Customer Reviews for

The Last Storyteller

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 8, 2012

    Delaney is one of the last great Irish storytellers.

    There is nothing I like better than settling down with a good book. You know, the kind that not only has a great plot, but likable characters and good prose; one that will sweep you away to far off lands or time gone by. If you like this type of book then I highly suggest you read Frank Delaney’s The Last Storyteller.
    The book is the last of his Irish historical fiction and in my mind the best. Delaney interweaves Irish mythology into a story set in the turbulent 1950’s Ireland. He goes back and forth, as all good storytellers do, taking his readers with him.

    The book jacket suggests the book is about Ben, a collector of stories who finds himself caught up with rebellious gunrunners all the while trying to find his former wife and love his life the actress Venetia Kelly. If this name sounds familiar it is because she is the subject of Delaney’s previous book Venetia Kelly’s Traveling Show. Yet the book is much more than this, it is a wonderful collection of mythology that Delaney says he either collected or made up himself. You cannot tell which is which.

    How to describe Delaney’s use of prose? This always eludes me when I am trying to convince someone to read one of his books. He is an author who can, in a few short words, describe a scene that would take others paragraphs. One of my favorite quotes from the book is from Ben as he sits in an Irish pub, “Using no energy, I eavesdropped on the silence around me, punctuated by snatches of idle conversation”. This is the type of style Delaney is famous for and why I continue to read his work.

    If you ever sat at the feet of a great storyteller and were awed by his ability to hook you in and keep you, then I highly recommend The Last storyteller.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    A worthwhile read

    The Last Storyteller by Frank Delaney tells the story of Ben MacCarthy, by occupation a collector of Irish stories and lore. He travels the countryside, visiting the storytellers and recording the stories. As he travels he manages to also collect a poor, young girl fleeing her abusive family; a gunrunner for the IRA; and his much abused and beaten one-time wife. The supporting characters of this unlikely cast help fill in the rest of Ben's story. The chapters are very short, often only a page or two long, which makes the reading go fast. I think I was up to about the third chapter when I realized I was hearing the story in my mind, being told in an Irish accent. The dialogue is not written in dialect but the feel of the words; the cadence of the story is written as if being told by a master storyteller. Although I was rather lost for the first few chapters, soon the story drew me in and I found myself transported to the troubled Irish countryside of 1956. Despite the troubled times, and troubled people, that populate The Last Storyteller, it is not a dark or depressing novel. It was easy to become Ben's friend through the reading and adopt his accepting attitude. Sometimes he came off as a bit of a doormat but a loveable doormat, and he always managed to redeem himself. As Marian Killeen said "Ben had the greatest gift of loving." (pg 383) which, in turn, made him eminently loveable. The Last Storyteller gives the reader an understanding of this turbulant time in Ireland's history all wrapped up in lovely adventure. A very worthwhile read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    The Master Seanchai

    On the pages of “The Last Storyteller”, Ben MacCarthy, plays a multitude of roles and touches a vast number of lives. Set in the troubled Ireland of the 1950s, a time of IRA insurgency and government crackdown, Ben is the son of parents who embarrass him, annoy him, disappoint him, and whom he must reconcile to each other, all while their mutual love never flags and the unwilling accomplice in an IRA action and subject of a police search. Ben is the husband and lover of Venetia, the entertainer whose life he shares with others but whom he never stops seeking or loving. Ben is the protégé of James Clare, his mentor at the Irish Folklore Commission, who taught him how to collect and record stories and told him that “”There’s no story, no matter how ancient, as important as one’s own.” Ben is the attentive student of John Jacob Farrell O’Neill, the consummate Irish storyteller, the seanchai and it is from O’Neill that Ben will learn his craft. Finally, Ben is father to Ben and Louise, the children whom he got to know and to whom this book is his confessio and apologia.

