Customer Reviews for

Last Secret of the Temple

Average Rating 3.5
( 346 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(106)

4 Star

(107)

3 Star

(59)

2 Star

(44)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

49 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

So much better than Dan Brown

This book was amazing. If your a fan of Dan Brown you will love Paul Sussman. Sussman has a better mastery of the english. His plot line so much more indepth. So much more intense; the story has you hooked and twists and turns take you by supprise and the end stirs a gr...
This book was amazing. If your a fan of Dan Brown you will love Paul Sussman. Sussman has a better mastery of the english. His plot line so much more indepth. So much more intense; the story has you hooked and twists and turns take you by supprise and the end stirs a great deal emotion. The characters are masterfulyl developed....I'm rambling now, but this was truely a GREAT book. Love it!!!!!!!!

posted by jeremy0u812 on December 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

Offensive language!

The description sounds interesting, but they never tell you aobut the offensive language.

posted by br549GA on November 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Offensive language!

    The description sounds interesting, but they never tell you aobut the offensive language.

    25 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    This book

    His book has 181 F words. I will read 1 or 2 but this bis ridiculous. Oh my word people. Horrible author. 11 F words on one age :(

    24 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2012

    Reading the reviews was enough for me not to want to read this

    Reading the reviews was enough for me not to want to read this book. Permeated with F bombs? No thanks; maybe a lot of people think this makes it "real world", but it's not a good part of the world and at any rate, it isn't part of my world. Comparable to "The Da Vinci Code"? Puh-leeze; it was the single worst-written book I ever read. Again, no thanks.

    5 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Waste of Time

    Thought this would be good based on reviews comparing it to Dan Brown. Beginning was promsing, however, 200 pages in, and nothing much is happening. Extremely slow- moving plot, which just appears to be a cover for the extensive emphasis on Palestinian/Jewish conflict, which didn't have much to do with the thin plot. Finally gave it up. Also, not normally too offended bylanguage, but the use of the f word and the c word are over the top.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Gave up

    I couldn't read this. Gave up at page 112. The mystery death got lost in all the political rhetoric.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Rough and crude. Very violent!

    I got this book as the plot seemed interesting but what I found was a story that has too many seperate plots going on. I was about 100 pages into the 416 when I my tolerance level maxed out. I have to say that the book seems very real to the times and locations but it could have told the story with less build up and way less violence and crude language. Yes I know the violence inthe middle east is bad and thepeople on both sides of the conflict think they are the correct ones but this book went to far. The violence is horrible andthe language iseven worse. If I had had any idea I would never have wasted the spaceon my nook. I am deleting this once and for all. I cannot recomend this to anyone!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Cannot stay in it

    Too much wasted detail, cannot keep my attention, too many unconnected plots that by a third into it should be connected. Giving up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    This was a really boring book: the author, the reader can tell,

    This was a really boring book: the author, the reader can tell, talks too much. So many pages were filled with very tedious details, over and over how many Cleopatra cigarettes the character smoked, interspersed with the same old curse words, over and over.... The author should learn how to edit his writing. I learned to skim dozens of pages at a time just to get to one paragraph of action. I do not recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Disconnected junk

    I would have rated this a negative if I could. The author seems very anti-Israel and has written a piece of junk that is disconnected. I can't understand why today's writers insist on using gratuitous foul language that in no wise adds to or advances the story. I deleted this title from my library. I am just thankful that I did not waste good money on it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2012

    Maybe try something else.

    I waited for a cohesive approach as the author jumped between topics in an effort to lay out the scenario. I kept waiting for it to get better but the frequent gratuitous sexual innuendoes and references detracted to the point I gave it up. I had looked forward to a good read on the topic and was quite disappointed.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    As other readers have reported on the F bomb, I will not read th

    As other readers have reported on the F bomb, I will not read the book even though I was impressed with it. Provide some decent books without the F bombs please.

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    THANK GOD IT WAS A FREE FRIDAY BOOK

    I forced myself to read the whole book just so I could find out how the beginning historical part played out. I really did not enjoy it at all. So much senseless hatred and killing! Will not buy any other books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Not good

    I read tthe first 75 pages waiting for the hook to keep me interested. It never came. I'm glad itwas a free Friday selection, otherwise, I would really be unhappy with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Slow read

    First half was boring and I almost gave up. The ending was good however.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Didn't like

    Read about 100 pages and that was enough and didn't finish

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    Great reading - real page-turner

    An interesting book that takes us from Roman times to present day conflicts. A young Jewish boy receives a special mission: to protect a holy item from being destroyed by the Roman soldiers who are plundering the Temple. He is told that he and his family must protect it without ever revealing where it is hidden. He and his family will know when the time is right to let it be known this object has survived. Jump to the present day. Three people, an Egyptian police detective, an Israeli policeman and a Palestinian reporter are puzzled by the murder of a man who seems to be even more of a mystery than his murder. Moving between the three viewpoints as they form an uneasy working relationship. The author explores the tensions and very human feelings of the three and develops a very good mystery story in the process. A page-turner for sure. Paul Sussman has written a first class mystery with real believable characters and a plot that moves smoothly and keeps you guessing till the end. Definitely a 5 star book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2