Customer Reviews for

The Last Song

Average Rating 4.5
( 3832 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2615)

4 Star

(702)

3 Star

(273)

2 Star

(120)

1 Star

(122)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

69 out of 74 people found this review helpful.

great book

I have been a fan of Nicolas Sparks since his first release and was never disappointed. The last song was one of the best books I have read.

posted by laura24 on January 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 143 people found this review helpful.

A letdown from page one

I have been a fan of Nicolas Sparks since his first release. I also own a copy of every book and I have to say that this book by far is the worst book I have ever read. Its great if you are a tween that adores Miley Cyrus but Mr Sparks has let down his fans that rely o...
I have been a fan of Nicolas Sparks since his first release. I also own a copy of every book and I have to say that this book by far is the worst book I have ever read. Its great if you are a tween that adores Miley Cyrus but Mr Sparks has let down his fans that rely on a more mature read. This book lacks the draw of his other books and by the end of the second chapter I was bored to tears. Hopefully Mr Sparks will focus on writing better books and stop focusing on making movies. He's an author NOT a playwright. I have to say that I question my loyaly and will start thinking twice about purchasing his books. I returned this book the day after I bought it and was told that several people had done the same thing. Not a very good sign when the book has only been out 2 days.

posted by KittenKB on September 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 702 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 36
  • Posted October 20, 2010

    Very good-Read it now!

    I really enjoyed reading the Last Song. The story is about an eighteen year old, New York girl and her relationship with her estranged father and an eighteen year old southern boy. The relationship between the three of them is very special and unforgettable. It was a very romantic story and it also had heart warming, father and daughter moments. The Last Song was very emotional. At one point you would be happy and the next you would feel angry or sad; that's what kept me interested. I never had a time where I wanted to stop reading. At the end of each chapter Nicholas Sparks gave a preview of what was going to come next; which always kept me wanting to read more! Towards the end of the book there is a big dramatic change among the girl and boy, that leaves you very surprised and happy. I learned that first impressions are not reflective of a person's true self. The Last Song reminds me that although people have differences, once they get to know one another they often share much in common.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    Typical good writing by Sparks

    This is one of those heart wrenching Nicholas Sparks novels, whose writing style makes you feel like you are part of the novel. It is not, however, just a love lost plot. It was refreshing to read one of his novels that does not end in pure heartache. The self discovery that the teenage main character goes through is sad, deep, and yet very realistic. The loss she ultimately suffers is not as devastating as it would have been had she not grown up. In the end she learns alot about the life she thought she was living and discovers all is not always what it seems.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Solid Read

    I was skeptical when beginning the book since I realized Miley Cyrus was starring in the movie version but once I became involved with the story, I realized that Sparks had once again created deep, intriguing characters and relationships.

    The story of Ronnie's coming-of-age is something everyone can relate to. Standing between two different worlds, her relationships with Will, Blaze, and Marcus are all captivating but none as much as the one she develops with her father after being estranged for so long. This is definitely a story that will stick with readers long after the last page is read.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Last Song Book Review... READ IT!!..

    The Last Song a novel by Nicolas Sparks is one of the best books I have ever read. It is a story about a rebellious girl called Ronnie in her teenage stage, discovering herself and finding her first true love. This story also focuses on family a lot, learning to forgive and over coming problems when adversities happen. It especially focuses on the relationship between a father and his daughter. It starts off when Ronnie's mother send her and her brother to see his dad who lives in a North Carolina beach town for the summer.
    Steve, Ronnie's father, is a former concert pianist who is enjoying his life in a quiet beach town. While they were there Ronnie was really mad with her dad because she didn't want to leave New York and spend the summer all-alone, away from her friends. She hadn't talked to her father in over three years, since he and left New York.
    On the other hand, her brother Jonah really enjoys going to spend the summer with his father because he really misses him, and connects with him much more than Ronnie did. Steve and Jonah even spent the summer building a glass window for a local church that had burned down.
    During her first day in town Ronnie meets a young girl name Blaze who seems nice, but she is always with a guy named Marcus that seems to only cause trouble. Although he is with Blaze, he wants Ronnie. This is where Will, Ronnie's boyfriend is first introduced. Throughout the book you can see how Ronnie finds her relationship with a boy she would not, in a million years thought she would fall for. This book will not disappoint; it is a perfect love story in many levels; for example teen love, daughter love or even sibling love.
    I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who needs a little romance in his or her life. For me it was a book that reminded me of who I am. I could easily relate to the main character and as I was reading the book I felt like part of the story. The reason for these is some of the events that Ronnie is going through, I am going through. I enjoyed growing up with the character in the novel. Different from most Nicholas Sparks novels this one is more directed to a younger audience since it is about a teen girl becoming a young woman. A good warning about this book is that is will make you shed tears. Also it will make you connect with the characters in ways you will never thought possible, making you not able to put the book down until you are finish and leaving you wanting even more. A better author than Nicholas Sparks could not have written this novel.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    The Last Song

    A couple of years ago my mom, my sister, and I saw the movie THE LAST SONG and my sister and I both cried our eyes out. I did, however, realy like the emotional movie and want to know if the book is as good. Please tell me!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2013

    4 stars

    His books are always touching to the Heart. I enjoyed the book, did not see the Movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Read it.