    “The Last Storyteller” is less of a book and more of a story. It is a story of a modern seanchai, Frank Delaney, a master of his craft and a magician with language. It is a story that takes the reader back to an Ireland of the past that is less idyllic but just as charming as we envision and into a life just as complex and just as enthralling as the land in which it is lived. In my reading I tend toward history and biography and rarely read novels. After a book like “The Last Storyteller” I think that I should pick up novels more often.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    Spellbinding Tale of Love, Loss, Joy, Danger

    Frank Delaney’s latest novel, THE LAST STORYTELLER A NOVEL OF IRELAND is a book to be savored, an unforgettable story of love, joy, loss, danger. THE LAST STORYTELLER is a history of Ireland told in bits and broken pieces, bitter fact, story, and myth. I read it through once, then flipped back and forth, re-reading underlined passages, all the while basking in its spell. For make no mistake, Delaney is a prodigious weaver of words.

    It is 1956 and Ireland is again in upheaval, the nation, downtrodden. The mood is deep as Ben MacCarthy returns to the land of his birth in search of his love, the actress and mother of his twins, Venetia Kelly. While Ben searches for Venetia, he quests for truth, finds and helps his friends, learns the art of storytelling.

    Ben’s journey takes him from town to town, from pub to pub, through danger and gun running, to Limerick, through floods, to Dublin. The Shannon overflows; the stories do, too. Scenes explode with action and meaning. At times we think Ben succeeds in his quest only to have La Belle Dame flee. Forever?

    What better way to understand oneself, especially in times extreme, but through story? And it is through the telling of tales that meaning exists for Ben MacCarthy, not just in the words, but more importantly, in the poetry of his spoken story. As the author spins the story, the reader is caught up, fascinated. And the story becomes, in some inexplicable way, our story, too.

    Each reader will have her favorites, and for me this book is packed with poignant scenes, flesh and blood characters, major and minor—Randall Duff, “head like a hawk, eyes of fire,” Marian Killeen with her “complexion of cream linen,” John Jacob O’Neill, the sometime baker who “sifted, letting it flow like powdered fog through his fingers,” James Clare, and, of course, Gentleman James Stirling, the villain we love to hate.

    Do something memorable for yourself today: read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    Frank Delaney, at his best!

    The Last Storyteller Frank Delaney What is a “Seanchai”? A Seanchai is an Irish storyteller, a bard, someone who maintains and relates Irish history verbally and by memory. Irish history has been passed on by these Seanchaithe traveling from village to village, telling their stories in the living rooms and kitchens of the rural Irish people for centuries. Ben McCarthy is an Irish story collector, employed by the Irish Folklore Commission traveling and collecting stories throughout the Irish countryside. Ben’s mentor, James Clare (another story collector), bequeathed his most precious resource to Ben while on his deathbed. John Jacob Farrell O’Neill was known as the most powerful remaining storyteller in Ireland (possibly the world), the last great Seanchai. Up until James Clare passed him onto Ben, James had jealously guarded John Jacob as his own. Now Mr. Delaney begins to weave a story of Ben McCarthy’s life while paralleling this journey with Irish stories told by John Jacob in the best of Irish traditions. Ben falls in love, marries his love, loses her, finds her again, skirts dangers with the IRA, arranges for the murders of 3 men, condemns himself for his actions and begins a path to redemption. This is but a short list of the travels and travails of Ben McCarthy. The reader is exposed to an intimate view of Ireland in the 1950’s, the hard lives of the Irish in the rural countryside, the violence and the subterfuge caused by the conflict between the IRA and the English. These narratives are full of Ben’s introspections as he faces one hurdle after another. My contention would be that it is near impossible for any human being to read this book and not be able to relate on many levels with Ben and his troubles. Not only can you relate, you learn more about yourself while enjoying the journey and you understand why these Irish folks looked forward to the visits of the Seanchai. In “The Last Storyteller”, Mr. Delaney has written a multi-dimensional novel that is enjoyed from several perspectives. Follow Ben’s journey while he is transformed into the next great Seanchai with the help of John Jacob O’Neill.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    Fantastic conclusion!

