Customer Reviews for

Last Temptation

Average Rating 3.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

AAMBC Book Reviews

Michelle Stimpson will have you laughing, crying and relating to each of her vivid, vocal characters. In her book Last Temptation, we step into Patricia "Peaches" Miller's world, and she is faced with multiple struggles against herself.
It's been a while since I've rea...
Michelle Stimpson will have you laughing, crying and relating to each of her vivid, vocal characters. In her book Last Temptation, we step into Patricia "Peaches" Miller's world, and she is faced with multiple struggles against herself.
It's been a while since I've read Christian fiction, but Last Temptation had me laughing, shaking my head and admiring each character's authenticity. Peaches', who is a character humanly flawed like the rest of us, is in a constant mental battle with herself and the choices she faces are a true to life examples of womanhood. What I enjoy most about Stimpson's work is each character's believability. While some would argue that some of Peaches' struggles don't make sense, I would argue that Peaches represents the thought process many women face when it comes to relationships. Nothing is more believable than a woman who is constantly trying to figure life's twists out.
Stimpson's characters are real and believable - and most of all, hilarious! She kept me smiling and laughing throughout!
I enjoyed the humor and authenticity that Stimpson breathed into each of her characters. Even the most unlikeable character was humanized in some way. Score! I'd recommend this book to everyone!
She had me laughing and smiling and enjoying every word!

Andrena Mason
AAMBC Reviewer

posted by aambcreviews on December 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

took to long

this book was ok it took to long to get to the point. I had to make myself finish this book.

posted by 6315036 on April 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 22, 2010

    AAMBC Book Reviews

    Michelle Stimpson will have you laughing, crying and relating to each of her vivid, vocal characters. In her book Last Temptation, we step into Patricia "Peaches" Miller's world, and she is faced with multiple struggles against herself.
    It's been a while since I've read Christian fiction, but Last Temptation had me laughing, shaking my head and admiring each character's authenticity. Peaches', who is a character humanly flawed like the rest of us, is in a constant mental battle with herself and the choices she faces are a true to life examples of womanhood. What I enjoy most about Stimpson's work is each character's believability. While some would argue that some of Peaches' struggles don't make sense, I would argue that Peaches represents the thought process many women face when it comes to relationships. Nothing is more believable than a woman who is constantly trying to figure life's twists out.
    Stimpson's characters are real and believable - and most of all, hilarious! She kept me smiling and laughing throughout!
    I enjoyed the humor and authenticity that Stimpson breathed into each of her characters. Even the most unlikeable character was humanized in some way. Score! I'd recommend this book to everyone!
    She had me laughing and smiling and enjoying every word!

    Andrena Mason
    AAMBC Reviewer

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    took to long

    this book was ok it took to long to get to the point. I had to make myself finish this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    This was an awesome book about faith, love, falling down and get

    This was an awesome book about faith, love, falling down and getting back up. Finding out that even at your lowest point...Jesus has been there all along waiting for you with open arms. Waiting to restore you. No matter what you have done, no matter how bad you might think it is, God is ready and able to restore you if only you would go to him. I loved this book!!!! I laughed and I cried. I shouted to the Lord in praise! This book also gives you some perspective into some of the ways the enemy works .I can relate to some of the feelings Peaches was experiencing. I can also relate to the goodness of God, his mercy and certainly his GRACE! Thank God For Jesus. I think anyone who is looking for an entertaining read will enjoy this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    Not thrilled with this book. I've been trying to read it and fi

    Not thrilled with this book. I've been trying to read it and find the main character to be annoying. She doesn't have a backbone to stand up and make a decision. The book is clean, but I'm having to force myself to finish it. She might be an "independent woman" however, she's not fun to read about at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    I heard this book on audio and I was like oh my it's so long and

    I heard this book on audio and I was like oh my it's so long and boring . I can imaging those who sat and read it felt like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Highly Recommended- check it out

    This book is about true love and believing that God can bring you down when you're not doing the right thing and he can pick you back up when you start.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Great read!!

    I truly enjoyed reading this book. It was very enlightening, funny and thought-provoking. I couldn't put this book down. It was easy to relate to the main character. I look forward to reading more books from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Fun read!

    This was a very different read for me, and I thoroughly enjoyed it! The characters and their struggles seemed very real...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Recommended

    Couldn't put the book down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Great inspiratioal book!

    This book was so inspiring and uplifting. Eventhough ive never experienced these exact issues i know how hard it can be to resist satan. This book showed how the power of prayer and the holy spirit can lift you out of anything. So inspiring..thought provoking and eye opening!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2012

    It was a very good clean read to me. Can't wait for her next bo

    It was a very good clean read to me. Can't wait for her next book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    i didn't like it.

    i didn't like this i couldn't get through it, it had to much christian talk and stuff to a point i couldn't read it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    based on sample

    did not like nook sample

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    I enjoyed this novel. It was a journey of a woman's trails and t

    I enjoyed this novel. It was a journey of a woman's trails and tribulations when her faith was tested. It is a religious book, but I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Boring and somewhat stupid!

    Oh my goodness! This is one of the most slowest, boring, stupid books I've read in a long time. I am halfway through, and I have to force myself to finish it, which I may or may not do. The main character, Peaches, is so ridiculous: she can't make a decision on anything, and keep basing everything she does or don't do on being an independent woman. Plus, there is no depth to the characters, and there is a lot of repetition, as if the author was trying to make the story longer than 100 pgs. I am sorry I bought this book: it is a waste of money and time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Slow

    This book was so draggy I couldn't even finish it ver bouring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Woods

    LastClan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Good read

    Enjoyed the story line even though it was a short read. Would have loved a little more detail and character building!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Good but no Boaz Brown

    This was a good read though it was heart breaking to read. I felt for Peaches but sometimes you have to go through to find out the truth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    God moves in mysterious ways

    This but was a good read if your not religious person its not for you because you wouldnt understand losing your way and being brought back i especially love the part when she stopped going to church and the lord woke her up every morning the same time she was mad at first but then started looking forward to him

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3