Customer Reviews for

The Last Templar (Sean Reilly and Tess Chaykin Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 251 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Really Good Book

I bought this book for a plane ride and down time on a trip. I never had any down time so I ended up staying up later than I should have to read this book. If you are interested in Templar or Da Vinci type books, this is the book for you. I was disappointed when I mi...
I bought this book for a plane ride and down time on a trip. I never had any down time so I ended up staying up later than I should have to read this book. If you are interested in Templar or Da Vinci type books, this is the book for you. I was disappointed when I missed the mini-series and thrilled when I saw that there was indeed a book. It did slow down a bit here and there, but, overall it was a good book that was easy to read.

posted by OP_Semloh on March 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Another dirty shot at Christianity

I picked this up at the airport kiosk, I am interested in anything to do with the Crusades and most especially the Knights Templar and I had not seen a review. It is an interesting read, but I was very disappointed when, about 1/3 of the way in, Khoury inserts a small ...
I picked this up at the airport kiosk, I am interested in anything to do with the Crusades and most especially the Knights Templar and I had not seen a review. It is an interesting read, but I was very disappointed when, about 1/3 of the way in, Khoury inserts a small reference to a late-term abortion. A Catholic priest who talked the prospective mother out of an abortion is the bad guy (she went to term and died in delivery). Then, about midway, the now-familiar nonsense about Christ's brother, the revelation that Jesus Christ was not divine, nefarious cover-ups and murder by the Vatican and church hierarchy, etc. Unfortunately, the usual fever-swamp of anti-Christian fiction. If you enjoy that rubbish buy it, otherwise be warned, this is another anti-Catholic, anti-Christian guidebook. Not badly written, but full of both gratuitous and plot-central anti-Catholic elements. The central theis is that Islam, Judaism and Christianity can be integrated to achieve world peace, and the first step is to recognize that Jesus Christ was a fraud. Oh, and the Order of the Poor Knights of Christ and The Temple of Solomon, rather than being legendary heroes of Christianity, should be unmasked as bad guys. I found it offensive. And, for about twenty pages, Khoury pounds away at his anti-divinity theory, for this section it was a bit like a Defensive Driving class. Insulting to me but so badly written it was boring too. Skip it if you are not still a college freshman looking for plausible theories as to why your parents' religious beliefs are at the heart of the world's problems. The Knights Templar were God's Warriors and Raymond Khoury is a small mind.

posted by Anonymous on June 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 72 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2006

    Last Templar

    A great book that totally took me by surprise. Beautifully written, it combines the main story of a contemporary thriller/adventure with the historical chapters telling us the story of the small group of templars who were given the treasure that was lost. I couldn't put it down and felt a real sense of loss once I'd finished it, I just didn't want the experience to end. It's got that rare quality of combining a great thriller with a lot of fascinating research and a very meaty debate about religion, the origin of the church and how it affects our world which I think is very relevant in the times we live in. This is a book of its time, and I was fascinated to read on the author's website that he first wrote it as a movie script ten years ago (!) and a big publisher wanted to turn it into a book but also wanted to lose the religion!!! Amazing. Kudos for Khoury for staying the course, shame about the timing, I wish I'd read it before Da Vinci, I'd have loved it even more if that's possible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2006

    Last Templar

    I'm moved to write a review for this book for the simple reason that it's been a long, long time since I read something that managed to entertain me so fully and keep me glued to its pages while reaching a part of me that doesn't normally get tickled by fictional novels. Clearly this novel inspires different feelings in people and I can understand devout Catholics feeling offended at what they might perceive as another attack on their faith (although to do so would really miss the point of the book. I won't spoil it except to say the last third of the book came as a wonderful surprise). I'll preface my review by saying that while I am not the most religious person you might meet, I do believe spirituality is an important part of the human experience. With that in mind, I was pleasantly and unexpectedly touched by this book, which manages to put forward with great detail and eloquence, but with restraint as far as presenting any specific agenda, some very interesting ideas about how religion can be manipulated and the conflict between this basic human need and its potential downside. I think Mr Khoury has done a wonderful job of combining a wonderfully inspirational and epic tale with a great deal of substance that will no doubt generate hours of debate within my book club and others. This books connects on so many levels that I'd be hard pressed to compare it to others in the genre, as the author clearly has some thought provoking ideas he wants to present while never losing sight that this is first and foremost an entertaining page turner, which it most certainly is. My biggest surprise was visiting the author's website and reading about the mind boggling offer he got ten years ago when he first wrote this story as a film script. The words 'lose the religion' will definitely take on 'jump the shark' reference status in our household from now on. Perhaps the time wasn't right for it back then, Lord knows we're in the grip of rising fundamentalism both here and overseas and it's an issue that is far more relevant today than it was back then. Kudos to him for refusing the inane offer he describes and staying the course. As for the characters, I found them beautifully crafted and substantial. While there was a certain familiarity about them, I wouldn't really expect them not to be attractive, intelligent, or heroic. I would have loved their personal journeys to be more fleshed out, at the risk of slowing down the charging pace of the story, but all in all I think the author did a fabulous job of finding a good balance. This is one of those rare, rare times that my husband, daughter and I have all fallen in love with the same book which believe me is no small achievement for an author to pull off. I couldn't recommend it more highly.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2006

