Customer Reviews for

The Last Summer (of You and Me)

Average Rating 4
( 234 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(100)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Reading...it's my addiction

I really love this book. I felt a lot of it dragged on in details but once it got to certain areas you were really impacted with the characters emotions. It's like everything they felt were really intensified and well defined. I like a lot of the messages this book cont...
I really love this book. I felt a lot of it dragged on in details but once it got to certain areas you were really impacted with the characters emotions. It's like everything they felt were really intensified and well defined. I like a lot of the messages this book contained, about how things change and grow while others remain the same. It really makes you question things. Overall the book was one I will never forget and one I think everyone {mostly} should read.

posted by Jfaurie on April 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

a mellow read

I think the main reason why people dont enjoy this book is due to the fact that we have all read SisterHood of the Traveling Pants. The Last Summer of you and Me have nothing to deal with the pants...and for the first few page i cant help but think back about her previo...
I think the main reason why people dont enjoy this book is due to the fact that we have all read SisterHood of the Traveling Pants. The Last Summer of you and Me have nothing to deal with the pants...and for the first few page i cant help but think back about her previous novels...however as i get into the middle of it, my mind eased down and i started thinking more about the story itself...The Last Summer of You and Me is sweet and touching, at certain times I could even find myself crying for the characters...i wouldnt say that its a read for everyone...but it is a good book...not great but it was a mellow read

posted by sinlessbeauty116 on October 24, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Reading...it's my addiction

    I really love this book. I felt a lot of it dragged on in details but once it got to certain areas you were really impacted with the characters emotions. It's like everything they felt were really intensified and well defined. I like a lot of the messages this book contained, about how things change and grow while others remain the same. It really makes you question things. Overall the book was one I will never forget and one I think everyone {mostly} should read.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another enjoyable read from Ann Brashares.

    I enjoyed reading this (relatively) new book by Ann Brashares. It was bittersweet and funny and intense as you spent the summer with the 3 main characters. You could feel like you were there on the island with them. I would have liked it to end a little differently but other than that, I really enjoyed it.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2009

    Loved it!

    Thoroughly romantic with a little bittersweetness. It isn't the most challenging book read, but I could not put down the book and I have read it a couple more times since I bought it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A very heart warming love story...

    Paul, Riley and Alice have been best friends since they were kids. Riley and Alice are sisters - Riley the eldest and Paul used to carry Alice around when she was a baby. The books starts off Alice waiting for Paul to get off the Ferry to Fire Island where they all used to meet during Summer, however, it has been 3 years since Paul has made it back to the island. Alice is 21, Paul and Riley are 24 - 3 years older than her. Paul's always been mean to Alice, and you know the saying goes, if a boy dips your ponytail in paint, he likes you. It goes without saying that Paul has been in love with Alice for as long as he can remember, and Alice has been waiting and saving herself for Paul.

    When Paul finally comes to Fire Island, he knows that Riley, the Summer lifeguard, will not be waiting for him at the end of the dock on the Ferry but only Alice will. He realized he hasn't seen her in 3 years and was nervous about that.

    Paul is afraid that their friendships may change if he gave in to his wanting Alice and therefore keeps her at arms length and still is some times mean to her. One day Alice gathers up her courage and entices him and tells him she wants to be with him ...

    Their romance starts but there are two secrets within these friends that will rock their world ...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    Alice, her older sister Riley, and next-door neighbor Paul have grown up together, barefoot on the splintery boardwalks of the kind of resort town where nobody locks the door or carries a wallet. As a teen, Riley was the youngest of the lifeguards; now, at 24, she's the oldest, still content to stare out over the ocean in the hopes of catching sight of a dolphin. Alice worries that both of them are aiming too low in the journey towards adulthood, hence Alice's decision to go to law school, where she hopes she'll learn to be a grown up. When tragedy strikes, Alice finds herself filled with fear that she and Paul are betraying Riley by turning a threesome into a couple plus third wheel. Technically, Paul is Riley's best friend, and they've always "shared" Alice as a little sister. For Alice to claim a greater stake in Paul than Riley is more than she feels entitled to allow herself. It's an emotional roller coaster of a book because you feel for Alice and the feeling of loss and sadness, it's a very touching book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2007

    Heartwarming Magic!

    My daughter read the Sisterhood series. When I was looking online for the series for her for Christmas, I found The Last Summer by the same author. It's so cute I wish I could put into words how magnificent it is! All I have to say is watch out Nicholas Sparks (The Notebook), here comes Ann Brashares!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Excellent book!

    I could hardly put the book down. Great book devoted to sisterly love and friendship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Highly Recommended, you need to check this one out!

    This book was absolutely a great read, I hated to put it down until I was finished reading. It was very moving.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    Nice, easy, summer read

    It was bought as an easy summer read and stayed as a summer read. I really connected to Alice and felt all her emotions during the ups and downs of her summer. It was a great pool read, short but simple. The plot takes a little bit of time to get going and the book changes points of view often but you can quickly understand it. I recommend for someone looking for some YA with a bit of romance, loss, and pain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    Great beach read!

    Great book! Good coming of age book. Makes you think about what is truly important in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Good...

    I was completely emotionally invested in these characters. A moving story about three people trying to hold on to the innocence of childhood, but realizing that they have to move forward or be left behind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2010

    I loved this book!

    It didn't take long to get into this book and then I couldn't put it down. I loved the characters; they are easy to relate to and have real human qualities you don't always find in novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reminds you of your own friends..

    Friends, secret lovers, sisters.. they spend one last summer together. Being a quirk loving group between them. Secretly Paul and the sister are see each other, while the other, is struggling to tell them all of her sickness.

    I read this book in two days, but how could you not. I lvoe of my own friends, the people I cared about and how it would feel for me. I won't lie, the ending was a bit boring and wasn't as exciting as I wanted it to be, but still a fantastic read. Just remember to have some tissues handy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wow, a different way of looking at best friends and sister relationships!

    The last summer of the way the characters relate to one another. Life happens, an interesting way they deal with the 'hand' they have been dealt and how they will live with their new reality.
    This is also a story of unconditional love of sisters and childhood friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not her best

    okay story, plods along slowly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2009

    Great story

    This is a fun read that provides a great story and a great message.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2009

    Great story

    Loved the development of this story. It has just enough of a love story in the background to keep you interested, yet keeps you on your toes with realistic life events.
    I thoroughly enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    i lked it

    I thought the point of view and the story prespective was a little hard to understand at first, but once you get the flow of the book you can understand it more.I think the characters were some what belivieable to a level that kept me reading along to see what happenend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2009

    Not my Last Read of Ann Brashares' Work

    This book was a nice read. I couldn't put it down. The characters are alive not just because of the sensuality but because you feel the emotions that is central to all adult friendships. This is the most realistic "love triangle" I've come across thus far. Since, the triangle is not to lovers alone but to other important commitments such as: family, friendship and ambition.

    I have not read the Traveling Pants series, but this book should be enough to make me interested in reading the teenage versions.

    Ann Brashares captures life's complexities in a manner that is simple, still unveliing raw emotions and keeping a plot interesting enough to hook the reader through the last page.

    This book was a lucky find in my bookstore's bargain shelf. And I honestly think its a disservice to Brashares to have had this book in that shelf. Definitely not classic, but also definitely the silly chick lit I expected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2008

    MY THOUGHTS...

    I did enjoy reading this book, its an easy read. The only problem i had with it is that as i was reading it, i felt like i had already read this story. Since that was the case, i knew what laid ahead. So no suprises, but still an interesting love story, in more then one way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3