    There were some notable things lacking in Frank Delaney’s The Matchmaker of Kenmare, which surprised me, because Delaney is capable of writing, and had already written a nearly perfect novel (Ireland). What I didn’t know back then, is that Delaney was holding back. He was saving the big punches for his newest book,the final in the Ben McCarthy trilogy, The Last Storyteller. This novel, like Ireland, is everything an Irish novel should be. It’s funny at times, tragic at times and always a tiny bit epic (can something be a tiny bit epic?). It is full of the Irish legends and folktales that were so noticeably lacking in the last book. Those who enjoyed the first two Ben McCarthy books, will be very pleased with the final installment. The only negative feeling I took away from the book, was a little bit of sadness that Ben’s story had to end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    ¿I ceased to exist in my body, because as he rose to the high and wild climax of his story, my spirit ascended with him¿

    In this new chapter of Ben’s life, Delaney's intense narrative takes the reader into a splendid atmosphere of opposites: history and myth, violence and poetry, exhilaration and excruciating pain. It is time for Ben MacCarthy to face his past and defeat his worst enemy: his own pusillanimity. Every single aspect and person he comes into contact with seems to be telling him so, yet he remains a coward. But how can he risk rejection again, when life seems to be uncontrollably happening to him, and not at all in a pleasant way? His mentor is gone, the Irish Republican Army is rising, his parents are selling his childhood home and Venetia is back to Ireland. Regardless of The Last Storyteller being a sequence, it works perfectly as a standalone. Any relevant information about Ben’s past is sprinkled about, always in perfect harmony with the passage it is part of, thus enabling a new reader to enjoy the book without missing some of the details that make it wonderful. The Last Storyteller takes place in 1957, about ten years after the events of “The Matchmaker of Kenmare”, in an Ireland divided between those grateful for the independence gained by the south counties and those angered that part of the island is still under the English power. Ben is dragged into the fray by Jimmy Bermingham, a sort of friend one has to be really, really trusting to make and even more understanding to keep. Ironically, it is also through Jimmy that Ben comes to know Marian Killeen, a single, rich woman who plays a vital role in Ben’s decision to take Venetia back from Gentleman Jack. It goes without saying that tales of Ireland’s past are part of each chapter, but this time such tales are more than a background to paint Ben’s job. They seem to illustrate what Ben is about to witness taking place, either in a secluded village in the countryside or with nation-wide repercussions. Such tales complement the narrative beautifully and reminded me of why I fell in love with Delaney’s Ireland so many years ago. The recurring characters show a natural development from the first two instalments, and it is no surprise how much this is more prominent in Ben and Venetia. He is more mature, more obstinate, and less wimpy. She is more reclusive, more fragile, dealing with emotional scars accumulated during 25 years hoping Ben would come to her rescue. When he finally does, she struggles to overcome what has been ingrained in her soul: lack of confidence and trust. A highly delightful addition is the introduction of Ben and Venetia’s twins. Ben and Louise bring a gentle shift in the characters’ dynamics, not to mention it provided Ben with a new and definite quality of self-assurance. On the other hand, Marian Killeen has an important part to play and she comes out as independent and ahead of her time in some ways. However, I could not make myself like her. All in all, it is an enchanting book. Not only is it recommended to readers who appreciate a bardic storytelling but also to those who can relish the writer’s choice of words and their impact on the whole. The title fits Delaney himself and more than once I found myself wondering what aspects of his own life can be found between the lines. I make Delaney’s words mine by describing my experience reading The Last Storyteller: “I ceased to exist in my body, because as he rose to the high and wild climax of his story, my spirit ascended with him”.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    True Revenge---Chapter 4---Classes

    The room was bright. I held up my hand to shield my eyes. A shadow was approaching me. "This is her?" A dissaproving male voice sounded. "Yes. It is." That sounded like lion. "Eowyn!?" A disbelieving voice followed. Was that Shadow? Shadow is known as the secret. I only heard him speak once before. But Amber apparently heard him talking to his friend that he wouldnt go to the end year ceremony last year because he was set to sit by me. He was scared to sit by me! Serious crush, dude. These thoughts only take a second to go through my mind before i hear new footsteps. "Moon!" Aarons vioce sounds. "Aaron." I say angrily. "Mind turning down the lights." I hear laughter. "You try." How?! I could barely see and the light was getting brighter. I felt it burning me."Seriously!" I hear another laugh before i let out a scream of pain, my eyes burning. The lights flash then then shatter. Sparks rained down. Aaron was staring at me disbelievingly. Lion walked over with Shadow and someone else. Shadow was staring and lion was grinning. The other man looked thoughtful. "My names snake." I nod. "Your real?" The typicall response. Wanring to know the real name. He smirks. "You have no reason to know. But it's Ether." I nod. "Eether" I repeat. He nods. "One e, but i guess there isnt a spelling test." I nod and the bell rings. The door opens and a student, grass i believe, pokes his head in. I dip my head to the teachers and run out.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Our last hope