    Very Interesting

    This book is written very similar to Dan Brown's 4 books. None the less, I would not consider it a knockoff in anyway. It is excellently written, it even gives some more information about the Templars than Brown does in his 2 books. Just the same as Brown's books, I didn't want to put this one down. I would rate it just below The Da Vinci Code and Angels and Demons.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2006

    Loved it.

    This was a great adventure story, and I had a tough time putting it down. I thought it was coherent, the pace was good, and the use of language perfect. Besides that, it was a great history lesson, something I am craving more of in my middle age - realizing how much I missed in the education of my youth. I get so tired of the requirement to compare a thing to another thing... in this case, comparing one book to another. Why must we compare it to anything??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2006

    Last Templar

    WOW!!! I just loved this book!!! Great story the grabs and doesn't let go. Two stories actually: the epic adventure of the last templar back in the days of the crusades, and the present day thriller. Great characters, big suspense and a ton of great research, the author obviously really did some serious homework here. Really got me thinking too, which was a pleasant surprise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2006

    Great Story!!!

    What a great story. Very well written. And, although 'page turner' and 'must read' are so cliche, here's a book where they actually apply. The juxtaposition of fact, legend, and fiction are so closely intertwined they flow as one in the reader's mind. Don't dilly-dally ... get this book today!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2006

    Very Entertaining Read

    I couldn't put this book down. It was exciting, high action and the story works without going way over the top.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2006

    Outstanding

    If you're looking for an intelligent thriller, I really recommend this book. It's totally gripping. I loved Martin's story and his epic journey from Acre, and Tess and Reilly's quest. The big set pieces are just huge and very well conceived without losing credibility, there are a lot of memorable visuals that I won't soon forget. This book doesn't hold back on its ambition, and the debate about religion is a major plus. I rarely read something that stays with me in the days after I've finished it, but I suspect this one will for a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2006

    ?

    With the 5th Horseman, Davinci Code, and this, folks are starting to get an interest in Christianity, and the dark side of it. It begs the question, 'what is going on?'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2006

    Intrige after the Da Vinci Code

    Raymon Khoury does a magnificent job in combining factual history with imagination. It is similar to Dan Brown, but Khoury takes it up a few levels. It is captivating from the the first page to the last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2006

    DANG!!!!!!!!

    Wanna take a trip back in history??? WOW, didn't read anything like this in a long long time. This author makes ' The da Vinci Code' looks like a one star. This is a must read and i am SURE that this will be on the bestseller list for a very long time. The book takes you into the depths of history without missing any details, this is a book where you hold your breath long after you are finished reading. The author gives you two opinions, doesn't try to push your faith in either way, its thrilling, dramatic, fast, entertaining,.... What will people do, what will they sacrifice for the truth, what is the truth, do facts matter.... Wow, thanks to the author to share such a brilliant work. The reader is right in the actions and has to ask what would i do? Awesome, awesome, and again awesome.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2006

    Everybody Loves Raymond - An Outstanding First Novel!

    I was sceptical when a close friend recommended the Last Templar, having enjoyed the Dan Brown series of books. I was more than pleasantly surprised by Raymond Khourri's fine effort. The novel is an extremely enjoyable read. It is well written, fast-moving and thought provoking. The historical current that runs throughout brings the book to life and made the difference for me. I found the characters well described and developed and the story line attractive. I read the novel on vacation, passed it to my daughter who also loved it and now my wife has just finished it and is also raving about it. I would certainly recommend this to someone looking for a fun novel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2006

    Well Done!

    This book has it all, action, romance, history, treasure, and it gives you something to think about. I have thorughly enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 72 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4