Customer Reviews for

Last Shot: A Final Four Mystery

Average Rating 4.5
( 98 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic Book!

I LOVED this book! I love basketball and I was really into this book. It's probably one of my favorites! I'd recomend it to anyone and everyone who loves and has an obsession about basketball and mysteries!

posted by BookLover44 on February 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The book "Last Shot" is about a boy and girl that win

The book "Last Shot" is about a boy and girl that win a writing contest and get to write articles for the final four. The boys name is Steve Thomas and the girls name is Susan Carol. When Steve and Susan get to the final four they meet each other and they ge...
The book "Last Shot" is about a boy and girl that win a writing contest and get to write articles for the final four. The boys name is Steve Thomas and the girls name is Susan Carol. When Steve and Susan get to the final four they meet each other and they get to know each other. One day they get lost and they try to find their way back to the lobby and then they run into one of the basketball teams and heard the player and coach talking about setting up the game. So Steve and Susan try to figure out what exactly happened and they try to stop it.

I like this book cause it talks about basketball and I like basketball. It kept me reading and there were some funny parts to the book. The book had some surprising parts to it so it kept you focused and kept you attached to the book. I don't like how it takes a little while to get into the action of the book but that is the only thing I dislike of the book.

I would recommend this book to people who like sports. Especially people who like basketball cause it is really intense. For people who like cliff hangers and leave them suspecting something.

posted by gilkeson-L on March 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    The book "Last Shot" is about a boy and girl that win

    The book "Last Shot" is about a boy and girl that win a writing contest and get to write articles for the final four. The boys name is Steve Thomas and the girls name is Susan Carol. When Steve and Susan get to the final four they meet each other and they get to know each other. One day they get lost and they try to find their way back to the lobby and then they run into one of the basketball teams and heard the player and coach talking about setting up the game. So Steve and Susan try to figure out what exactly happened and they try to stop it.

    I like this book cause it talks about basketball and I like basketball. It kept me reading and there were some funny parts to the book. The book had some surprising parts to it so it kept you focused and kept you attached to the book. I don't like how it takes a little while to get into the action of the book but that is the only thing I dislike of the book.

    I would recommend this book to people who like sports. Especially people who like basketball cause it is really intense. For people who like cliff hangers and leave them suspecting something.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic Book!

    I LOVED this book! I love basketball and I was really into this book. It's probably one of my favorites! I'd recomend it to anyone and everyone who loves and has an obsession about basketball and mysteries!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2009

    This is a great book!

    If you like basketball you should love this book. I read it for a book report for school and I loved. You are on your seat for all of it and it is also a great mstery. READ THIS BOOK.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2011

    A Buzzer Beater

    In "Last Shot" by John Feinstein, 13 year-olds Steve Thomas and Susan Carol Anderson are two of the USBWA (United States Basketball Writer's Association) and are granted press access to the Final Four in New Orleans. Steve is a little skeptic of Susan at the beginning but they end up working well together. The two overhear Chip Graber, Minnesota State's star point-guard being blackmailed to throw the championship game or else his transcript would be changed to make it look like he failed, and his dad would be fired as coach. Steve and Susan then make it their mission to find who is blackmailing Chip. One theme I got out of this story was that you never know what goes on behind closed doors. When you watch sporting events like the Final Four on tv, all you see is what your given. But although this book may be fiction, it's deffinatly possible that scenarios like this can or have gone on before. This book does give a good scenario of what can really happen that people are not aware of. I really liked the journalism aspect of the plot, because that is a career field that I want to get into. I chose this book because I saw that it combined one of my favorite things, basketball, with the career field that I want to persue. I also liked the mystery aspect of the story, and it really keeps you on the edge of your seat at the end of the story. I didn't like how i felt kind of bored in the middle, and it didn't seem to pick up again until the end when they solve the mystery. It also seemed like there was too much of a mix of material that bores adults and would entertain young teens, and material that only adults would understand. If you are really in to basketball, I would reccomend giving this book a try. Also if you are in to mysteries, this book is perfect for you. It really appeals to both sides and mixes them together well. I have not read any other works by John Feinstein, but there are for sure some more out there like "Last Dance" and "Caddy For Life" that are true stories unlike this book. I give this book three starts because although it apeeled to me at first because of its topic, it really lived up to the Final Four "buzzer beater" because it really didn't get too suspensful until the very end.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Good

    Favorite book ever

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    This is a great book!

