Customer Reviews for

The Last Romanov

Average Rating 3.5
( 334 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(106)

3 Star

(56)

2 Star

(45)

1 Star

(37)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

56 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

I Absolutely LOVED this book!!!

I was immediately swept up in the story. It grabs you from the start. I loved how the author stays true to the history of the time, while at the same time creating such a dramatic and heart-wrenching story. There are so many different factors in the life of the main cha...
I was immediately swept up in the story. It grabs you from the start. I loved how the author stays true to the history of the time, while at the same time creating such a dramatic and heart-wrenching story. There are so many different factors in the life of the main character, Darya, such as love, wisdom, and of course, her past that she must now face, and yet it isn't too much to swallow. It is just the right amount. How Mossanen has delved so deeply into Darya's life while at the same time staying true to the political history of the time without even making the history seem boring is a mystery and a miracle.

posted by 13645136 on June 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

46 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

Story is lost in excessive detail...

Read the book for a book club - I found this to be a difficult book to finish. The author's excessive use of detail didn't add anything to the plot or the development of characters. I'm not all that familiar with historical based fiction, and was sincerely looking for...
Read the book for a book club - I found this to be a difficult book to finish. The author's excessive use of detail didn't add anything to the plot or the development of characters. I'm not all that familiar with historical based fiction, and was sincerely looking forward to seeing how the two can mix. The weave of history was more interesting than the fictional story.

I'm still struggling to figure out what the author was going for. Is this a love story? Is this a story about loss? Is it a story about mystical magic? Is this about history? Too many questions unanswered, and an extremely disappointing ending.

posted by 12496476 on May 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 334 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    A little slow going but a fantastic web of story

    I love the character of Darya with all of her strength and intelligence. It is rare to find true loyalty in our time and nothing will dissuade her love for the romanov family. The characters shine in this novel, especially Darya and Avram. If you are a fan of historical fiction then this is a story you will enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Highly Recommend!

    If you enjoy historical fiction and are intrigued by the Romanovs' tragic story, then do yourself a favor and read this book. Well written with a new twist on "what if?"....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    I felt this book was an excellent blend of mystery, history and

    I felt this book was an excellent blend of mystery, history and magic with a big dose of ironic love thrown in. The main character was enchanting and the new twist to the Romanov mystery was refreshing. To throw a unexpected curve at the books ending was icing on top of the cake. The Romanov Family is an old mystery but with books as well written as this gives us another chance to look at them from a different perspective. Many thanks to the author, I really enjoyed the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    For me, it was boring. My wife, however, loved it!

    If you like historical novels with lots of characters from life, this is probably one you would like. My tastes are different. I actually thought I might like it, as I do like mysteries and novels with twists and turns. So I gave it a try, and after the first couple or three chapters I just found things I enjoyed more. Will I go back sometime and finish it? probably. I might even like it after I read more. That happened with Hawthorne's House of Seven Gables. Boring book until I waded three-quarters of the way through, then it caught.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Aimless obsession

    While I feel like the story started out with some kind of goal in mind (be it the power of love, the importance of tradtion, or just a semi-historical fiction with a reliance on mysticism), it soon devolved into a tale of one woman's obsession with the Tsarovic, and her refusal to accept changing political times.
    Her drive became one dimensional to the point of overshadowing any character development. This was not helped by the seemingly unfocused attention of the writing. I felt like there was a great amount of effort spent on describing various clothing and (only certain) environments, often to the neglect of other aspects. I personnaly felt that there was too much of that, though I can see how some might enjoy that.

    Tl,dr; I thought the book was meandering and unfocused, with too much attention to random detail.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Boring

    To dull to read past page 50 and I always read the whole book

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book with it's mix of historical fact

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book with it's mix of historical fact and fiction! I have always been fascinated by the Romanoff family and the legend of Anastatia surviving the murders. This was a very interesting twist on that event. The story pulls you in and really hoIds your interest. In an interesting footnote, as I finished the book, a news-story was on the internet last week( end of 8/12) that a boy in England found a large piece of ambergris

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Immerses you in the world of the Romanov's

    This novel grips you from the first page and thrusts you into the mind of Darya Borodina Spiridova, aunt, caregiver and protector of Alexei Nikolaevich, heir to the Czar. Is she really 104 years old? Why is she surrounded by butterflies? Is the boy she sheltered still alive years after the Revolution, despite his hemophilia? You have to know and to know you have to read Darya's tragic, but hopeful story. Loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Beautifully written!

    Having just come back from St Petersburg it was refreshing to read this book! I loved it! Beautifully describes the era, the people, the places and transfers you to a time when music, art and fashion were enforced. Most of the book describes actual historical events but the main character's life Darya is fictional and it makes a good read.
    I won't give the plot away, but highly recommend this book for losing yourself in a dreamy place in a rainy afternoon or a hot afternoon away from the kids

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    I could not even get into it.

    Bad

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Maybe

    If the nook color worked better I could actually read it! Sence the last"update" the thing is awful, no more wish list, no connections totally disgusted,nook people say its wi-fi-says its nook I say its nonsence and I paid$250.when it first came out, FIX IT!

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    skip this one

    I make it a rule never to put a book down until I have read it all. This one should have been an exception.

    Had too much wizard type action for me. Enjoyed the descriptions of clothing of the era.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Dissapointment

    I usually enjoy historical fiction and was prepared to enjoy this one. However, I was disappointed in the book. It moved slowly and was hard to follow.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Would not buy again from this author

    If this is a sample of this aurhor's work I won't be buying any more of his books. It could have been a good story with insight to how royalty lived back onto those days but I hated the one gross character so much I put the book away and didn't finish the last half. The story could have been just good with a "villain" who shaved and took baths. It is hard for me to believe the Czar would tolerate such an unkept creature in his household. The character could have been just as effective in clean clothes and brushed teeth. Ugh! Glad I bought it on sale. Too bad you can't return eBooks because I'd do it in a flash!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Highly Recommend - riveting story

    This is a very good book that put an interesting twist on the history of the Russian Revolution. I found that once I started it, I had a hard time putting it down until I turned the last page.

    After reading this book, I spent several days researching the Romanov rule and the Russian Revolution. The writer did her homework!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    great book please read

    I sort of et this one to the side thinking that I would not be able to get into it, because I am the kind of reader that likes to get interested after the first chapter. It was great. Sorry that I put it on hold and was sad when it was through.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Highly Recommended....a must read page turner!

    I truly enjoyed this work of historical fiction. As a child, I had seen the movie "Anastasia" and used to wonder what if? As I read this book I got online and looked up Russian history, royal family trees and was transported to this other time and place. It was well written, entertaining and brought the period to life. Upon finishing the book, I felt compelled to reread the beginning now that I knew which characters would be pivotal to which plot twists. Wish there were more like it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Intriguing

    While it was a fictionalized story about true people
    I enjoyed the history part of it. It fit well with a time in history
    My daughter is studying.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Interesting

    Interesting twists. I did not want to put it down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Highly recommend

    I loved this book. The fact that it was free was just the icing on the cake. An extremely enjoyable novel that was based directly on history. Good stuff! I will definitely read it again someday!!! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 334 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 17