BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Last Templar (Sean Reilly and Tess Chaykin Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 251 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Really Good Book

I bought this book for a plane ride and down time on a trip. I never had any down time so I ended up staying up later than I should have to read this book. If you are interested in Templar or Da Vinci type books, this is the book for you. I was disappointed when I mi...
I bought this book for a plane ride and down time on a trip. I never had any down time so I ended up staying up later than I should have to read this book. If you are interested in Templar or Da Vinci type books, this is the book for you. I was disappointed when I missed the mini-series and thrilled when I saw that there was indeed a book. It did slow down a bit here and there, but, overall it was a good book that was easy to read.

posted by OP_Semloh on March 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Another dirty shot at Christianity

I picked this up at the airport kiosk, I am interested in anything to do with the Crusades and most especially the Knights Templar and I had not seen a review. It is an interesting read, but I was very disappointed when, about 1/3 of the way in, Khoury inserts a small ...
I picked this up at the airport kiosk, I am interested in anything to do with the Crusades and most especially the Knights Templar and I had not seen a review. It is an interesting read, but I was very disappointed when, about 1/3 of the way in, Khoury inserts a small reference to a late-term abortion. A Catholic priest who talked the prospective mother out of an abortion is the bad guy (she went to term and died in delivery). Then, about midway, the now-familiar nonsense about Christ's brother, the revelation that Jesus Christ was not divine, nefarious cover-ups and murder by the Vatican and church hierarchy, etc. Unfortunately, the usual fever-swamp of anti-Christian fiction. If you enjoy that rubbish buy it, otherwise be warned, this is another anti-Catholic, anti-Christian guidebook. Not badly written, but full of both gratuitous and plot-central anti-Catholic elements. The central theis is that Islam, Judaism and Christianity can be integrated to achieve world peace, and the first step is to recognize that Jesus Christ was a fraud. Oh, and the Order of the Poor Knights of Christ and The Temple of Solomon, rather than being legendary heroes of Christianity, should be unmasked as bad guys. I found it offensive. And, for about twenty pages, Khoury pounds away at his anti-divinity theory, for this section it was a bit like a Defensive Driving class. Insulting to me but so badly written it was boring too. Skip it if you are not still a college freshman looking for plausible theories as to why your parents' religious beliefs are at the heart of the world's problems. The Knights Templar were God's Warriors and Raymond Khoury is a small mind.

posted by Anonymous on June 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 253 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2008

    Another dirty shot at Christianity

    I picked this up at the airport kiosk, I am interested in anything to do with the Crusades and most especially the Knights Templar and I had not seen a review. It is an interesting read, but I was very disappointed when, about 1/3 of the way in, Khoury inserts a small reference to a late-term abortion. A Catholic priest who talked the prospective mother out of an abortion is the bad guy (she went to term and died in delivery). Then, about midway, the now-familiar nonsense about Christ's brother, the revelation that Jesus Christ was not divine, nefarious cover-ups and murder by the Vatican and church hierarchy, etc. Unfortunately, the usual fever-swamp of anti-Christian fiction. If you enjoy that rubbish buy it, otherwise be warned, this is another anti-Catholic, anti-Christian guidebook. Not badly written, but full of both gratuitous and plot-central anti-Catholic elements. The central theis is that Islam, Judaism and Christianity can be integrated to achieve world peace, and the first step is to recognize that Jesus Christ was a fraud. Oh, and the Order of the Poor Knights of Christ and The Temple of Solomon, rather than being legendary heroes of Christianity, should be unmasked as bad guys. I found it offensive. And, for about twenty pages, Khoury pounds away at his anti-divinity theory, for this section it was a bit like a Defensive Driving class. Insulting to me but so badly written it was boring too. Skip it if you are not still a college freshman looking for plausible theories as to why your parents' religious beliefs are at the heart of the world's problems. The Knights Templar were God's Warriors and Raymond Khoury is a small mind.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2006

    A great book to avoid.

