Customer Reviews for

Last Snow (Jack McClure Series #2)

Average Rating 3.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good Read

A page turner, very exciting

posted by kokonuts on March 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Silly

This novel was a big disappointment to me. I am sure that Eric Van Lustbader is capable of writing a better story with real characters, but he just didn't do that here. For starters, the presidential daughter Alli was such a brat that her antics alone nearly caused me t...
This novel was a big disappointment to me. I am sure that Eric Van Lustbader is capable of writing a better story with real characters, but he just didn't do that here. For starters, the presidential daughter Alli was such a brat that her antics alone nearly caused me to close the book. The implausibility of her being in the plot at all was the start of the silliness, but it just kept getting worse, with her finding an important document by chance, all the way to the characters crossing an airport runway in the face of an oncoming jet. The twists and turns that the author creates were often senseless. None of the characters were well-drawn out enough to be real people in the reader's mind, and there were so many of them it was hard to keep straight who was who. Just a real disappointing novel.

posted by KenCady on March 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This sequel is as entertaining and exciting as its predecessor is.

    Jack McClure, Strategic Advisor to his best friend President of the United States Edward Carson, is in Russia where he negotiates with President Yukin on a pact to prevent Iran from becoming a nuclear power. Carson is informed that Senator Lloyd Bern died in Capri; he was supposed to be on a fact finding trip to the Ukraine. He made an unscheduled stop to Kiev where the last person to see him was K. Rochev.

    The President sends Jack to the Ukraine to find out what happened. Before he leaves his hotel Jack rescues Russian FSB Agent Annika Dementieva from an ambush by her lover a minor thug in the local Mafia. When they get on the plane, the First Daughter Alli Carson demands to come with them as he is the only man she trusts (see First Daughter to learn why). As they investigate Bern's death, Jack concludes there is a traitor inside the American President's most inner circle of advisors and probably one inside of Yukin's most trusted advisors. Additionally he wonders whether Bern was murdered rather than dying accidentally as reported. As he continues his inquiry while keeping the two women accompanying him safe, others try to manipulate him, but obviously they don't know Jack.

    This sequel is as entertaining and exciting as its predecessor is. Events are straight from headlines as Jack, Alli and Annika traverse Eastern Europe through a landscape of crime including murder. No one is safe especially the likable trio whose flaws feel genuine. For instance Jack uses his work to bury his mind from obsessing over the recent death of his daughter; this grief propels him to take risks with his life but not if it endangers his two compatriots. Eric Van Lustbader provides his refreshing version of Bourne with the escapdes of Jack.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    ...

    A rustling in the bushes was heard behind Snowfur... and a strange scent of a large creature mingled with the scent of a flame and the forest...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    A must read in the Carson/McClure series!

    Riveting the whole way though. I couldn't put it down. Couldn't wait to begin the next in the series. This author knows how to capture and hold his audience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    Fun Read, reminiscent of Steve Berry

    This novel picks up the adventures of Jack McClure after the extraordinary first novel in the series. This fast-paced read takes the reader from Russia to the Black Sea with segues to Virginia and DC. Several vibrant new characters have been introduced, and I look forward to reading the third installment. It's been a while since I was so captivated by a book to the point where I looked up at the clock and found I had read way past my bedtime until the wee hours of the morning!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    Everyone should read it.

    It is a fantastic book, everyone should read/buy it. The writer has a fantastic imagination. Eric Van Lustbader is GREAT!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1