    The days were falling and so was I. Never to see my family again. In war. I am Kino. 25 year old native american. I left my mother and father 4 years ago and we were attack jus last night. I was wounded and hurt and if i kept fighting i would die. As i fought the man in front of me i looked over to see my old freind Cyota being stabbed multiple times. As i looked for the half secind i was stuck again in the gut. I fell to the ground unable to fight anymore. I was barley able to make out the first word. " I surrender." I managed to choke out. Our leader told us it is better to die than surrender but i would not agree. I was hit in the head and knocked out....... i woke up to see i was surrounded by darkeness. I was laying on the floor in the back of a moving truck. I heard us stop and the door opened. I felt blinded by th light that was right in front of me. " do what u told you" a man in blue uniform said. Five men were also captured. One was Cyota. I did not know the others. Six of the people whi captured us came out. One if our men jumped out of the back of the truck and tackle one of the other people. He was tazed and quickly push on the ground. He took all of us out of the truck and pushed us down. I was tensing up and i was sweating heavily. I looked at all the men including my own. Onec i got to the last man of the other side of the war, i realized it wasnt a man. She looked at me and must have seen me nurvous because she gave me a "calm down" face. Then Cyota was taken ti the other side of the truck where we coyld nit see him. I was what seemed like 30 minutes when they came back. They took me next. They had a little chair and pushed me in it. One man held my arm out and the other injected some type of liquid in me. They put on gloves. " what i tht for?" I asked " the injection?" I waited for an answer. " so u wont feel pain. " one man said.... ( end of prolodge. I am not being offensive to any race cuz i live them both. I makeing the story of what i have heard in other storys. )

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Frank Delaney' s Best

    I have read all of Frank Delaney's books and have enjoyed each one. I have followed the adventures of Ben McCarthy and Ventia Kelly throughout them. Although I am sorry to see their adventures come to an end, I am pleased to have closure regarding their lives and greatly appreciate the outcome. I eagerly await the next of his books. He is a superb author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

    Frank Delany's books are some of my favorite. He is a great story teller!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    Neutral on this one

    Slow going, I usually read a book quickly but this one just could not keep me reading. Picked up at the end but I can not really recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Last Storyteller is the third and final installment in the s

    The Last Storyteller is the third and final installment in the story of Ben McCarthy and his estranged, Venetia Kelly. The trilogy began with Venetia Kelly’s Travelling Show which was followed by The Matchmaker of Kenmare. Spanning two decades, through these novels, Frank Delaney has given readers a glimpse of Ireland and its rich culture.

    In this ambitious epic, Ben McCarthy is the main character. Venetia, his estranged wife, plays a larger role in this final book. The brilliance of this book and the talent of the author lies in the author’s ability to cover the larger scope of Ireland’s history such as the IRA and poverty while never losing sight of Ben whose own personal adversities evolve as the story progresses and the reader comes to understand his pain, his losses, and motivations.

    Although I encourage you to read all three of these intriguing novels, each one can stand alone because the author provides a complete background of the story so far at the start of each book. As I read through the stories, Ben MacCarthy, and the journey and adventures in his life, began to feel real to me. The Last Storyteller closes the trilogy with a completely satisfying ending.

    Frank Delaney is a master storyteller himself. His passion for Irish history is evident on each page that is intermingled with politics, adversity, and plenty of conflict. Never boring, always entertaining, and forever poignant, this was a trilogy on a grand scale. A highly recommended trilogy indeed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    What a delightful read this was! It is a constantly moving stor

    What a delightful read this was! It is a constantly moving story that is wonderfully told by a master storyteller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2012

    At a fairly late point in The Last Storyteller , the pro

    At a fairly late point in <i>The Last Storyteller ,</i>
    the protagonist Ben McCarthy says that, in times of acute pain and fear, people needed &quot;something other than their norms.&quot; By this, he was referring to the power of stories to heal and unite people: &quot;At one stride we had returned to a kind of spiritual paganism, an intense humanism almost, a reaching for primitive beliefs in the power of the human spirit to learn how to heal itself.&quot; (337) This is, at heart, what <i>The Last Storyteller </i>
    is about: the power of stories to unite and heal.

