Customer Reviews for

The Last Theorem

Average Rating 2.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 15 of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    Story, what story?

    The plottting is juvenile, with a deus ex machina thrown in whenever needed. Characters are uni-dimensional. There's math, but little that could be called science. A real disappointment.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    Very disappointing

    I have read many of Arthur C. Clarke's novels. So, I did not enter into reading this novel blindly. My main problem with his prose is the lack of an ending. This novel had many other problems. As other reviewers have noted, the novel has an unfinished/rough draft feel to it. It was a painful read. Though I usually keep novels in my library at least for a short period, I gave this hardcover novel to my 2 year hold to play with. Seeing him pretend to read this novel has given me much more joy that reading it. So unless you have a child that needs a toy, I suggest passing on this novel.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    an interesting work that occurs on two levels

    In the middle of the twentieth century, atomic bomb testing was conducted on the land, at sea and in the air eventually the radiation traveled into outer space, which brought the planet to the attention of the Grand Galactics who ordered the destruction of Earth before the barbarians devastated the universe. They sent their client races, the Machine Stored, a sentient species who left their bodies behind and become inhabitants of cyber pace. Also on assignment to destroy Earth is The Nine Limbed, the civilized race that speaks on behalf of the Grand Galactics and the one point five, the race that destroyed their world and needs prosthetics to survive.---------------- Brilliant Sri Lankan mathematician Ranjit Subramanian is obsessed with Fermat¿s Last Theorem. While he is in a prison, he works out the proof in his head and soon becomes an international sensation. He is privy to the non lethal weapon mankind has developed to bring peace to the world, but when the Grand Galactics learn there is no more need to destroy this orb, will they cease the eradication order or bureaucratically wipe out the planet.---------------- THE LAST THEOREM is an interesting work that occurs on two levels. One plot focuses on Ranjit¿s life from the time he is sixteen while the other centers on alien invaders sent by their overlords to destroy the warmongering earthlings. Both subplots are fascinating as readers follow the progress made by earthlings to attain Pax through a special non-killing weapon. As fans wait for the macro and micro plots to merge, first contact could prove lethal.-------------- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2009

    Not what I wanted to read from these guys.

    I would have hoped that Fred Pohl & Art Clarke could have done a lot better. Not since Hitchhiker's Guide has there been such a mean & nasty force at work in the universe. Are they suitably impressed by human ingenuity? No, it turns out that they are most impressed by us turning arms into plowshares, but of the type that blow things up real good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2009

    Disappointing

    Boring. I expected more from both Pohl & Clark

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2008

    Disappointing

    With two such icons of science fiction I was expecting a superior product. Unfortunately the book was VERY disappointing - especially since there was a core for a superior story. However, it read like a first draft that had not been worked over to any extend and/or no serious input by editors to work with the authors. Maybe the age of the authors and death of Clarke factors in, but this is not a book to add to either of their legacies. Most telling for myself is that while I usually keep books I buy and read, figuring to someday reading them again, this one goes to the discard file i.e., never to look at a second time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 15 of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1