Customer Reviews for

Last Secret of the Temple

Average Rating 3.5
( 346 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(106)

4 Star

(107)

3 Star

(59)

2 Star

(44)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

49 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

So much better than Dan Brown

This book was amazing. If your a fan of Dan Brown you will love Paul Sussman. Sussman has a better mastery of the english. His plot line so much more indepth. So much more intense; the story has you hooked and twists and turns take you by supprise and the end stirs a gr...
This book was amazing. If your a fan of Dan Brown you will love Paul Sussman. Sussman has a better mastery of the english. His plot line so much more indepth. So much more intense; the story has you hooked and twists and turns take you by supprise and the end stirs a great deal emotion. The characters are masterfulyl developed....I'm rambling now, but this was truely a GREAT book. Love it!!!!!!!!

posted by jeremy0u812 on December 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

Offensive language!

The description sounds interesting, but they never tell you aobut the offensive language.

posted by br549GA on November 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    So much better than Dan Brown

    This book was amazing. If your a fan of Dan Brown you will love Paul Sussman. Sussman has a better mastery of the english. His plot line so much more indepth. So much more intense; the story has you hooked and twists and turns take you by supprise and the end stirs a great deal emotion. The characters are masterfulyl developed....I'm rambling now, but this was truely a GREAT book. Love it!!!!!!!!

    49 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Great mystery with atmosphere

    This is a great read for many reasons. The story is compelling and fast paced. I really liked the viewpoints from several different characters. It is also rift with messages on getting along with your fellow man and the similarity of feelings from different points of view. I picked this book because I am a fan of both Amelia Peabody and the DaVinci Code. I was not dissapointed.

    38 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2007

    couldn't put it down

    At first I was a little confused with the jumping back and forth, but it all came together fairly soon. I loved the egyptian detective,and I did not expect a couple of thing's that happened at the end, but it was the first book all summer that was hard to put down.And I read a lot. I hope he writes more.Some books you read for the joy of a good story, and it doesn't have to be possible, just for the fun is always good for me.

    33 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    Really great!

    From page one to page 538 you will not want to put this book down. Lots of characters, but never confusing. Well written. Few books this long will hold your attention like this one does.

    30 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2008

    Amazing...

    It grips you from the beginning when the story begins with the Romans seizing Jerusalem and a young Jewish boy, and a secret. The story is told from the perspective of a Luxor detective, Palestinian journalist, and an Iraeli policeman, not to mention various activists and other characters along the way. It is a gripping thriller that ropes in ancient religious traditions, the Nazis, and the modern-day conflict between Palestine and Israel. <BR/><BR/>It is a book that tugs at your logic and is extremely intriguing. Amazing book. Enough said...

    20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    AVOID THE TROLLS

    Sklp over the first 20 posts none are relevent to this book. Either read the editorial reviews or skip down past the trolls in order to find people who have actualy read the book.

    11 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2012

    I finished this book in a day on my Nook. I became engrossed wi

    I finished this book in a day on my Nook. I became engrossed with the characters and how they were going to eventually intertwine. Great plot with a lot of twists and turns, religious artifacts, history, mysticism and very richly drawn characters. What not to like?? There are a lot of swear words but that didn't bother me. My favorite character was the Egyptian detective! Highly recommended! A Former Free Friday Winner!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Fantastic story!

    This was a Free Fridays book a couple of weeks ago. It was a fantastic read - started it straight away and abandoned the other book I was halfway through. Very good writing - flows easily. Sophisticated language, clever story, and great "colour" references - author obviously knows his theme. Will be buying more by Paul Sussman.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Slow to start...great finish.

    It took a while for me to get into the book as it started off quite slow but once it started to heat up I became hooked. Its a great story. Much like any of Dan Browns books, which I love. It had a good amount of action but the ending was a happy one. I really enjoyed it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Recommended

    A must read. Chapter one has a Rabbi giving a secret to a young boy. Chapter two has the Nazis hiding a box (the unknown secret) in a mine shaft. Chapter three starts a masterful telling of the trouble in the middle-east that points to the "secret". The story is told from three view points; Egyptian, Israeli and Palestinian. Characters are fleshed out and believeable.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    I would not have found this book if not for the Nook free Friday