    I gave this book one star only because I did not have a zero-star option. Based on the now familiar secret-religious-history-conspiracy theme, the book opens with promising scenes of a daring museum robbery, but quickly degenerates into a series of absurdities that are easily punched full of holes. The characters are a group of cliches, not at all interesting, and the budding romance between the two major characters reads like a Harlequin romance on quaaludes. The writing style is unimaginative and uninspired. Mr. Khoury writes as though this were merely an outline of a story, to be fleshed out later. Unfortunately, he never fleshes it out. In half-page sketches, Mr. Khoury runs through scenes that should have taken whole chapters. I finally gave up and tossed it in the trash less than half finished. Some books just aren't worth the time. I strongly recommend that you give this one a wide berth.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2007

    A reviewer

    Almost the same historic characters. Same secrets. Same format with hidden codes and such. The writing was not as compelling, however. I slogged through it, got to the last line where I discovered a slight payoff for the story, but also felt like the author had cheated. Not only do I not recommend this book, I was so disappointed I took my copy and threw it in the trash to make sure no one else would be subjected to it.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Too MUCH

    With the people going nuts with The Da Vinci Code (and I have a feeling that may be Brown's last book) a lot of other authors followed. This one is OK but I'm glad I read it from the library. I won't buy it and it isn't good enough to read again. Sorry.<BR/><BR/>I think Steve Berry's books have better characters and plots. Berry's thrilling fictions have suprising twists and turns. Just better.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2007

    I gave it away

    I picked this book up to read on a flight from Indiana to California. I am wholly intrigued by the Crusades, the Templars,the Church etc and have been for some time now. I have read many books on the subject both fiction and non-fiction and I was hoping that this book would be an exciting and suspensful adventure into the myths as opposed to the often dull historical books I read. This was not the case, I found the plot to be weak. The characters were poorly developed. I knew what was going to happen before I read it, which takes away all the suspense. The dialoque between characters was flat and uneventful. Their language was dry and had no emotion. And as for the ending, horrible. Just a case of another writer trying to cash in on Dan Brown's success.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2006

    Maybe in the hands of a more talented author...

    The storyline was a bit difficult to believe, and the end was so disappointing that I wanted to throw the book out a window. There were moments of potential, but Khoury needs to really refine his writing skills before attempting another book at this level. He's certainly not the next Dan Brown.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2006

    Not good

    This was not a good book...too much exposition, mostly bad dialog, nonsense passed off as historical fact, and a plot that was so completely implausible as to be laughable. The first 100 pages (maybe even the first 200) or so worked in spite of all that, but the last 1/2 is just brutal.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2006

    written by a third grader?

    I wasn't expecting a lot from this book, but it was still incredibly dissapointing. Tha dialogue was completely ridiculous, and the book was so awkwardly written it felt like a third grader had done it. Not exciting, pedantic, and blah.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2006

    UGH! Save your money

    This book was trite and so over the top that it was riduculous. Don't FBI agents and archeologists have to report into their offices every so often? And a CIA-agent priest??? Give me a break. This made the DaVinci Code look plausible. Save your money and time and read something substantial like Doris Kearns Goowin's biography of Lincoln.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    A lot of fun. Depends on the reader as to whether the subject matter is to be taken seriously. Makes a great read inbetween serious books. Comparable to Divinci Code and stirs up the same sellable ideas.

    A lot of fun. Depends on the reader as to whether the subject matter is to be taken seriously. Makes a great read inbetween serious books. Comparable to Divinci Code and stirs up the same sellable ideas.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    Really Good Book

    I bought this book for a plane ride and down time on a trip. I never had any down time so I ended up staying up later than I should have to read this book. If you are interested in Templar or Da Vinci type books, this is the book for you. I was disappointed when I missed the mini-series and thrilled when I saw that there was indeed a book. It did slow down a bit here and there, but, overall it was a good book that was easy to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2006

    Not worth hardcover price

    Not worth it. He does not know what he wants his style to be yet. He had some great moments. But the boring long winded stuff won out and just dragged the story way down. Wait for paperback or better yet if you want to read it borrow it or check it out from the library. Dont waste your money

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2006

    Aye, it was a canny read!

