Customer Reviews for

Last Romanov

Average Rating 3.5
( 334 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(106)

3 Star

(56)

2 Star

(45)

1 Star

(37)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

56 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

I Absolutely LOVED this book!!!

I was immediately swept up in the story. It grabs you from the start. I loved how the author stays true to the history of the time, while at the same time creating such a dramatic and heart-wrenching story. There are so many different factors in the life of the main cha...
I was immediately swept up in the story. It grabs you from the start. I loved how the author stays true to the history of the time, while at the same time creating such a dramatic and heart-wrenching story. There are so many different factors in the life of the main character, Darya, such as love, wisdom, and of course, her past that she must now face, and yet it isn't too much to swallow. It is just the right amount. How Mossanen has delved so deeply into Darya's life while at the same time staying true to the political history of the time without even making the history seem boring is a mystery and a miracle.

posted by 13645136 on June 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

46 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

Story is lost in excessive detail...

Read the book for a book club - I found this to be a difficult book to finish. The author's excessive use of detail didn't add anything to the plot or the development of characters. I'm not all that familiar with historical based fiction, and was sincerely looking for...
Read the book for a book club - I found this to be a difficult book to finish. The author's excessive use of detail didn't add anything to the plot or the development of characters. I'm not all that familiar with historical based fiction, and was sincerely looking forward to seeing how the two can mix. The weave of history was more interesting than the fictional story.

I'm still struggling to figure out what the author was going for. Is this a love story? Is this a story about loss? Is it a story about mystical magic? Is this about history? Too many questions unanswered, and an extremely disappointing ending.

posted by 12496476 on May 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    THE LAST ROMANOV by Dora Levy Mossanen is an impressive historic

    THE LAST ROMANOV by Dora Levy Mossanen is an impressive historical fiction set in Russia. This is the story of the Romanov’s,a Royal family and the orphan left behind. It is written with vivid descriptions and details that brings Imperial Russia,the Royal family and the Romanov’s to life. A story of mystery,redemption,prophecy,myths,a royal family,murder,second changes,magic and tragedy. So sit back and enjoy your journey with “The Last Romanov” you will not regret it and will learn volumes. Ms. Mossanen has a way of drawing the reader into this story as she weaves history with mystery,and magic. I would recommend “The Last Romanov” to anyone who enjoys history,Russian history,fantasy,Empress Alexandra,Anastasia,Tudor fiction,and Russian Royals. A wonderful read for all! Received for an honest review from the publisher. Details can be found at Sourcebooks Landmark,the author’s website,and My Book Addiction and More.
    RATING: 4
    HEAT RATING: SWEET
    REVIEWED BY: AprilR,My Book Addiction and More

    47 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    In Good read

    Great historical fiction with an interesting twist

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    Good Historical Fiction

    I'll admit to a limitless interest in the Romanovs and the fate of the Russian Royal Family. I still enjoyed this wonderful work of fiction, as the author included a pivotal character that made sense. That character, Darya,had the ear of the Empress, as well as care of the Tsarevich. The interactions between Darya and the Royal Family, Rasputin, various artists and political figures feel as though they could have happened.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Interesting read with a strange twist.

    If you have had a fascination with the Russian Revolution and the Romanov family this is different from anything I have read before.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    A little slow going but a fantastic web of story

    I love the character of Darya with all of her strength and intelligence. It is rare to find true loyalty in our time and nothing will dissuade her love for the romanov family. The characters shine in this novel, especially Darya and Avram. If you are a fan of historical fiction then this is a story you will enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    great book please read

    I sort of et this one to the side thinking that I would not be able to get into it, because I am the kind of reader that likes to get interested after the first chapter. It was great. Sorry that I put it on hold and was sad when it was through.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Highly Recommended....a must read page turner!

    I truly enjoyed this work of historical fiction. As a child, I had seen the movie "Anastasia" and used to wonder what if? As I read this book I got online and looked up Russian history, royal family trees and was transported to this other time and place. It was well written, entertaining and brought the period to life. Upon finishing the book, I felt compelled to reread the beginning now that I knew which characters would be pivotal to which plot twists. Wish there were more like it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Interesting

    Interesting twists. I did not want to put it down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Best I've read in a long time

    Wow. Even though I knew the story was fiction I felt as if I was learning true history. I wanted the main character to be real.

    Worth reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    very good

    very good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2012

    Author Dora Levy Mossanen will have a wide audience for this boo

    Author Dora Levy Mossanen will have a wide audience for this book, the
    mystery behind the royal Romanov deaths is fascinating to so many. The
    author weaves a captivating tale starring Darya, a woman close to the
    Imperial Family. Early on, Rasputin imparts a disturbing prophecy to
    Darya...one that keeps Darya on her toes for decades. Constantly in
    search for Tsarevich Alexis, Darya's entire life is devoted to that one
    goal. Darya's character is interesting. She isn't the normal
    character one finds in books, she is intriguing to readers outside of
    the story and to characters inside of the story. Darya has a special
    place in her heart for Alexis as she looked after him in the Palace. She
    has one opal eye that apparently sees all and appears not to have aged a
    day. Darya's reasons for bringing back Alexis are not entirely selfish,
    she wishes to restore Mother Russia to her former glory. Her sheer
    determination and steely perseverance are traits to be admired and that
    will astound the reader. The other characters on not focused upon so
    much as characters in a history book, they are described and developed
    very well-the reader will feel close to many of them. The events in
    this book are exciting and fit together like puzzle pieces. The reader
    will be surprised by the twists and surprises in this novel. This book
    is recommended to young adult/adult readers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    This story was just wierd. I still don't really know if I liked

    This story was just wierd. I still don't really know if I liked it or not. It was definitely not a story you read every day, so bonus points for creativity. And, there was also a lot of history in this book. Worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Quite good

    I bought this becasue it sounded moderately interesting and it was inexpensive. I found that I enjoyed it quite a bit more than I expected!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Good read

    Great book. Very original with an interesting history underlying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    A great book. Historical novels are one of my favorite genres an

    A great book. Historical novels are one of my favorite genres and this one did not disappoint. It got me extremely interested in this era of Russian history and I look forward to reading more about this time. At times, the story did seem to move a little slowly but never so much that I got bored or skipped over parts.
    Thank you for re-introducing me to this history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    This was a good book.

    Whoever said it was like the movie Anastasia is an idiot. This book was good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Steeped in history

    Even if I knew the ending the story was great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    I hope this book is good

    I just started it and i am hoping it is good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    A good read.

    Kinda slow, but intriging enough to keep you reading until your hooked. Thenyou can't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fantasy, if only.

    Fantasy, if only.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6