Customer Reviews for

The Last Templar (Sean Reilly and Tess Chaykin Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 251 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Really Good Book

I bought this book for a plane ride and down time on a trip. I never had any down time so I ended up staying up later than I should have to read this book. If you are interested in Templar or Da Vinci type books, this is the book for you. I was disappointed when I mi...
I bought this book for a plane ride and down time on a trip. I never had any down time so I ended up staying up later than I should have to read this book. If you are interested in Templar or Da Vinci type books, this is the book for you. I was disappointed when I missed the mini-series and thrilled when I saw that there was indeed a book. It did slow down a bit here and there, but, overall it was a good book that was easy to read.

posted by OP_Semloh on March 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Another dirty shot at Christianity

I picked this up at the airport kiosk, I am interested in anything to do with the Crusades and most especially the Knights Templar and I had not seen a review. It is an interesting read, but I was very disappointed when, about 1/3 of the way in, Khoury inserts a small ...
I picked this up at the airport kiosk, I am interested in anything to do with the Crusades and most especially the Knights Templar and I had not seen a review. It is an interesting read, but I was very disappointed when, about 1/3 of the way in, Khoury inserts a small reference to a late-term abortion. A Catholic priest who talked the prospective mother out of an abortion is the bad guy (she went to term and died in delivery). Then, about midway, the now-familiar nonsense about Christ's brother, the revelation that Jesus Christ was not divine, nefarious cover-ups and murder by the Vatican and church hierarchy, etc. Unfortunately, the usual fever-swamp of anti-Christian fiction. If you enjoy that rubbish buy it, otherwise be warned, this is another anti-Catholic, anti-Christian guidebook. Not badly written, but full of both gratuitous and plot-central anti-Catholic elements. The central theis is that Islam, Judaism and Christianity can be integrated to achieve world peace, and the first step is to recognize that Jesus Christ was a fraud. Oh, and the Order of the Poor Knights of Christ and The Temple of Solomon, rather than being legendary heroes of Christianity, should be unmasked as bad guys. I found it offensive. And, for about twenty pages, Khoury pounds away at his anti-divinity theory, for this section it was a bit like a Defensive Driving class. Insulting to me but so badly written it was boring too. Skip it if you are not still a college freshman looking for plausible theories as to why your parents' religious beliefs are at the heart of the world's problems. The Knights Templar were God's Warriors and Raymond Khoury is a small mind.

posted by Anonymous on June 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Page turner

    Kept me interesred from page 1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2013

    Great Read and a very interesting premiss.

    Lots of relative information on both the Templars and the organization of the New Testament. This information is not "new" but is presented in context along with an historical timeline, which I found usefull. Several good points about the gnostic gospels as well. All in all, a really good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Read

    This is very similar to national tresure movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    My Measuring 'Sword'

    When I'm going through a 'can't seem to read enough' phase, I need a book that keeps me enthralled; Raymond Khoury's 'The Last Templar' did just that, and it is now the measuring stick that I use to compare all other books.

    If you love modern stories that reach back to question history's 'truths,' this genre-defining title is for you. I would also recommend this story to fans of medieval/historical fiction, history buffs and those who might question some of those tales in King James' book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book!

    I loved the historic references in this book about murder and mayhem. It is one of those can't put down books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    If you like Dan Brown, check out Ray!

    If you enjoy Dan Brown's DaVinci Code and Angel's and Demons, you have to check this out! Very today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    GREAT Read!!!! Can't wait for Khoury's next book!

    Love Raymond Khoury!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sucks you in

    As a Dan Brown fan the salesperson at the B&N store recommended this to me. Loved it from the start...Great detail, Great location descriptions, easy to follow, believable charactgers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    last templar....

    Had never read any of this author work before. I thoroughly enjoyed this book . I enjoyed it so much I couldn't wait to watch the made for TV movie. I really though it would be excellent but the movie was aweful. Stick with the book it was great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2008

    Really enjoyed this book

    This was a great fast paced thriller, I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2008

    Excellent, fast paced, excitement

    After reading some other reviews, felt compelled to write my own. Writings about the Templars have been on the market long before DaVinci Code, and I did not feel this was similar in any way, other than the core topic. It was very well written and a consistent page turner, and I was disappointed when I finished it -- I wanted more!! This is certainly one of the better written novels on the shelf today, and I highly recommend it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2007

    great movie material

    I began reading the book and got hooked immediately. If you read the da vinci code, you will love this book too! Fast and interesting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2007

    Very Entertaining

    Ever since I read Angels and Demons and The Da Vinci Code I have been buying up all the books I can find that have a similar story line. This book was great and kept me interested the entire time. I would highly recommend reading this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2007

    Lots of zombies

    This book is a total bloodbath between a strain of zombies, FBI, and those horsemen dudes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2007

    BEST ENDING you people are crazy

    Fantastic, kept me in the whole time. I couldnt drop it. And it had the most surprising ending i was in shock, it was crazy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2007

    Great Book -- I was thoroughly entertained

    This book grips you in the first chapter. Very well written and fast paced. I could not put this book down. It topic is sensitive and somewhat provocative, let¿s remember that it is historical fiction and its intent is to entertain -- and that it did! I agree with other reviews that the first 2/3 was fast paced. However, the last 1/3 of the book slowed in its story but delved deep into a very complex issue. Considering the topic this is not easy to resolve and should not be resolved at a frenzied pace. Great characters, relationships and I loved the way the chapters were written from the point of view of many of the characters. Well worth the time ¿ I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2007

    Great!

    I absolutely love this book, the ending may not be the best, but the book has excellent descriptions. It has more of a down to earth main character than in the Da Vinci Code.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2006

    A must read for da vinci code enthusiasts

    The Last Templar is exactly what you're looking for if you want to read a historical fiction. It was exciting from beginning to end.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2006

    The Last Templar = The Da Vinci Code

    I think that this book was a amazing... i read it in about 3 days and throught out those three days i couldn't put it down. I think that Raymond is defintely on the right track and his next novel should be even better.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2006

    Last Templar

    WOW WOW WOW. This one totally blew me away. I'm just so bored of serial killer thrillers and murder mysteries and the historic thrillers I've tried to read have been so BORING. NOT THIS ONE!!!! It just kicks off HUGE and keeps going. Great characters, much meatier than the usual cardboard comic book characters. And every chapter has some pretty amazing insights. This is one happy puppy, thank you Mr Khoury.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4