Customer Reviews for

Last Season

Average Rating 4
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

An inspiring read, an ode to the power and beauty of nature and the individual

I am largely a domesticated dweller of the southern california suburbs. 'The Last Season' gave me pause to reflect on that fact and challenge myself to look around, and venture out. This book is a poetically written ode' to the power and beauty of nature, and the stre...
I am largely a domesticated dweller of the southern california suburbs. 'The Last Season' gave me pause to reflect on that fact and challenge myself to look around, and venture out. This book is a poetically written ode' to the power and beauty of nature, and the strength and courage of a man and his ideals. Blehm's research is meticulous and his respect and love of the subject matter is authentic and 100% inspiring. I encourage you to slow down and take in this book. I hope you find the same inspiration, strap on some hicking boots and head for the hills!!!

posted by Anonymous on November 14, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Lost in The Last Season

I pretty much agree with the previous reviewer who gave this two stars. While it does contain some interesting history about the National Park Service and the rangers who patrol them, the book itself is fairly boring and lacks the supsense and flow of timelines and even...
I pretty much agree with the previous reviewer who gave this two stars. While it does contain some interesting history about the National Park Service and the rangers who patrol them, the book itself is fairly boring and lacks the supsense and flow of timelines and events of similiar reads like Into Thin Air, The Perfect Storm and Into The Wild, all of which are 5 star books.

posted by Anonymous on June 5, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2007

    An inspiring read, an ode to the power and beauty of nature and the individual

    I am largely a domesticated dweller of the southern california suburbs. 'The Last Season' gave me pause to reflect on that fact and challenge myself to look around, and venture out. This book is a poetically written ode' to the power and beauty of nature, and the strength and courage of a man and his ideals. Blehm's research is meticulous and his respect and love of the subject matter is authentic and 100% inspiring. I encourage you to slow down and take in this book. I hope you find the same inspiration, strap on some hicking boots and head for the hills!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Good read

    A+

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    Loved the book

    I found the book to be engrossing. Although I don't quite relate to the main charater, I found him to be very interesting and I got a glimpse into a real life that was different than my own. As a backpacker, I could understand the desires and loves of the main charater. I was drawn in by the narrative, made to feel as though I knew this man, his family, his life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    A good read, especially if you love the outdoors

    This is a well-written book that keeps the reader guessing until the end. I kept wondering, "How could the author know this?"

    Randy's notes are poetry, reminiscent of Muir's writings. I am glad we got a glimpse into the heart of someone so in love with the wilderness.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    Hard to put down

    I could hardly put this book down once I started reading because I was eager to get to the conclusion: did Randy Morgenson intentionally lose himself in the backcountry of the High Sierra, or did one of the most experienced backcountry rangers have a tragic accident? As you follow one of the most extensive searches in National Park history for the lost National Park Ranger, you also learn the story of his life. He was a person one could look up to, but he was also human and therefore subject to human vulnerabilities. We could use more Randy Morgenson's in this world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great true story, suspenseful.

    When I began reading the book, I didn't know if I was honestly going to like it. Really got you to thinking that if one is going to work in the wilderness, make sure all emergency training is used, and stay in contact with more than one communication tool.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    A riveting account of survival in the wilderness

    I found this book to be well-researched and very interesting. I recently moved to the Sierra, and reading this book has made me relaize a new respect and appreciation for the mountains that I now call home. Randy's story is tragic, but also fascinating. This book shows both his love of the mountains and his vulnerability as a person, and how ultimately, those two things came together for The Last Season.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2007

    Lost in The Last Season

    I pretty much agree with the previous reviewer who gave this two stars. While it does contain some interesting history about the National Park Service and the rangers who patrol them, the book itself is fairly boring and lacks the supsense and flow of timelines and events of similiar reads like Into Thin Air, The Perfect Storm and Into The Wild, all of which are 5 star books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Page turner

    A travel log within a story. I got a real feeling of the back country and the special people it takes to manage it. The story of the rangers tragic end made for a interesting avenue to explain this area and the people evolved in its care.
    Probably could have been told in a shorter format ,such as a magazine article, I felt it was stretched out a little in the middle to lengthen the story. Well written though and I enjoyed it even though it was a fast read .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Interesting read