    I would not have found this book if not for the Nook free Friday offerings. I am so glad I did though. A “thriller set against the tumultuous politics of the present-day Middle East” is not a book I would normally pick up, but this was a pleasant surprise. There is an intriguing mix of history, politics, religion and mysticism that grabs you and keeps you in the story.
    My knowledge of the Middle East as it currently exists is probably on par with most Westerners. My historical context is perhaps slightly above the average, but not by a whole lot. Where I feel I have a certainly more than fair grasp of the context is the religious history and folklore. Why am I telling you this – so you can understand better what I brought into reading this book.
    It would be so very easy to adopt a moral position and tone and turn any story set against this backdrop into a heavy-handed lecture. Paul Sussman not only avoids this trap, but makes it seem effortless to have done so.
    The 3 main characters are an Egyptian police inspector, a Palestinian journalist and a Jewish detective. A diverse cast, but even more interesting is the fact that for a good portion of the book they inhabit their own worlds only being brought into each other’s as the book nears its climax.
    Oddly I found myself relating most closely to the middle aged Muslim Egyptian detective, Khalifa. His love of history and sadness at giving up the life he had planned paired with his love of family, questions about his faith and his sense of right and wrong is perfect. Arieh and Layla are dynamic and fully developed characters as well. In Arieh, the Jewesh detective, Sussman gives us a man grieving, hurt and angry – but who still wants to do what is right, even if he isn’t sure what that is. The Palestinian journalist Layla is hard and fierce but also vulnerable deep down inside. The history given to both of them deepens not only the characters but the reader’s understanding of the two sides involved in this ever present conflict.
    Add to this a brilliant storyline crossing centuries and continents and what you have is an amazing book. The way in which the story weaves together is always fascinating and the pattern that develops constantly surprises but never in a contrived or forced way.
    I took more time reading this book than I normally do. As I read very quickly normally and would usually have finished this book in less than 4 hours I was surprised to find that I spent about 6 ½ hours reading this. Part of that can be attributed to pausing to research a couple of things, but mostly it was because it caused be to think about my own beliefs and prejudices.
    This book is described as a thriller, which it most definitely is, but it is also part political and social commentary – in the best way.
    Thank you Paul Sussman for an exciting, well written and moving book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    one of the best books i've ever read - LOVED it!!!!!!!!

    one of the best books i've ever read - LOVED it!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    The Last Secret of The Temple

    I really found this a great read. Suspensful and exciting. Set in the middle of todays powderkeg. I appreciate the authors even handed approach to this sensative area while giving the reader insight into the complexaties involved in this area. The story line was gripping with a real twist. It delivered a positve conclusion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    A rousing adventure and hopeful fantasy

    Quite a bit of fun and educational,with a good twist ending. All mixed with hope, grudging friendship, and cabbalic mysticism. Kept me glued to my Nook!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    A page turner

    This was a very exciting read, I could hardly put it down.The history of the Middle East was as if it were happening today. In fact it helped me understand the problems in the Middle East today because
    the author personalized the times.I highly recommend Paul Sussman's books and have bought more.History lover.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2015

    EXCELLENT!!!

    I LOVED this story. Just got better and better and more interesting the more I read. Thank you Mr Sussman!!! I hope there is more......... review by Pamisue

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Good reading and educating.

    One of the best. I learn many passages of interesting and important history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2013

    An excellent, excellent book! Not at all what I was expecting: i

    An excellent, excellent book! Not at all what I was expecting: it was so much more. A book of intrigue; a combination of &quot;The Raiders of the Lost Ark&quot; and &quot;The DaVinci Code&quot; and the current strife in the Middle East. I thrilled at the references to Egyptology, the Rosicrucians, Nazi Germany all blended into a modern day &quot;whodunnit&quot;. This book will be prominent in my favorites list!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    great read

    First 200 pages set the story. A great adventure that highlights hope,faith and understanding. The ending is perfect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Ok, I am going to go ahead and give this 5 stars, and say how su

    Ok, I am going to go ahead and give this 5 stars, and say how surprised I was at how good this book was.  It was a Nook Free Friday offer, and I had to work at getting into it as the names of the characters were really unfamiliar to me.  I was sorry to see this one end, and I thought he did a great job presenting enough background so that someone who was not very familiar with the conflicts of the Middle East could follow the story line he was developing.  Very good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6