Customer Reviews for

Last Summer

Average Rating 3.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Last summer ¿ A Read To Remember!

This novel centers on The Patterson family and The Giroux family; especially the mothers and daughters. Have the events in this story destroyed the relationship between the families? I hope you get a chance to read this book and find out for yourself. Rosie Patterson an...
This novel centers on The Patterson family and The Giroux family; especially the mothers and daughters. Have the events in this story destroyed the relationship between the families? I hope you get a chance to read this book and find out for yourself. Rosie Patterson and Meg Giroux have been best friends for a long time. They have lived next door to each other for years. Jane Patterson and Frannie Giroux also have been best friends for a long time too. Over the years Rosie and Meg have confided many secrets to each other. Both girls trusted each other to keep those secrets and they both have up until now. Meg is an outgoing young lady that can stand on her own two feet. Rosie on the other hand is a little more on the timid and laid back side. It seems for months Rosie has been picked on by several girls in and out of school. Meg doesn’t like that Rosie won’t stick up for herself. In a moment that Meg instantly regretted she blurted out to the leader of the girls that have been picking on Rosie a secret about Rosie. Of course, the secret was spread around school by these malicious girls. The damage done to Rosie was pretty bad. There was more abuse and bullying that came out in this book. I don’t want to spoil it for the reader. I found myself wanting to fight for Rosie. I wanted Rosie to tell someone! The relationship between Rosie and Meg and between Jane and Frannie is understandably strained. Will there be healing and forgiveness? Can Rosie ever trust Meg again? Can Jane and Frannie get their relationship back on track? Bullying is never an act that can be condoned. I think more public awareness is needed. Parents as well as school officials should always be on the alert. This is the first book I have read by the author Holly Chamberlin so I can’t compare it to her other novels. I was impressed with the subject line that she chose for this book and I feel she did a great job getting her point a cross in the telling of this story. I am looking forward to reading more novels by her. I wish to thank Kensington Publishing for providing me with an ARC to read and review. The opinions expressed are mine alone.

posted by sunshineJB on May 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Based on nook sample

JAC2848 - did not like nook sample

posted by JAC0314 on July 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    Last summer ¿ A Read To Remember!

    This novel centers on The Patterson family and The Giroux family; especially the mothers and daughters. Have the events in this story destroyed the relationship between the families? I hope you get a chance to read this book and find out for yourself. Rosie Patterson and Meg Giroux have been best friends for a long time. They have lived next door to each other for years. Jane Patterson and Frannie Giroux also have been best friends for a long time too. Over the years Rosie and Meg have confided many secrets to each other. Both girls trusted each other to keep those secrets and they both have up until now. Meg is an outgoing young lady that can stand on her own two feet. Rosie on the other hand is a little more on the timid and laid back side. It seems for months Rosie has been picked on by several girls in and out of school. Meg doesn’t like that Rosie won’t stick up for herself. In a moment that Meg instantly regretted she blurted out to the leader of the girls that have been picking on Rosie a secret about Rosie. Of course, the secret was spread around school by these malicious girls. The damage done to Rosie was pretty bad. There was more abuse and bullying that came out in this book. I don’t want to spoil it for the reader. I found myself wanting to fight for Rosie. I wanted Rosie to tell someone! The relationship between Rosie and Meg and between Jane and Frannie is understandably strained. Will there be healing and forgiveness? Can Rosie ever trust Meg again? Can Jane and Frannie get their relationship back on track? Bullying is never an act that can be condoned. I think more public awareness is needed. Parents as well as school officials should always be on the alert. This is the first book I have read by the author Holly Chamberlin so I can’t compare it to her other novels. I was impressed with the subject line that she chose for this book and I feel she did a great job getting her point a cross in the telling of this story. I am looking forward to reading more novels by her. I wish to thank Kensington Publishing for providing me with an ARC to read and review. The opinions expressed are mine alone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Great read

    What a great story. Not only does it send a great anti bullying message it is a great message in forgiveness and moving forward.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Based on nook sample

    JAC2848 - did not like nook sample

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    This book was very good. This is the first time that I have ever

    This book was very good. This is the first time that I have ever read anything by Holly Chamberlin. I am not going to give any details away but during the course of time that I read this book I was wanting to finish it and read another book. After I had finished I was moved probably because I had been bullied myself when I was that age. But now I find myself wanting to continue on with these characters. I would recommend this book to anyone that likes Holly Chamberlin or to anyone who is looking for a new author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Highly recommend! I could not put it down. Very warmly written book on a tough subject facing teenagers today.