    Thought this was a good book that gave an interesting look at the life of back country rangers. There were a few times where I though the book dragged on a bit, but overall I enjoyed it and would recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Better than "Into the Wild"

    This book was based on a recommendation for those outdoor enthusiasts that embrace the ideology of Edward Abbey. At first I was a little hesitant thinking this book was just going to be another Into the Wild. It was not long before I realized this incredible story was going to be part wilderness and conservation awareness that develops into a murder mystery. Eric Blehm is going to be an author that will soon make a name for himself as the next infamous journalist non-fiction writer. His stories read like fiction, yet his details of his interviewees illustrate the humanity behind the people that are more than just names in the books.
    For those interested, I did get bogged down during the teenage life of the character, but I assure you if you can push through you will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Blehm enlightens readers about little known backcountry rangers in our parks.

    In this day and age of "going green", many of the dedicated park rangers have been trying to keep the national parks green and natural for years before it became "chic". The main character in the book, Randy Morgenson, is researched in great detail by the author and should be an example for all of us on how to respect and care for our beautiful parks. In this techno age, this book was a refreshing step back into nature and a detailed look at the life of a man truly dedicated to preservation and slowing down enough in life to enjoy the natural beauty around us. A must-read for anyone who enjoys the outdoors, and anyone that is interested in becoming an outdoorsman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    Good Read!

    This book is well written and informative. Very indeep!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2008

    Not that good

    Like some of the other reviewers I found this book long and boring with a few interesting parts. I was interested in reading this book and I love the outdoors but the more I got into it the harder it was to keep on reading.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2007

    Great book about rangers and the Sierras

    Not having any true back country hiking experiences this book opened me up to that whole experience. I found the book very insightful in what drives people to enjoy/preserve the back country. I highly recommend it to non-hikers and hikers alike.An extremely well researched book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2007

    Fascinating storytelling

    An amazing story, engaging from start to finish. As someone who has enjoyed backpacking and the outdoors all his life, this book really resonated with me. However, I believe that those who haven't had the luxury of exploring the wilderness will also enjoy this book immensely. It seems to me that this world could use more people that appreciate nature and wild places like Randy Morgenson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2007

    A reviewer

    Tired after returning from a solo hiking trip in the eastern sierras, I was going to relax and read just a bit, but got lost in his story and finished it in one day - then reread most of it the next day. An amazing tale of an exceptional man!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2007

    Not that great

    I didn't find this book so wonderful as everyone else apparently has. I thought it was kind of boring and I personally could not get into it. I finally did read most of it (skimming the last few chapters to find out if they ever found his body). I'm glad others enjoyed it. I would never compare this to Jon Krauker's 'Into the Wild' because 'Into the Wild' is so interesting and hard to put down. 'The Last Season' is hard to keep picking up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2006

    An Exquisite, brilliantly researched portrait of the life of a backcountry ranger

    I remember hearing when Randy Morgenson went missing. A backcountry soloist myself, I noticed signs posted at the trailheads in Sequoia National Park. I recall wondering: What had happened to Randy? Would he ever be found? Would I accidentally stumble upon some clue? And what would happen if I should ever disappear? Eric Blehm's brilliantly researched book answers many of these questions, and more. Eric creates an exquisitely sensitive portrait of a rugged man who devoted himself to the wilderness he loved, and who ultimately gave his life back to the mountains. 'The Last Season' ignites the passion of the reader for the remote high country in which Randy lived during the most formative parts of his life. A fitting eulogy for the dedicated backcountry ranger, 'The Last Season' tells the true tale. Randy was not perfect, but he was exceptional. Eric illuminates the multiplicity of Randy's life, the nobility and the sadness, the funny anecdotes, and ultimately the ending. Tragic? I think not. I believe that Randy would have been honored to be seen for who he was, a passionate eccentric, a man dedicated to life, to his friends, to his wife, and especially to the mountains that he loved....to the very end. Eric Blehm brings alive the life and the death of backcountry ranger Randy Morgenson, and the blissful yet unforgiving perfection of the magnificent Sierra Nevada.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2006

    An excellent story about introverts

    This is an exceptional story about an introverted outdoorsman who died as he lived, alone and in the wild. The author gives us great detail about the harsh environment in this beautiful part of the country. Anyone who enjoys the outdoors will enjoy this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3