BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Last Summer (of You and Me)

Average Rating 4
( 234 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(100)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Reading...it's my addiction

I really love this book. I felt a lot of it dragged on in details but once it got to certain areas you were really impacted with the characters emotions. It's like everything they felt were really intensified and well defined. I like a lot of the messages this book cont...
I really love this book. I felt a lot of it dragged on in details but once it got to certain areas you were really impacted with the characters emotions. It's like everything they felt were really intensified and well defined. I like a lot of the messages this book contained, about how things change and grow while others remain the same. It really makes you question things. Overall the book was one I will never forget and one I think everyone {mostly} should read.

posted by Jfaurie on April 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

a mellow read

I think the main reason why people dont enjoy this book is due to the fact that we have all read SisterHood of the Traveling Pants. The Last Summer of you and Me have nothing to deal with the pants...and for the first few page i cant help but think back about her previo...
I think the main reason why people dont enjoy this book is due to the fact that we have all read SisterHood of the Traveling Pants. The Last Summer of you and Me have nothing to deal with the pants...and for the first few page i cant help but think back about her previous novels...however as i get into the middle of it, my mind eased down and i started thinking more about the story itself...The Last Summer of You and Me is sweet and touching, at certain times I could even find myself crying for the characters...i wouldnt say that its a read for everyone...but it is a good book...not great but it was a mellow read

posted by sinlessbeauty116 on October 24, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 24, 2008

    a mellow read

    I think the main reason why people dont enjoy this book is due to the fact that we have all read SisterHood of the Traveling Pants. The Last Summer of you and Me have nothing to deal with the pants...and for the first few page i cant help but think back about her previous novels...however as i get into the middle of it, my mind eased down and i started thinking more about the story itself...The Last Summer of You and Me is sweet and touching, at certain times I could even find myself crying for the characters...i wouldnt say that its a read for everyone...but it is a good book...not great but it was a mellow read

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Awful e-format

    Do NOT buy this book on Nook! The book itself is fantastic, classic Ann Brashares, but the e-book format was just horrible. No chapter headings or even breaks between chapters. Not even a space between paragraphs to let you know that they were moving onto a new scene or day. Felt like one giant run on sentence. So disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    The Last Summer of You and Me

    Not a bad read, but I really enjoyed her Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series so much more. I'm not crazy about how the story was written either, but I will continue to read her novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Simply OK...

    This book was OK. It wasn't worth recommending to a friend, but it was good enough that I didn't have to force myself to finish it. I found the story engaging with a few plot twists and unexpected turns, but overall the characters seemed to lack depth despite the authors best efforts to make them appear to be complex.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    Surprised this book stuck with me

    I was a fan of Ann Brashares from her "Sisterhood" books for teens. I surprisingly was drawn into the "Traveling Pants" world and wanted to read this book when it was released. I had a hard time getting into the book orignially, but found it interesting once I learned more about the characters. I liked the book, but wasn't that impressed. However, my mind went make to the book after finishing it. I still find it confusing that I think back to this book so often. Obviously it was a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Summer Story you won't forget.

    I was glad that Ms. Brashares moved her writing skills to portray adult oriented characters. I have a great brother and maybe it was the way the author wrote of the deep relationship of the sisters in this story that I enjoyed this story. Still, in my opinion the story moved along at a good pace and kept my interest. The plot seemed to jump around a bit, but the characters where well defined and the author did an excellent job of describing the scenes, that I felt as if I was standing right there with the characters. In summary I enjoyed the book very much and I hope Ms. Brashares continues to write more adult character driven stories in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2010

    Great beach read.

    This is a great book to take along on a beach vacation. A love story, the tension between Alice and Paul is intense. You can't wait for them to get together. I didn't like the character of Riley. I felt she was a bit selfish - knowing that asking Alice to keep her secret would jeopardize her relationship with Paul. There is some resolution in the end, however, you never really get to know Riley. Overall, I enjoyed it. Would I buy it? No. It was an easy and enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Loyalty, love and a secret collide

    Three twenty-something young people have known each other since they were youngsters summering on Fire Island. Sisters Riley and Alice are very loyal to each other, but are very diffeent in personalty and stature. Paul loves them both, each in a dfferent way. His attraction to Alice, Riley's illness, and his inability to declare his feelings, collide with a secret between Riley and Alice. They all must join the real adult world. This book is a bit slow, but worth reading/listening. I highly recommend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    predictable.

    that said, it still managed to make me cry. i like this book, but don't read it if you're needing to feel uplifted.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2009

    Sweet story

    Good book, but a little predictable.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2008

    Ok....

    I was looking foward to reading this book because I loved the Sisterhood books. This book was simply not as good. It was very confusing to figure out who was speaking and the plot would start and stop. I love Ann Brashares but her other books were better.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2007

    I was expecting a lot better

    I have read all of the books from the traveling pants series when I was younger and I loved them. I assumed her new book would be just as good but it wasn't. It ws boring and didn't pick up at all, I kept reading it hoping it would get better. Also, I felt that since this book was for the older, adult readers, Ann Brashares felt that she had to use 'bigger' words instead of simple words like angyr or protective to make her book relate more to the adult readers. When too many words like that are put together, the langugage doesn't sound right and I had to go back a couple times to reread the same paragraph and I hate reading a book where I have to go back because it didn't make sense the first time. This book isn't really worth buying, I would just borrow it from the library.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2007

    Disappointing

    I was very excited to read this book, thinking it would be the perfect book to read during the summer. The plot drones on and only focuses on the internal emotions of Paul and Alice...nothing ever really happens! I felt like I was only experiencing the thoughts inside the characters heads, yet they weren't developig. The characters were underdeveloped and a little too predictable and sterotypical. I was glad when I finished the book since the plot and the characters hadn't left me wanting more.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3