    This was a well paced and exciting ride from the Holy Land to modern day New York (amazing how the Yanks not only win World War 2 single handily, but somehow get involved with the Nights Templar's as well) sorry I diverse! Anyway ,I enjoyed this yarn about the Templar's, but couldn't help feeling this book was a poor man's Da Vinci Code, well written and revealing but somehow not as technically well detailed as Dan Brown's classic. May I be a bit of a devil and say, was this book written on the coattails of Dan Brown, trying to cash in on his success, don't get me wrong I really enjoyed this novel but just had the feeling I had been there before, fighting mad contract killer priests etc, having said that, if you have a burning desire to read similar novels that encompass the ethos of the religious conspiracy theory, this will get your anti- Catholic religion juices dribbling all over yourself in no time! Read and enjoy, but only take the DaVinci Code as the Gospel truth (ha-ha).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2006

    Terrifyingly written

    Lacks Dan Brown's talent or the writing skills of a seventh grader

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2006

    Don't Bother

    Plot: Jesus Christ is a myth, he was just a human being, and the Catholic Church knows it. The Templars discovered His diaries in Jerusalem in the 1200's, a decoder is stolen in New York that will eventually lead to where His diary is hidden. Good so far, but then the people that were looking for it decide that is best if it remains hidden, as the Church has always wanted, perpetuating the lie. Never read a book that starts so well and ends so bad. Don't bother buying it, you will be dissapointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2006

    Save your money

    I was only able to get through about one-third of this highly-publicized book before the trite dialogue, silly and predictable plot, and ridiculous love story sent me back for a refund. This author, a noted screenwriter, may do well in the movies but he fails miserably at being an acceptable writer. This book is compared to the Da Vinci Code but pales in contrast--at least that book was entertaining and controversial. Yet I would't be surprised if this book sells well and, of course, winds up on the cinema screen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2006

    what a mess

    Having thoroughly enjoyed the Da Vinci Code and other thrillers with some historical features, I looked forward to reading this book. Unfortunately, it takes only a few pages to realize this book falls far short of expectations. Lacking in logic, stylistically sloppy, and uneven in plot development, it fails to draw the reader's sympathy or interest. To certain people of faith it could even be construed as insulting- something that similar books have managed to avoid. Yes, it is a book of fiction- but a flimsy story at best. This author is certainly capable of better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2006

    Fast start, stumbled throughout

    The opening scenes of this book give one hope that an intelligent thriller is about to follow. Instead, the book becomes a series of ridiculous improbabilities. Also, the writer is not blessed with the ability to write realistic dialogue. The characters take turns delivering lengthy academic lectures with 10-line sentences. ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2006

    Premise of book is based on a misquote

    In keeping with the popularity of Dan Brown's blindness leading the blind, we are presented with a story line based on false information. Like 'The DaVinci Code' (remember? there was never a real Priory of Scion or Dossier Secrets), this book is based on a quote misattributed to Pope Leo X. The quote which shows up on the back cover of the book as well as the inside first page, was not actually said by Pope Leo X. Khoury fails to let the reader know that it was actually written by a man named John Bale in the 16th century, sometimes miquoted as 'how profitable this fable of Christ has been to us'. Bale wrote a satire of the Roman Catholic hierarchy called 'The Pageant of the Popes'. This satire was written in the fury of the Reformation, so it would make sense that something like this would be written at that time. But it was not said by Pope Leo. When I first started reading the book I was so impressed by Khoury's knowledge and reasearch of the Templars, but that's obviously the only research he did, especially in terms of the New Testament and early Christian writings by people like Josephus, Clement, Ignatius and even Pliny the Younger, as well as on any Reformational literature and knowledge of the general political tone of the day. Since Khoury is a screen writer, the book easily reads like a screenplay. I'm sure he had movie-making in mind when he wrote it. I would hope that whomever buys the screenplay rights will do more research than Khoury did, but based on Hollywood's record with facts, but that's doubtful (unless it's picked up by someone like Ridley Scott!). The book uses the latin 'veritas vos liberabit' -- Indeed, the truth will set you free.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2006

    Wasn't ready for publication

    This book had so much potential, it really did, and had the author put more time and effort into really developing his characters it could've been great. The hero and the heroine were kind of 2 dimensional, the story itself was choppy in a lot of places, and the ending just peetered out and left you unsatisfied. I just didn't feel that Mr. Khoury captured me to where I didn't want to put the book down. I wasn't worried about the characters when they got into a tight situation, the villians were a bit transparent, and in many spots it became predictable. Like I said, had he given himself more time to give the story more of a smoother flow and make his characters a bit more 3 dimensional than it could've been a great read. But, we should all remember what it says on the inside back portion of the dust jacket, this is Mr. Khoury's first novel. Perhaps his next one will be better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 253 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13