    I like this book, this one make me sad:(

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    This was a great read, and deff a lot better than the movie!

    This was a great read, and deff a lot better than the movie!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Nicholas sparks

    This book is really good! Must read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    4

    Good sadp

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Teen Romance

    The classic Nicholas Sparks romancd novel. Much better than the movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Best book

    Another good book by mr sparks try the notebook!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2010

    Good Beach Read

    Pretty good weekend reading, especially on the beach. It was rather addictive and I read it in about 2 afternoons. Good story, but a little unbelievable in regards to the relationships between the characters at times. I've never seen the movie but it seems as if it was written with the movie in mind as there isn't a lot of depth to some of the characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Best Sparks book yet!

    After I read the Last Song I just wanted to pick it right back up and read it all over again. It is my favorite Nicholas Sparks book yet. But, unfortunately, this book ends up sad at the end, but not totally. I cried for a long time after I read what had happened to Ronnie's father. That, of course, was the sad part. But, the nice good ending is when Will comes after Ronnie to Juilliard where she is now going to school. This book is for everyone and ecspecially for families to read. I'm really glad they made a movie to follow up the book and I also think they picked the perfect actors and actresses! The Last Song will leave you in tears! If you like romanitc tear-jerkers this is the book for you to read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Read

    I purchased this book mostly beacuse I have enjoyed other Nichols Sparks books, and of course, I was not disappointed. Nichols Sparks has a gift of writing in a way that allows the reader to become fully wrapped up in each and every character. The Last Song is no exception to his writng stlye. I enjoyed the way the story unfolded and even though you were anticipating some tragedy, the author has you totally engrossed in Ronnie's story that you almost miss the real reason she is spending the summer with her father. Now that I have read the book, I am eager to see if the movie can capture the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Count on Sparks for a good story, this is no exception.

    I would have preferred this in the unabridged audio format. I plan to see the movie after having read the book. Nice story for teens, some life lessons there for them, it also contains some good points for adults. I think it is thought provoking for both age groups. Sparks seems to know what makes people tick.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A great love story that was heartfelt and inspirational.

    I loved this book! If you like Nicholas Sparks books then you'll love this one because it has the same things that most of his books do: love, loss and decisions. I would definitely recommend reading it though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2009

    Best Nick Sparks Book Since "Dear John"

    I was expecting this book to be as disappointing as Sparks' last two books, but I decided I had to read it anyway because I've read everything he's ever written. I ended up being pleasantly surprised with this book and enjoyed it very much. Read it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2009

    A great story and well worth reading

    As always, extremely well written with characters that draw you in. Be sure to have a box of kleenex handy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2014

    The book I¿m currently reading is The Last Song by Nicholas Spar

    The book I’m currently reading is The Last Song by Nicholas Sparks.  His full name is Nicholas Charles Sparks he is one of the most loved author. Most of the books that he had written have been in the New York Times bestsellers. He has published the last song and he also produced the movie.  I think his strongest point is this book is making you feel engaged into the reading. This is one reason why he is such a writer and producer. 
    Ronnie Miller and her little brother Jonah Miller are getting shipped to her fathers in North Carolina for the entire summer. She is not thrilled about this proposal; she has not spoken to her father in three years.  After Ronnie parents divorced and her father walked out on them she felt that her father resented her and Jonah. Steve has always tried to stay in Ronnie and Jonah life but it was hard to do that when they lived in two different states. She tried her hardest to ignore her father but she had no other opposition. As she resented her father for walking out on them she stopped playing the piano. Ronnie had no interest in spending the summer with her father. She also had no way of knowing she would   get to know Will Blakelee a handsome volleyball player who accidently knocking her over when it’s her first day at the beach. After getting involved in with the wrong crowd Ronnie seems to focuses on, and endangered turtle nest that would lead to her to maturity. The summer Ronnie expected to be turned out to be the worst thing that could happen witch leads her to find the love in her heart for her family.
    The points of the book were young love, and growing up, and always consider the worst possible situation. The author was trying to say that when someone in your life who doesn’t normally associate with you. All of a sudden tries to come back into your life it’s always a good thing but it can also changer your life in many ways.
    Other Readers would really enjoyed reading with book, everyone   would be engaged in young love and happy ends and also making the reach that soft part of them. This novel had a good climax and ending there should not be any improvement made to this book.
    I would recommend this book to older women and to young women. One thing the reader should know before reading this book is to always expect the worst outcome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 702 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 36