    I can't believe what some of these reviews say! This is one of my favorite books. If you are a boy or girl you will like this book as long as you have some interest in basketball. By the way the guy who said to stick to Mike Lupica books are better is total wrong Mike Lupica is horrible, John Feinstein books are WAY more exciting!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2006

    awesomee

    i love it

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2009

    Last Shot

    In this thrilling, sports related story John Feinstein uses many cliffhangers to write about Stevie Thomas who travels to New Orleans as a result of winning the USBWA writing competition. Then, when he gets there him and the other competition winner, Susan Carol, finally meet each other for the first time.. Wearing press passes around their necks Steve couldn't be happier. Until he and Susan Carol are nosing around in the Superdome and overhear Minnesota State's star player, Chip Graber, being told he has to throw the championship game. It is up to Stevie and Susan Carol to find out the mystery of the Final Four and to stop the blackmailers.

    This book is a great choice for children that are ages 9-13. This amazing story gives you a behind the scenes look at the way reporters work as well as a page turning story about the Final Four and all the work that goes into making a quality story, that makes the newspapers, possible. This book puts a brand new perspective on the way you look at collage basketball and all the coaches and staff that are on the team.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Missed shot?

    Probably best aimed at a young teen. Far-fetched and increasingly "out there". But overall story was OK if you can put adult knowledge of reality aside. Every adult in the story is a buffoon and easily duped. And too much Duke-love poured in.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2005

    This was a terrific book!!

    'Last Shot' was a very good book. It's about a boy named Stevie Thomas, who wins a writing contest to go to New Orleans with a press pass to interview all the players at the NCAA Final Four! It's Stevie's dream! That dream turns to a harsh reality when Stevie and his co-winner, Susan Carol Andersen, overhear Chip Graber, the start point guard for MSU, being blackmailed into throwing the championship game! This was definitely a thrilling book. You couldn't predict who did it! By chapter 17, I was so confused. They left you hanging and had a terrific ending! This book deserves 5 stars!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    thiz book

    I like it very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    H

    3 words: 4th best book EVER behind: coverup by feistein rush for gold also by feistein and the watsons go to birimingham-1963 i love feistein new fav author
    #<3feisteinandboston
    #bostonstrong

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    The last shot is an exhilarating novel which keeps you at the ed

    The last shot is an exhilarating novel which keeps you at the edge of your seat form chapter one. This is a sports book made especially for teens who love sports and are die hard for college basketball. I happen to be both a teen and a sport fanatic and i enjoyed all the real life characters and events displayed in the book. The Last Shot takes place in March Madness, which is the most prestigious college basketball tournament. The main characters Susan Carol and and Stevie are excellent writers who were selected to be journalists at this tournament. What they don't know is that they are in for more than just journalism. I loved the Last Shot from start to finish, and I will continue to read other books from the genius of John Feinstein   

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    This book stinks

    Last shot by john feinestien is a good book. But the setting is very dull and there is very little suspence

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    The Last Shot, by John Feinstein is immediately enticing with it

    The Last Shot, by John Feinstein is immediately enticing with its fast paced and twisted plotline following two young reporters caught up in what is truly a “Final Four Mystery”. Main character Stevie Thomas is an interesting depiction of a young reporter who has found his true passion in the game of basketball. Susan Carol Anderson the other youth reporter, is the perfect complement to Stevie’s bitter and often stubborn attitude, as Susan Carol conducts herself in a mature and responsible fashion. The book is written in pretty simple and easy to read language and dialogue making Last Shot a perfect book for young readers and a quick read for those more experienced readers. Whether you’re a basketball fan or just someone looking for a good book John Feinstein’s Last Shot will not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Last shot

    This book is amazing!!!! This book has related to one of my favorite basketball teams, The Tarheel. I give this book 5 stars I really did like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    ?

    Sounds kinda boring

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Great

    I like it alot

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Sucks

    A TERRIBLE BOOK

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Im gonna

    Im gonna buy it i guess

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5