm not all that familiar with historical based fiction, and was sincerely looking for...
Read the book for a book club - I found this to be a difficult book to finish. The author's excessive use of detail didn't add anything to the plot or the development of characters. I'm not all that familiar with historical based fiction, and was sincerely looking forward to seeing how the two can mix. The weave of history was more interesting than the fictional story.

I'm still struggling to figure out what the author was going for. Is this a love story? Is this a story about loss? Is it a story about mystical magic? Is this about history? Too many questions unanswered, and an extremely disappointing ending.

posted by 12496476 on May 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 335 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    I Absolutely LOVED this book!!!

    I was immediately swept up in the story. It grabs you from the start. I loved how the author stays true to the history of the time, while at the same time creating such a dramatic and heart-wrenching story. There are so many different factors in the life of the main character, Darya, such as love, wisdom, and of course, her past that she must now face, and yet it isn't too much to swallow. It is just the right amount. How Mossanen has delved so deeply into Darya's life while at the same time staying true to the political history of the time without even making the history seem boring is a mystery and a miracle.

    56 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    THE LAST ROMANOV by Dora Levy Mossanen is an impressive historic

    THE LAST ROMANOV by Dora Levy Mossanen is an impressive historical fiction set in Russia. This is the story of the Romanov’s,a Royal family and the orphan left behind. It is written with vivid descriptions and details that brings Imperial Russia,the Royal family and the Romanov’s to life. A story of mystery,redemption,prophecy,myths,a royal family,murder,second changes,magic and tragedy. So sit back and enjoy your journey with “The Last Romanov” you will not regret it and will learn volumes. Ms. Mossanen has a way of drawing the reader into this story as she weaves history with mystery,and magic. I would recommend “The Last Romanov” to anyone who enjoys history,Russian history,fantasy,Empress Alexandra,Anastasia,Tudor fiction,and Russian Royals. A wonderful read for all! Received for an honest review from the publisher. Details can be found at Sourcebooks Landmark,the author’s website,and My Book Addiction and More.
    RATING: 4
    HEAT RATING: SWEET
    REVIEWED BY: AprilR,My Book Addiction and More

    47 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Story is lost in excessive detail...

    Read the book for a book club - I found this to be a difficult book to finish. The author's excessive use of detail didn't add anything to the plot or the development of characters. I'm not all that familiar with historical based fiction, and was sincerely looking forward to seeing how the two can mix. The weave of history was more interesting than the fictional story.

    I'm still struggling to figure out what the author was going for. Is this a love story? Is this a story about loss? Is it a story about mystical magic? Is this about history? Too many questions unanswered, and an extremely disappointing ending.

    46 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Free Fridays

    IF YOU WANT TO COMPLAIN ABOUT FREE FRIDAY BOOKS, USE THE B&N BLOG. IT IS NOT FAIR TO GIVE A LOW RATING TO A BOOK YOU HAVE NOT READ JUST BECAUSE YOU DON'T LIKE THE CHOICE.

    20 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Loved it

    Fantastic story

    14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Really good

    Actually really good.excellent detail and interesting historical plot.loved it

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Fantastic book!

    This is a wonderful historical novel. Love it!

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Loved it!

    I purchased this book because I needed a something to read during my vacation. I had never read anything by this author before, but am a fan of historical novels.
    I loved it! It is well written, with great charecter development and an interesting perspective on known historical figures. The author blends fact and fiction seamlessly. I enjoyed the story so much that I didn't want to put it down, and finished the book in only 3 days.
    Better yet, I got the book on sale!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Disney jocked?

    Anyone else notice this sounds exactly like 'Anistasia' the kids movie that came out when everyone was in pull-ups?

