Customer Reviews for

Last Romanov

Average Rating 3.5
( 335 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(107)

3 Star

(56)

2 Star

(45)

1 Star

(37)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

56 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

I Absolutely LOVED this book!!!

I was immediately swept up in the story. It grabs you from the start. I loved how the author stays true to the history of the time, while at the same time creating such a dramatic and heart-wrenching story. There are so many different factors in the life of the main cha...
I was immediately swept up in the story. It grabs you from the start. I loved how the author stays true to the history of the time, while at the same time creating such a dramatic and heart-wrenching story. There are so many different factors in the life of the main character, Darya, such as love, wisdom, and of course, her past that she must now face, and yet it isn't too much to swallow. It is just the right amount. How Mossanen has delved so deeply into Darya's life while at the same time staying true to the political history of the time without even making the history seem boring is a mystery and a miracle.

posted by 13645136 on June 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

46 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

Story is lost in excessive detail...

Read the book for a book club - I found this to be a difficult book to finish. The author's excessive use of detail didn't add anything to the plot or the development of characters. I'm not all that familiar with historical based fiction, and was sincerely looking for...
Read the book for a book club - I found this to be a difficult book to finish. The author's excessive use of detail didn't add anything to the plot or the development of characters. I'm not all that familiar with historical based fiction, and was sincerely looking forward to seeing how the two can mix. The weave of history was more interesting than the fictional story.

I'm still struggling to figure out what the author was going for. Is this a love story? Is this a story about loss? Is it a story about mystical magic? Is this about history? Too many questions unanswered, and an extremely disappointing ending.

posted by 12496476 on May 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 90 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Highly recommend

    I loved this book. The fact that it was free was just the icing on the cake. An extremely enjoyable novel that was based directly on history. Good stuff! I will definitely read it again someday!!! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Marvelous Book

    Darya Borodina is one hundred and four years old, living in the old Russian Entertainment Palace among the ruins, haunted by her life and her time with the Romanovs. Born of royal parents who were close friends with the Tsar and Tsarina of Russia, Darya lost her parents as a teen and was brought to live in the royal household. There she became a companion to the royal children, the four Duchesses and the heir apparent. Darya had healing powers which were important since the heir had hemophilia and could die at any moment.

    We watch royal life through Darya's eyes. Drawn to the arts, she and the Empress create an artistic salon to showcase the talents of Russia's sculptors, artists and ballet masters. We see the strife and pain that comes as Russia starts to awake and decide that being ruled by the royal aristocracy will not work. Darya is torn between these two worlds. She is loyal to the royal family, but madly in love with one of the artists, a Jewish painter she knows she can never acknowledge publicly. Through him, she starts to see the turmoil that will soon tear the country apart.

    After the Revolution and the assassination of the Royal Family, what keeps Darya alive is her belief that the heir was not killed that horrible day with the rest of the family; that her magic portions kept him alive. She spends decades searching for him, and now she receives word that 'the last Romanov' has been found. This starts her final journey to determine the truth once and for all.

    The Last Romanov is a marvelous book. Steeped in history and full of the haunting brooding history of the Russian Empire, the reader is transported to another time and place. Mossanen has created an interesting heroine in Darya to portray both sides of the Revolution and the pain that the conflict between the sides brought to both. This book is recommended to historical fiction readers and those interested in the strong women or Russian history.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Great book couldnt put it down :)

    Loved it. Just enough mystery to keep me guessing. While leaving enough details to keep me intersted. I will deffinately be reading her again.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Loved this book

    Very good story! Thank you to free fridays - would not have chosen it - now a favorite of all books I have ever read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Good

    I enjoyed the twist on the old conspiracy theory of the luving Romanov. Good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Great story.

    Couldn't put the book down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2014

    Wonderful read!

    This was a wonderful read, I felt like I was getting a personal tour thru history, I love the characters and the way the story is told. I read it twice I liked it so much.

    It has everything, Love, mystery, history, intrigue ...

    I recommend this !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

    excellent read

    This book was an excellent read if you are someone who is interested in Russian history. It was very well written and followed many details that happened during the Romanov dynasty. I enjoyed it immensely as someone who is interested in that time and place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    Loved the book. Would read it again!

    I have been to Russia, so many of the places are familiar to me. In fact I visited Alexander Palace and it seemed much smaller than indicated in the book. The writing is magical flowing beautifully. I was fascinated by the Darya character, the main protagonist of the book. Am looking forward to her next project.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    The BEST

    I loved this book from the first word to the very last word. Hated for it to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Fast and enjoyable read

    I have always enjoyed books on Russian history, be it historical or fictionalized. This was an interesting look at what could have been.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Loved it

    I loved this story even though it took me quite a while to read it kept me captavated, and intrested otherwise I never would have finished. When i had the time to read i flippped through the pages wating to find out what was going to happen. Great read for those who enjoy historical fiction

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Very enjoyable!

    If you like history (especially Russian) with a twist of fantasy- you will like book. It can be a little slow at times but overall was very engrossing. Good Free Fridays book! Thanks B&N!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This is a historical & fictional book that takes place in Russia. The characters are unique and it holds your interest. It tells a story about The Russian Empire and the war with Japan. The class of people, how the rich lived and how the poor lived. I liked how the author started and ended the book. This was a Free Friday book and it turn out to be a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    This was an awesome book!! I read the Zookeepers Wife a few wee

    This was an awesome book!! I read the Zookeepers Wife a few weeks back (I don't usually read historical fiction), nut now I will read more books like this. It made me have to look up some events that really happened so my history is getting better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Love it

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2012

    I really enjoyed this book. It took me away to another place and

    I really enjoyed this book. It took me away to another place and I love the way Mossanen writes. It is very ethereal and dream like. Beautiful novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Not your usual Historical Novel

    A description of a period of tragic Russian history seen as through a creatively mystical character who works for the last Tsar's family. A bit difficult to read at first, moving back and forth in her lifetime memories, with references that are not understood until later. But once into the flow of the story, very hard to stop reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Very interesting and historically interesting, Definitely a go


    Very interesting and historically interesting, Definitely a good read for those interested in history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    Really enjoyed the story. Makes me want to do more research on the Romanov family!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 90 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5