    I love holly Chamberlin's books and have read them all. This book tackled a tough issue facing families with teens these days. Even though it is fiction, it was very real. The characters are real and very eye opening. I have teenage boys and they get bullied too. It was interesting to watch the characters unfold, mature and redefine themselves. Every parent with teenagers should read as an indicator to signs of bullying in their own circle of teenagers. There is comfort in the strength of the characters. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Um, i did not enjoy this

    Not worth the read...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    An emotional journey

    I think this book should be recommended to any young girls out there. Maybe it will be thought provoking enough to change someones life. Okay okay the book ha sa good message. Now for my opinion....the beginning dragged at first and i almost didnt finish this but i am very glad i did. And i dont know if its just my nook...but a few pages were mixed up in the middle and i had to jump between them. Very strange indeed. But this story truly did end up drawing me in. Possibly because the story content truly did speak to me, as i remember all to clearly being bullied and then becoming a bully myself. Anyways...few typos here and there but besides the 4 pages that were mixed up it wasnt anything too confusing and did not detract from the story at all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Good book

    I just started this book and what a good book it turned out to be .It is a lendable book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    LAST SUMMER Holly Chamberlin This is a story about bullying and

    LAST SUMMER Holly Chamberlin
    This is a story about bullying and it's everywhere these days. The grandmother bus monitor in NY was bullied and when others found out, via YouTube, people around the world donated money for her and her cause to stop bullying.
    Rosie and her family, mom and dad live next door to Meg and her younger brother and parents.
    Rosie and Meg are lifetime friends but Meg to fit in socially at school told another female Rosie's secret and then everybody in school knew and everybody shunned her.
    Things get really bad til her parents find out then the parents are no longer friends with each other-the female heads of the families are also lifetime friends.
    Medical issues arise and many secrets. Love the part about diaries and journals and the 'talking doctor' Rosie goes to.
    The girls try to work their way around things to get back to what they once had.
    When the community suffers again from another bullying attack they arise to meet and start a club that they hope will help others.
    I liked the book and what it stands for.
    Some kids today I find so mean to others their age and that they have no respect of older people. Hope things can change for them, make it a more peaceful world we can live in.
    At time I found it very difficult to continue reading this book as the hurt was put there by just others words. Glad I did get to the end, i Looked forward to it ending in what I hoped would not be death.
    Super loved reading about the different locations in Portland Maine. we do travel there at least once a year.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Rosie Patterson is the target of a bullying campaign at her scho

    Rosie Patterson is the target of a bullying campaign at her school. What starts as just teasing from a group of girls, turns into full on abuse. The ultimate betrayal that Rosie receives is her best friend and next door neighbor, Meg Giroux, lets slip a big secret that is used to humiliate Rosie in front of the entire school. This pushes Rosie over the edge and into a downward spiral and ends with self-mutilation. The aftermath ends up tearing apart not only Rosie’s family but also Meg’s. Both families must come full circle and learn to forgive and move forward.

    I am going to be completely honest and say I felt no emotion while reading Last Summer. I was fully expecting to be torn apart due to my own personal experiences but instead I felt I was just reading a story. Chamberlin didn’t pull me in. After reading the Q & A at the end, I figured out why. Chamberlin has never experienced bullying or any of the after effects., she has only researched it because she was asked to write a book on bullying. The storyline was well thought out but it is missing that emotion that needs to be incorporated to pull the reader in and make the impact that it should. I would still recommend readers to pick this book up just because Chamberlin does tell the story from many POVs and the reader realizes how bullying can affect the victim but also ripple thru everyone associated with the victim.

    (ARC was provided by publisher for an honest review)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1