Customer Reviews for

The Last Straw (Diary of a Wimpy Kid Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 598 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(460)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

81 out of 103 people found this review helpful.

its a great book

i think its very funny, thriling, and entertaining its great for all ages

posted by 722474 on December 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Diary of a Wimpy Kid - Always a Fun Read

These graphic novels by Kinney are so much fun to read. They're quick and easy, but help to remind us all about the perils of middle school and growing up. They put "picture books" in an entirely different kind of category, walking the line between the often dark and or...
These graphic novels by Kinney are so much fun to read. They're quick and easy, but help to remind us all about the perils of middle school and growing up. They put "picture books" in an entirely different kind of category, walking the line between the often dark and ornate worlds of the comic books or graphic novels, and the simplistic messages conveyed by illustrated books for children. It feels very much like you're reading the journal/diary of a tween.

-Lindsey Miller, lindseyslibrary

posted by Lindsey_Miller on April 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Diary of a Wimpy Kid - Always a Fun Read

    These graphic novels by Kinney are so much fun to read. They're quick and easy, but help to remind us all about the perils of middle school and growing up. They put "picture books" in an entirely different kind of category, walking the line between the often dark and ornate worlds of the comic books or graphic novels, and the simplistic messages conveyed by illustrated books for children. It feels very much like you're reading the journal/diary of a tween.

    -Lindsey Miller, lindseyslibrary

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wimpy Kid books for second graders

    All diary of a wimpy kid books are way to young for me I am in the fourth grade and few of my friends like it the more advanced kids think it is way to young for us we think it is way to easy to read even most third graders think it is to young for them and the first graders think it's to old for them and is perfect for the second grade. Please understand me I just think it's way to young!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Sure its cool

    I think i am so cool and whatnot but i already preordered the new book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    November 29, 2012

    :/ :|

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    redskins diary of a wimpy kid the last straw

    I thought that the diary of a wimpy kid the last straw by Jeff Kenny. IT was a great book gregs dad is going to send to military school .And Greg is on the soccer team he is not doing so well he was put in the news paper for blowing dandy lions on the fields witch costed the team an undefeated season . I think the author propose of writing the diary of a wimpy kid books were to make reading fun of kids.
    I read the first book and was hooked on them I loved the diary of a wimpy kid books they were so funny. And I laughed about every page. I couldn't wait till the next page.
    I told my friends about this book and now they are hooked on it just like me they thought they wouldn't like the book but they were wrong my friends are all reading them now.
    Greg was at school and and was having to were dirty cloths because of soccer and a pair of dirty under wear fell out of his pants leg and when the teacher found the under wear they said on the inter com Greg will you please come to the office to pick up your under wear. I just can't wait till the ugly truth comes out. And that's why I like the books so much.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2010

    The last straw of the diaries

    The book is easy to read. I read it in an hour. It is short and illustrated to allow an easy follow up of what to do.
    You can pick it up and read it while you have a few minutes odd time and nothing else to do, you can start it and leave it and it is still easy to go back to read because the characters and the plot are so simple to follow. No wonder kids love this book because there is no barrier to read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I am a 6th grader at mountain shadows elementary school in glendale, AZ

    I am giving a review on diary of a wimpy kid.I will give it a good review because of the people. For exemple greg is sick of his brother rodrick and his ways.[rodrick beats up every one and of corse mostley greg.] The people in the book "diary fo a wimpy kid" are so comeplex because of all of the fights and drama.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2009

    ok book

    This book was better then the first Diary Of A Wimpy Kid. The reason I liked it was because it more than the first book was because it has more going on and it skips topics less. I didn't like it because it felt like it had more writing in it.

    In this story Greg gets on soccer team and quickly realizes that he hates soccer. In mid season he joins the boy scouts and quits soccer. He slowly realizes that he doesn't like boy scouts either.

    This book is for the type of reader who likes fast paced books. It also is a short book. So if you have trouble staying with books, this is the book for you. I hope you like it and have fun reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    what i think about this book

    I say that this book was really good but only for fun because I didn't see a reason to write this book. Yea maybe to give a kid a little laugh in school but to me I didn't find a lesson in this book. But I would recommend this book to one of my friends if they what it a good laugh for the day. But I wouldn't recommed this book to my friend if they had to do a book report.
    This is why i gave this book three stars not five like the other book i did. The other book i did is called what my mother doesnt know. Anyone who reads my review should read that book it is way better then this book. Sorry to say that about this book but it is true.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2