BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Last Sin Eater

Average Rating 4.5
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    Awesome!!

    Historical fiction that weaves a story for the ages. I highly recommend this awesome book!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Great read

    It was a great read i have read it 5 times and still get a lot out of it

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    Riveting!

    I love Francine River's novels. The Last Sin Eater took me by surprise. It is a very thought provoking and heart changing read about the devastating impact of sin. Yet, as Francine does so well, it is the Truth of God's love that prevails and gives the reader an overwhelming sense of hope and enlightenment in this fallen world. A Must Read!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2002

    AWESOME BOOK

    I read about one book per week on an extremely wide range of subjects and this is probably one of the best books I have ever read! I have loaned my copy of THE LAST SIN EATER to eight people and all have agreed that it is one of their favorites. I even re-read it aloud to my daughter. The story of Cadi is so sad and yet it highlights the true Gospel! I highly recommend this book!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    A mesmerizing story

    Francine Rivers is a truly gifted author. I loved how the story builds throughout and keeps you hooked from the start. The story was brilliant but is so true in life that we all have a choice to make...God or Satan. I will be recommending this to friends.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2002

    Myths, Mountains and Majesty

    What a rare gem this book is. Author Rivers uses the crucial truth of Christ's death for mankind's sins as the pivotal element in this tale of the bonds that bind--or break--a family and a community. Compelling characters and a rich plot combine with genuine insight into the history of moutain life to make this an exceptional read. If you love tales of the Great Smokies and you long for a novel with substance, you will thoroughly enjoy this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2000

    God Moves Again!

    Another riveting Rivers tale of a highland mountain community paralyzed by its own fears and superstitions until one child can endure the pain no longer and seeks out God to heal her!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2014

    Very good book!!! One of my favorites.

    Very good book!!! One of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    Definitely a classic in the Francine Rivers collection

    I've read almost all of Francine Rivers books and "The Last Sin Eater" is one of my favorites. It is a historical Christian fiction novel that confronts the issue about human beings and our sins. This is a book for believers and non-believers alike; if you are not a Christian, I really encourage you to have an open mind and read it anyway. Even if you don't believe in some of the aspects that Rivers confronts, it is honestly a wonderful book. You can't deny Rivers' fantastic writing abilities; she has a great knack for holding your attention throughout the novel. The last thing I will say about this book is that it isn't watered-down or shallow when confronting the Gospel, so if you are looking for truth, it is here. Sometimes I get frustrated when I read Christian fiction because it is dull, untruthful, and "safe". I worry about non-believers reading those because they don't represent Christ very well at all. With that said, "The Last Sin Eater" is definitely a correct defender of the Word and a vivid, wonderful read; it will force you to examine some hard truths of this world. Happy reading to you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Good

    Have enjoyed other Francine Rivers books far more, like Mark of the Lion series and Redeeming Love. Though nice story and worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    A must read

    Loved this book! couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    This is by far, the best book I've ever read. It is a touching s

    This is by far, the best book I've ever read. It is a touching story about a little girl and the powerful way she changes her town. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Loved this book

    I got this when it first came out..... it is an eye opening read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Loved it!

    The Last Sineater is a beautiful story. Francine Rivers has a wonderful writing style and has a gift for storytelling. You can practically see whats happening. The book is interesting and kept me hooked until the very last page. Most importantly, it emphasized the importance of forgiveness, grace, healing and redemption. You feel it in your heart as much as you know it in your mind. Read it. You wont be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Fantastic

    I read every book by this author and never disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Great book

    Really, really, really loved this book. I could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Best Book Ever!!!

    Love this book. It is a must read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Awesome read

    Francine Rivers is a great writer, this is the second book I have read by her but will not be the last!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Amazing story of love and redemption

    This book was hard to put down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    For His Glory

    If there has ever been someone in your life that you would like to accept Jesus Christ as their savior, this book will give you the guts to move forward. The first 1/3 of the book is slow going but the rest is well worth it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6