BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Last Secret of the Temple

Average Rating 3.5
( 343 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(105)

4 Star

(106)

3 Star

(59)

2 Star

(44)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

49 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

So much better than Dan Brown

This book was amazing. If your a fan of Dan Brown you will love Paul Sussman. Sussman has a better mastery of the english. His plot line so much more indepth. So much more intense; the story has you hooked and twists and turns take you by supprise and the end stirs a gr...
This book was amazing. If your a fan of Dan Brown you will love Paul Sussman. Sussman has a better mastery of the english. His plot line so much more indepth. So much more intense; the story has you hooked and twists and turns take you by supprise and the end stirs a great deal emotion. The characters are masterfulyl developed....I'm rambling now, but this was truely a GREAT book. Love it!!!!!!!!

posted by jeremy0u812 on December 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

Offensive language!

The description sounds interesting, but they never tell you aobut the offensive language.

posted by br549GA on November 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 343 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    So much better than Dan Brown

    This book was amazing. If your a fan of Dan Brown you will love Paul Sussman. Sussman has a better mastery of the english. His plot line so much more indepth. So much more intense; the story has you hooked and twists and turns take you by supprise and the end stirs a great deal emotion. The characters are masterfulyl developed....I'm rambling now, but this was truely a GREAT book. Love it!!!!!!!!

    49 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Great mystery with atmosphere

    This is a great read for many reasons. The story is compelling and fast paced. I really liked the viewpoints from several different characters. It is also rift with messages on getting along with your fellow man and the similarity of feelings from different points of view. I picked this book because I am a fan of both Amelia Peabody and the DaVinci Code. I was not dissapointed.

    38 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2007

    couldn't put it down

    At first I was a little confused with the jumping back and forth, but it all came together fairly soon. I loved the egyptian detective,and I did not expect a couple of thing's that happened at the end, but it was the first book all summer that was hard to put down.And I read a lot. I hope he writes more.Some books you read for the joy of a good story, and it doesn't have to be possible, just for the fun is always good for me.

    33 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    Really great!

    From page one to page 538 you will not want to put this book down. Lots of characters, but never confusing. Well written. Few books this long will hold your attention like this one does.

    30 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Offensive language!

    The description sounds interesting, but they never tell you aobut the offensive language.

    25 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    This book

    His book has 181 F words. I will read 1 or 2 but this bis ridiculous. Oh my word people. Horrible author. 11 F words on one age :(

    24 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2008

    Amazing...

    It grips you from the beginning when the story begins with the Romans seizing Jerusalem and a young Jewish boy, and a secret. The story is told from the perspective of a Luxor detective, Palestinian journalist, and an Iraeli policeman, not to mention various activists and other characters along the way. It is a gripping thriller that ropes in ancient religious traditions, the Nazis, and the modern-day conflict between Palestine and Israel. <BR/><BR/>It is a book that tugs at your logic and is extremely intriguing. Amazing book. Enough said...

    20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Great read

    Kept my attention. Good story.

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    AVOID THE TROLLS

    Sklp over the first 20 posts none are relevent to this book. Either read the editorial reviews or skip down past the trolls in order to find people who have actualy read the book.

    11 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2012

    I finished this book in a day on my Nook. I became engrossed wi

    I finished this book in a day on my Nook. I became engrossed with the characters and how they were going to eventually intertwine. Great plot with a lot of twists and turns, religious artifacts, history, mysticism and very richly drawn characters. What not to like?? There are a lot of swear words but that didn't bother me. My favorite character was the Egyptian detective! Highly recommended! A Former Free Friday Winner!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2012

    Reading the reviews was enough for me not to want to read this

    Reading the reviews was enough for me not to want to read this book. Permeated with F bombs? No thanks; maybe a lot of people think this makes it &quot;real world&quot;, but it's not a good part of the world and at any rate, it isn't part of my world. Comparable to &quot;The Da Vinci Code&quot;? Puh-leeze; it was the single worst-written book I ever read. Again, no thanks.

    5 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Waste of Time

    Thought this would be good based on reviews comparing it to Dan Brown. Beginning was promsing, however, 200 pages in, and nothing much is happening. Extremely slow- moving plot, which just appears to be a cover for the extensive emphasis on Palestinian/Jewish conflict, which didn't have much to do with the thin plot. Finally gave it up. Also, not normally too offended bylanguage, but the use of the f word and the c word are over the top.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Fantastic story!

    This was a Free Fridays book a couple of weeks ago. It was a fantastic read - started it straight away and abandoned the other book I was halfway through. Very good writing - flows easily. Sophisticated language, clever story, and great "colour" references - author obviously knows his theme. Will be buying more by Paul Sussman.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Very good book

    I initially did not like the book because it seemed to be disjointed; however, I had already invested enough energy into it to keep reading. I am glad that I did. After all the characters were established the pace picked up dramatically. I particularly liked the Egyptian detective. I was not offended by the language, but I had to keep reminding myself that the author was trying to give a realistic feel to the religious upheaval in the area. The prejudice exhibited in the novel gave me pause; however, it did set the stage.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2012

    This was a great book, hard to put down with lots of twists and

    This was a great book, hard to put down with lots of twists and turns. Relevant current day topic with historical fact and religious prophecy; Sassman did a good job of bringing it all together. Some of the places in the book I have been to and it made it more exciting as I had a context for it. The characters are very well developed and you get a good feel for them and their positions. I will read his other books. Sorry to hear of his passing; I was looking forward to more books from him.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Slow to start...great finish.

    It took a while for me to get into the book as it started off quite slow but once it started to heat up I became hooked. Its a great story. Much like any of Dan Browns books, which I love. It had a good amount of action but the ending was a happy one. I really enjoyed it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2012

    Non-stop action makes this hard to put down. There is excellent

    Non-stop action makes this hard to put down. There is excellent portrayal and development of characters in the almost-current Middle Eastern ambiance (based on my other readings - not first-hand). I sort of had the plot figured out about 2/3 of the way through, but there were still some surprising twists at the end,which was mostly convincing and satisfying - &quot;closure&quot;.

    My only quibbles would be an overuse of the F-bomb (and other crude language), but it seemed plausible for the situation/characters, who are in the thick of life (and death) in the raw. I also picked up a sense of a slight &quot;tilt&quot; towards the Palestinian cause, but there were a lot of counterbalancing parts,too, so not anything like blatant (unless the reader is really hard-core pro-Israel - that viewpoint might make this an uncomfortable story overall).

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2012

    If you are really really interested in Israeli and Palestinian p

    If you are really really interested in Israeli and Palestinian politics, you'll love this book. If not... YAWN. I am not sure I'm even going to manage to finish it; every time it gets a bit interesting they go off on another political tangent. I'll certainly not buy another by this author.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Gave up

    I couldn't read this. Gave up at page 112. The mystery death got lost in all the political rhetoric.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2013

    recomend

    You will enjoy if you like following different people as they check out a murder, a picture from different starting points. It all comes together later. I was glad I stuck with it. Was not sure about it at the start though. But understand I like to just follow one thing at a time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 343 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18