BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Last Romanov

Average Rating 3.5
( 337 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(107)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(45)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

56 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

I Absolutely LOVED this book!!!

I was immediately swept up in the story. It grabs you from the start. I loved how the author stays true to the history of the time, while at the same time creating such a dramatic and heart-wrenching story. There are so many different factors in the life of the main cha...
I was immediately swept up in the story. It grabs you from the start. I loved how the author stays true to the history of the time, while at the same time creating such a dramatic and heart-wrenching story. There are so many different factors in the life of the main character, Darya, such as love, wisdom, and of course, her past that she must now face, and yet it isn't too much to swallow. It is just the right amount. How Mossanen has delved so deeply into Darya's life while at the same time staying true to the political history of the time without even making the history seem boring is a mystery and a miracle.

posted by 13645136 on June 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

46 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

Story is lost in excessive detail...

Read the book for a book club - I found this to be a difficult book to finish. The author's excessive use of detail didn't add anything to the plot or the development of characters. I'm not all that familiar with historical based fiction, and was sincerely looking for...
Read the book for a book club - I found this to be a difficult book to finish. The author's excessive use of detail didn't add anything to the plot or the development of characters. I'm not all that familiar with historical based fiction, and was sincerely looking forward to seeing how the two can mix. The weave of history was more interesting than the fictional story.

I'm still struggling to figure out what the author was going for. Is this a love story? Is this a story about loss? Is it a story about mystical magic? Is this about history? Too many questions unanswered, and an extremely disappointing ending.

posted by 12496476 on May 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    I recommend going to the back of the book and reading the Author

    I recommend going to the back of the book and reading the Author's Notes
    before reading this book; knowing Ms. Mossanen's backstory gives me
    additional respect for how she described the events in Darya's life and
    Darya's emotions as she watched her country self-destruct. I appreciate
    how well researched the book is, and I appreciate the historical
    figures sprinkled in the character list -- with true historical events
    that furthered the story line. This book is a fascinating look into
    the lavish manner in which the Romanovs lived and how naive they were
    about what was really important to the people of their country. A man in
    Nicholas II's position should have been more concerned about the
    economic well-being of the common people, and less concerned about
    preserving the monarchy. The book feels very "Russian;" it
    was depressing -- as so many Russian books are! Nevertheless, it kept
    drawing me back in, wondering what would happen next -- even knowing at
    least part how things ended. The reason I gave the book three stars is
    the occasional crude sexual content and occasional gutter language that
    I feel didn't enhance the book, but diminished it. I am subjected to
    more than enough of that sort of behavior/language everywhere else -- I
    don't want to read it in my books, too. I don't suppose it would bother
    most people, but it bothered me. I would have given it fours stars,
    otherwise. I would recommend this book to anyone who is not bothered by
    the above. Well written, unique (Definately Not Disney's
    "Anastasia!"), it piques one's interest to go find out what
    really happened -- to me, the sign of a very good book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Intriguing

    While it was a fictionalized story about true people
    I enjoyed the history part of it. It fit well with a time in history
    My daughter is studying.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2014

    LOVED IT. "This is more than art.  This is magic."

    LOVED IT.




    "This is more than art.  This is magic."—page 123




    I've had a longtime fascination with the 'idea' of the Grand Duchess Anastasia Nikolaevna, so a novel entitled, THE LAST ROMANOV (not about Anastasia, this time, but about her younger brother, the Tsarevich Alexei Nikolaevich Romanov), by Dora Levy Mossanen, seemed a good choice.  It was.  An excellent one.




    With fetching characters and compelling prose, Ms Mossanen weaves an engaging tale of historical fiction, legend, myth and fantasy in the mode of magical realism—not one of my favorite modes, but in this instance it is captivating.  I'm still in love with, the forever seventeen-year-old, Anastasia, but now there's a fictional hundred-and-four-year-old, Darya Borisovna Spiridova competing for my affections.




    Recommendation:  This is one I was sorry to see end.  This would make a great book club read.