    The novel is the last in a trilogy that follows <i>The Matchmaker of Kenmare </i>
    and <i>Venetia Kelly's Traveling Show, </i>
    and although there are hints of a prior story in <i>The Last Storyteller</i>
    --Ben's father's relationship with Venetia, and Venetia's abduction are all key to the plot of <i>The Last Storyteller</i>
    -- enough backstory is revealed for this novel to work as a standalone read. This is partly due to the way in which <i>The Last Storyteller</i>
    incorporates the rich backdrop of Ireland in the 1950s at the official start of &quot;the troubles&quot;. This helps put the very personal events of Ben's life into an historical context.

    Ben himself is a perfect character, as <i>seancha&iacute; </i>
    John Jacob O'Neill puts it, &quot;a weak character who grows strong, because the best legends are those where we learn how to overcome what besets us.&quot; His character arc is revealed in narrative epistle as confession, self-revelation growing through the story of his life which he is telling and mythologising. Though he has his own backstory that is slowly drawn into the thread of his new story, Ben is instantly credible through self-deprecation and honesty as he reveals what he's lost and the pain, love and longing that motivates him. The descriptions he provides are detailed and poetic, such as this depiction of his dying mentor James Clare:

    <blockquote>The skin on his face had become rice paper. Thin lines I had never seen before ran down his cheekbones, small, ice-blue veins. His hair, dense as scrub, stood up, as uncombed as ever. Against the pallor of the skin, the insides of his nostrils seemed almost to glow red. And I saw, not for the first time, his deerline eyelashes. (100)</blockquote>


    The story is so quiet and full of sensation and observation that it's almost possible to forget how broad the landscape is that it covers as famine and poverty, IRA rebellion and government brutality divides the island through violence and anger. Ben too has reasons to be wretched through his desperate love story, however, the story is delivered after the fact, with a detached distant narrative, and like William Butler Yeat's Chinaman in &quot;Lapis Lazuli&quot;, Ben's delivery remains Buddistically detached and warm. Throughout the story's progression, internal and external perception work seamlessly, focusing on the characters emotion through the details of each scene rather than on the external action:

    <blockquote>The piper ceased. Voices rose and fell in the muttered and stuttered litanies of obsequy. Some of the prayers ran away with the breeze. Dipping a round-knobbed silver pestle into a small silver bucket, the priest scattered holy water on the coffin. Now the loss began to bite. (105)</blockquote>


    Each line that makes up <i>The Last Storyteller </i>
    is tight, poetic, and so delicately dense that I suspect I could go through the short chapters with the same careful attention that Delaney is showing James Joyce in his Re:Joyce unpacking of<i> Ulysses, </i>
    and continually find new references and rhythms. Beyond the immediacy of Ben and Venetia's story, the IRA and Jimmy Bermingham's story, or the story of obsession around Elma and Dan Barry, and there are other tales too. There are the legends and stories that underpin every modern story and all of our lives. There is Malachi and Finn MacCool, King Billy, Diarmuid, the proud king who lived on an island off the coast of Munster, and many more tales that move smoothly around the globe and backwards and forwards in time.

    <i>The Last Storyteller</i>
    is a novel about the power of stories and about how they convey meaning and immortality to our lives. At one point Ben McCarthy is told that to tell a good story you need to use language with accuracy and elegance. Certainly this is what Frank Delaney does in <i>The Last Storyteller. </i>
    Delaney's linguistic toolbox is as well honed and polished as Ben's becomes and this, his own story, is one that will resonate with the reader well beyond the pages of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An Enchanting Read-Wonderfully Written

    The Last Storyteller was a very well written story about love and life. Frank Delaney's main character is very likable and real, and about as far from one-dimensional as one can be. Stil while the storytelling is grand and the language of the book is elegantly beautiful, my favorite thing would have to be the stories within the story that are told by either John Jacob Farrel O'Neill or Ben MacCarthy himself. They were among my favorite parts of the book, and probably the most elegant of all the writings.