    6 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Loved This Book--If you are interested in Russian/Tsar history,

    Loved This Book--If you are interested in Russian/Tsar history, this is a great historical fiction read.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    I recommend going to the back of the book and reading the Author

    I recommend going to the back of the book and reading the Author's Notes
    before reading this book; knowing Ms. Mossanen's backstory gives me
    additional respect for how she described the events in Darya's life and
    Darya's emotions as she watched her country self-destruct. I appreciate
    how well researched the book is, and I appreciate the historical
    figures sprinkled in the character list -- with true historical events
    that furthered the story line. This book is a fascinating look into
    the lavish manner in which the Romanovs lived and how naive they were
    about what was really important to the people of their country. A man in
    Nicholas II's position should have been more concerned about the
    economic well-being of the common people, and less concerned about
    preserving the monarchy. The book feels very "Russian;" it
    was depressing -- as so many Russian books are! Nevertheless, it kept
    drawing me back in, wondering what would happen next -- even knowing at
    least part how things ended. The reason I gave the book three stars is
    the occasional crude sexual content and occasional gutter language that
    I feel didn't enhance the book, but diminished it. I am subjected to
    more than enough of that sort of behavior/language everywhere else -- I
    don't want to read it in my books, too. I don't suppose it would bother
    most people, but it bothered me. I would have given it fours stars,
    otherwise. I would recommend this book to anyone who is not bothered by
    the above. Well written, unique (Definately Not Disney's
    "Anastasia!"), it piques one's interest to go find out what
    really happened -- to me, the sign of a very good book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    In Good read

    Great historical fiction with an interesting twist

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Loves!!!

    Wonderful! Beautifully written historical fiction. Stunning descriptions of the beauty, excess, and horrors at the end of the Romanov dynasty. A story of undying devotion and unquenchable love in the midst of a historic event that changed the world forever. I couldn't put it down. Highly recommend this novel!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Historical fiction at it's best!

    I am an avid reader of many generes including historical fiction and I absolutely adored this book! The mysticism gave what could have been a dusty plot some edge, yet never felt too silly or hokey. For those who have complained about the ( gasp!) "magic" or that this novel didn't have a happily ever after ending, you can stick to your predictable and cliche romance novels. I found this book to be heartbreaking, breathtaking, and entirely satisfying.

    And I have to point out to the people who complained that the author made the character of Rasputan too disgusting and gross: he was a REAL person who lived in the royal household and by most historical accounts was a filthy, drunk, womanizer who gave many people the willies (including those who plotted his demise) Why the tsarina was so devoted to him and how he was able to apparently "heal" the young tsaravitch is yet another of history's unsolved mysteries. There have been a few books and TV specials devoted to historians' theories on Rasputan. Don't criticize the author or penalize her book with low reviews based on her being historically accurate with the description of this character! And, once again, enjoy reading your pleasant and predictable grocery store bodice rippers! I'll stick with this clever and entertaining book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Anonymous

    Some readers call this book depressing, but the era in which the story takes place was depressing--the bolshevik revolution plunged Russia into mayhem, bloodshed, and deprivation almost as bad as the dynasty they overthrew. The murder of the Romanovs will forever be a stain on Russia's history. This book couldn't have been written any other way for it accurately reflects the times and the events as they occured. The addition of mysticism is poetic license that in a sense reinforces the story of Rasputin & his role in the downfall of the Romanovs. Well written.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Great book

    Historical fiction indeed! Being of Russian decent made this book even more interesting. I was able to look up people through my Nook to see the image of the people the author had been talking about. Great imaginary twist to the plot also.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Review

    The Romanovs' lives and deaths, the mystical Rasputin and the addition of the fictional Darya, the 100+ year old sorcereress, keeps the story fresh and entertaining. Although fiction, this rendering of the last Tsar leaves you wanting to learn more about this time in Russian history.

    A must read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    Good Historical Fiction

    I'll admit to a limitless interest in the Romanovs and the fate of the Russian Royal Family. I still enjoyed this wonderful work of fiction, as the author included a pivotal character that made sense. That character, Darya,had the ear of the Empress, as well as care of the Tsarevich. The interactions between Darya and the Royal Family, Rasputin, various artists and political figures feel as though they could have happened.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Interesting read with a strange twist.

    If you have had a fascination with the Russian Revolution and the Romanov family this is different from anything I have read before.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Enthralling

    An emotional tide of hustory--sad and hopeful, peopled by unforgetable characters who draw the reader in until you can't shake them from your mind.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 335 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17