Customer Reviews for

The Last Straw (Diary of a Wimpy Kid Series #3) (PagePerfect NOOK Book)

Average Rating 4.5
( 598 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(460)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

81 out of 103 people found this review helpful.

its a great book

i think its very funny, thriling, and entertaining its great for all ages

posted by 722474 on December 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Diary of a Wimpy Kid - Always a Fun Read

These graphic novels by Kinney are so much fun to read. They're quick and easy, but help to remind us all about the perils of middle school and growing up. They put "picture books" in an entirely different kind of category, walking the line between the often dark and or...
These graphic novels by Kinney are so much fun to read. They're quick and easy, but help to remind us all about the perils of middle school and growing up. They put "picture books" in an entirely different kind of category, walking the line between the often dark and ornate worlds of the comic books or graphic novels, and the simplistic messages conveyed by illustrated books for children. It feels very much like you're reading the journal/diary of a tween.

-Lindsey Miller, lindseyslibrary

posted by Lindsey_Miller on April 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 598 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 30
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    its a great book

    i think its very funny, thriling, and entertaining its great for all ages

    81 out of 103 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not Too Wimpy!

    My kids kept going on about the Wimpy Kid books. I honestly had never heard of them. But they really love them, so I decided to skim through this one. It was pretty good. It does have a good message about how it is okay to be different. Plus, it has my kids reading...and off the computer for a few minutes. I also got them another book they were wanting called Pumpkin Guts. I know...I know. It is a great book also though. I highly recommend both books.

    66 out of 83 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2008

    great!

    great book! ive read it ten times!

    60 out of 82 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2008

    great great great

    diary of a wipy kid the last straw rocked my world rodrick is my fav! jeff kinney rocks

    44 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2008

    diary of the wimpy kid is back!

    Jeff kinney is an awesome and hilarous man and he came out with a third Diary of a wimpy kid im his biggest fan.

    39 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2009

    Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Last Straw

    Greg's third year at his middle school is starting to change. He and all the other boys in his class like Holly Hills, because the top three all have boyfriends. But when Greg tries to make a good impression on her, she calls him Fregley. When a girl moves into his neighborhood, his luck has FINALLY changed!

    30 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2008

    this rocks

    this is the best serive ive ever read other then the bible

    29 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2008

    Great Book!!!

    I think these books are awesome really funny i cant wait till the next one comes out :)

    25 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    huge fan 101

    I think this book will be a great one. I bet it will be better then number 1 and number 2 Rodrick rules. I can't wait to read it I am going to be the very first one to lay my hands on it.Jeff Kinney is a great author to me one day I will be a great author just like him<BR/><BR/><BR/>from,Daniella Sinofsky 9 year old girl =-)

    24 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2008

    Fakers

    How can you write a review when it doesn't come out until next year???

    15 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Diary of a Whimpy Kid 3

    Diary of a Whimpy Kid 3 Is absolutley genius! It shows how generuos parents can rarely be if we work hard, how weird other poeple and school mates can be, how annoying famly can be, and it tells a little about love. It's just like a real diary and I feel like it could really be someone's life story!

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2008

    Awesome!

    I've read the past books in the "Diary" series, and I hope this one is as great as the others.

    11 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Favorite book of all time!

    Greg Heffley isn't self-centered. Really. He just likes thinking of himself in a positive way, though it seems he always gets the bad end of the deal. Middle school is challenging enough. Adding a hippy-skippy mother, a baby of a brother, and reasonably attractive girls just makes the stress lever higher. Greg is trying his hardest to concentrate on the important things, like making his father happy and proud. But being the way he is, Greg is easily distracted, especially by wanting to blow dandelions, playing last minute jokes, and finding who the snack thief is. Told through his own journal and own drawings, Greg shares what it is like to be a wimpy kid.

    Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Last Straw is too much like real life to not have laugh-out-loud moments. Not only was I giggling at every page, I was full-out belly laughing at Greg's decisions and situations, which made my stomach feel a little weak but my eyes wanting to read more. This book is so realistic in every way: not wanting to get up for the remote because you're in a comfortable position, resisting the urge to blow dandelions (which Greg isn't too good at). It all made so much sense! I shared most every part to my parents and siblings and hearing my mother's laugh, you would know for sure that this book is worth checking out at your library. : )


    Contains nothing inappropriate whatsoever.

    10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2008

    ilove your stories

    The books are really funny number 3 is going to be funny my favorate characters are manny and gregory and the cheese touch is really funny.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2008

    Spectacular

    Im looking forward to it,and I hope it is as good as book 1,and book 2.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    IT'S HARD TO DECIDE WHICH ONE OF THE BOOKS IS THE BEST IN THE SERIES!

    It seems that Jeff Kinney still has plenty of tricks up his sleeve! The Last Straw is definitely one of the best books in the series, filled with non-stop laughs and amazing adventures. The Diary of a Wimpy Kid series is one of the only series which you can never get tired of!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2008

    Awsome

    I can't wait until it comes out. I read the other 2 books and they were pretty great so i know this one will pass all my expectations

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2008

    He does it again

    I havent read it yet but I have read the other to and they are awesome so i think this one will be to

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2009

    Great

    I loved this book! It was really funny. Best of all 3 books.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2008

    an outstanding job by Jeff Kinney!!!!

    I love all of jeff kinney's books, I happen to and I love his books sooo much, they just make me giggle I love everything about his books from Greg to Chirag Giputa!!! I bet this will be a truly awsome book!!!!!!

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 598 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 30