    While The Last Storyteller is part of a three-book "series", and I almost always insist on reading collections of related books from the first-the last or most recent. The Last Storyteller, however, truly does stand on its own- although I admit that I would like to read the other two books just because my interest has been peaked. While The Last Storyteller is fiction, it is so very easy to forget that when reading it- the story is told that well and that realistically. The characters are all enchanting and fascinating- I have to say by far I loved John Jacob Farrel O'Neill. Whether you love the written language and the beauty of words, enjoy folklore from days past, or just enjoy reading a good love story, The Last Storyteller will satisfy a lot of different tastes-there's even murder and political tension all throughout it.

    This book was provided for me by the publisher at no charge, nor was I given compensation
    of any kind for this review. This review only reflects my personal opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Imagine spending an evening at an intimate dinner party where the food and the company are so magnificent that when you return home for the evening all you can do is slip off your shoes, find the nearest chair and sit staring into space mouthing to yourself the various parts of the evening and conversation that struck you at your core. That’s what this book has done for me.
    Frank Delaney was born in Tipperary, Ireland and has been a BBC Broadcaster, a former judge of the Booker Prize, and has published several novels that are part of a series that concludes here in his latest novel, The Last Storyteller. Frank Delaney currently resides in Connecticut and New York, and can be found on Facebook, Twitter, and his own web-site where he also provides a regular podcast about James Joyce’s Ulysses.
    The Last Storyteller is the final conclusion of the main character, Ben MacCarthy’s, life. The first two novels, Venetia Kelly’s Traveling Show and The Matchmaker of Kenmare introduce you to Ben MacCarthy and the love of his life, Venetia Kelly. I have not yet read these two preceding novels but certainly will be hunting them up now that I’ve had the great fortune of reading its third which can stand alone, but has made me thirsty for more.
    Ben MacCarthy’s life in 1956 is tumultuous. As he collects stories for the Folklore Commission, he encounters less than savory characters along the way and is swept unexpectedly into the rising tide of violence sweeping Ireland at this time. In addition, the love of his life has returned from the United States as part of a traveling show titled, “Gentleman Jack and his Friend,” which is of course headed by no such gentleman at all: Jack Stirling. To further complicate Ben’s life, his twin children whom he has never met are in tow of this traveling show. Ben battles his feelings of fear and regret as he must now decide how to rescue his beloved wife, after he had abandoned his chance years ago.
    Frank Delaney’s novel weaves in characters that will take your breath away, especially John Jacob O’Neill, a most wonderful storyteller and a gentleman to the core whose stories seem to predict Ben’s future each time Ben drops in for a visit. Jimmy Bermingham, a rabble-rouser, brings unwanted excitement into Ben’s otherwise sedate life on the road. Finally, Venetia Kelly’s appearances and disappearances in the novel are maddening in their enticement and brevity. Venetia is as mysterious a woman as they come, her thoughts veiled from the audience as well as from Ben, their marriage as long and bumpy a road as you could ever anticipate and yet the tenderness and devotion through the years brings relief to the reader.
    What I love most about the novel is that the main character is not presented as a neat and tidy hero that follows a steady climb upwards through difficulties. Ben advances and retreats in many battles within him and with others just as all true humans do. He is doggedly stubborn in the worst ways, slow to move his feet towards doing the right thing, and blunders into the wrong hands when searching for help. Ben’s saving grace is his connection to the ultimate storyteller, John Jacob O’Neill, who takes him under his wing and brings order and wisdom to his life. As a result, Ben is able to bring about the desired means to his own life and finds the words to tell his own ultimate story.
    I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves Ireland, folklore, and especially those who underst

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    Who is the greatest storyteller of all?

    I received an advance copy of this book. I loved this book, the third and final part of the trilogy. We get to see how the story of Ben and Venitia ends. Frank Delaney sweeps you up in this final book and does not let you go or disappoint. I ask you....who is the greatest storyteller? Most definitely...Frank Delaney. You get my vote Mr. Delaney. You just keep getting better with time. Congratulations on a job well done...a book well-written...a story well told. I look forward to your next novel, another masterpiece!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2