    "In these unstable times, when people are either afraid to talk or have no qualms about convicting innocent citizens, everyone is suspect"—page 41




    NOOKbook edition, 319 pages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Okay

    While this book is not uplifting, in fact bordering on downright depressing, it was still an interesting read. A good mix of storytelling along with historical fact.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Not bad...

    I liked how this story was fiction with a historical non fiction backround. It made for an interesting read. I would recommend it, especially to anyone who is into Russian history. Thanks B&N for another decent free Friday book :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting Twist to the Romanov Legacy

    Much has been written about the possibility of a surviving Romanov from the massacre at the hands of the Red Army. Ms Mossanen's addition of more magic and myth around Rasputin and the young Alexei's nanny is an interesting twist. An enjoyable read, to a fairy tale based on an historical event.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    SES

    An intriguing view of Russian history! The author seamlessly wove fact and fiction into a compelling story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    The Last Romanov

    It was ok but conflicted with other histirical account,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Slow

    The book had its positive points but was slow and confusing in areas. It was a decent piece of historical fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    interesting

    a good book, some history, found that some of the book was confusing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    A strange blend of supernatural and history

    I'm not even a novice in the Russian history field, but it seems that Mossanen seems to know places, times and situations as they regard the Romanovs. But the book is not so much historical as a strange blend of romance and the supernatural. Sometimes the writing is a little awkward and inconsistent. The history may turn off the supernatural reader and the supernatural may turn off the history reader. While it didn't turn me off particularly, I will probably not read anything else by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    recommened

    Enjoyed! Changed scenes many times,mystical, sexual but an interesting book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Enjoyable but not compelling

    Darya has a start of a fascinating protagonist but I found it hard to sympathize with her, making it difficult to get completely immersed in this well-written, beautifully researched story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    Interesting Story but....

    I love Russian history, especially the Romanov dynasty. I found this book to be interesting, a kind of twist between fact and the supernatural. The concepts in the book that were of the supernatural kind were very hard to figure out. I had to re-read pages and then give up and just keep going to finally many pages into it, I figured it out. Then sometimes go back and re-read passages again. A bit confusing to the say the least. I found it also hard to understand the central character. When I read a story a good author will give you clues to the space they are occupying, clues to the what the person looks like, so your minds eye can build an image that will hold you through the story. It wasn't till the last few pages that the image of the character came clear, which was weird as her other characters all had shape. I read the book a second time right away and think that this was deliberate, a way to keep her ethereal. She doesn't explain herself very well either. Concepts like referring to an opal eye. I thought her eyes were different, one was many colors to look like an opal. Then she described damage and again, you think - oh my she is hurt. You don't realize the reference to the opal eye is her supernatural ability and not explained very well. There are many such references that are this way. Almost like she thinks you know but you don't. I also had a problem with the place, she references a time period that is beyond the pale in a normal persons life and doesn't do a real good job explaining how her character can live so long until the end. She never explains how a Marxist society can allow an old woman from the Romanov dynasty to live in a very important location for that group one of their mansions, and never get kicked out or checked up on. And no explanation of why. I do recommend reading it for fun, her history is solid. Just don't think to much.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyed this as it is easily read as well as easy to get back into if have to put it aside for a lenght of time.

    A historical novel with a bit of fantasy which envelopes your imagination to the point of possibly being true.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Recommend

    Have not finished reading this but have enjoyed what I've read so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    surprising and imaginative

    give this book a chance, i bought the ebook at my local B&N after seeing the cover.... yup, i totally pick books by the cover. anyway, i like the offbeat way the story unfolds. we follow a character from before and after the russian revolution. i am really impressed with the suspense (wait, what happens?! i must keep reading!) and the balance of tragedy and hope that seems to follow the doomed romanovs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Strange

    A background in Russian history would have helped one follow this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Interesting time in history and this book reawakens all the questions.

    Characters and story line kept me reading. The authors notes clears up some details that were scientifically proven.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Interesting

    This book is great so far. I am about half way through and it has kept my attention the whole time. There are a few things that I have had to look up; but other than that, it's a great read. I would recommend it to friends. The author was great at detail to create the scene but not too much detail to overpower the story or bore the reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3