Customer Reviews for

The Last Thing I Remember (The Homelanders Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 160 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

My son won't give it back!

I was reading this book before I gave it to my teenage son; but when an injury had him down with ice packs and heating pads, I thought it might relieve his boredom for a little while. He won't give the book back!! He has even turned down playing Xbox when his best frien...
I was reading this book before I gave it to my teenage son; but when an injury had him down with ice packs and heating pads, I thought it might relieve his boredom for a little while. He won't give the book back!! He has even turned down playing Xbox when his best friend came over for a visit, and instead started telling him about the book. Now they're both hooked on it. I love it!! The story is fast-paced and sucks you right in. The main character, Charley West, is one that my son and his friends indentifies with and I think he's a great hero for them. Kudos to the author for a great read and thanks for giving my kid something to read that has some good values in it.

posted by TainterMom on May 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Its ok....

The book I read was "The Last Thing I Remember" by Andrew Klavan. Now the story was good, and there were a few surprises. But over all I wasn't amazed. It was simply "ok". I wouldn't read it again. But that's only for me! I like books that give me a real surprise, that ...
The book I read was "The Last Thing I Remember" by Andrew Klavan. Now the story was good, and there were a few surprises. But over all I wasn't amazed. It was simply "ok". I wouldn't read it again. But that's only for me! I like books that give me a real surprise, that make me sit on the edge of my seat. That makes you THINK you know what's going on until the last chapter, and the surprise almost slaps you in the face. I told my teacher that I like murder mystery stories, and that I liked surprises. She handed me this book, and after I was done I was like "OK."
I wasn't amazed, or crying, or telling my family every last detail. The biggest (and basically only) surprise was that it was a year later in his life that he didn't remember. That was it, and it gave me no emotion. I was curious to see what happened, but I wasn't ENVOLVED. I don't really want to read the second book. They are words on a page, and not a book that pulls you in.
Don't get me wrong; it wasn't a bad book. No no, it was good. It was written good, and I never put it down and said "KILL ME." It was good, but not captivating. And that's my review :)

posted by LauraMeow on October 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 162 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted May 6, 2009

    My son won't give it back!

    I was reading this book before I gave it to my teenage son; but when an injury had him down with ice packs and heating pads, I thought it might relieve his boredom for a little while. He won't give the book back!! He has even turned down playing Xbox when his best friend came over for a visit, and instead started telling him about the book. Now they're both hooked on it. I love it!! The story is fast-paced and sucks you right in. The main character, Charley West, is one that my son and his friends indentifies with and I think he's a great hero for them. Kudos to the author for a great read and thanks for giving my kid something to read that has some good values in it.

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    a Knock-Your-Socks-Off Thriller

    Ever since I read the summary for this book, I was automatically intrigued. It would be scary to wake up one morning and have no idea what's going on or where you are and how you got there. The Last Thing I Remember was a fantastic thriller!

    Waking up one morning beaten and tied to a chair, Charlie has no idea who he is or what's happening. The last thing he remembers is going to sleep when he was 16, which was years ago. Charlie's character is quite believable and realistic. He's determined to figure out who he is and who the people chasing him are. He's also very persistent on finding his way home to his parents, even if they are on the other side of the country. Charlie can't trust anyone but himself, which just makes his situation even more dire because how's he going to figure things out when he can't remember anything?

    The Last Thing I Remember kept me on the edge of my seat throughout the entire novel. I loved it and can't wait to read the sequel, A Long Way Home. I definitely recommend this if you are looking for a good thriller.

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    Its ok....

    The book I read was "The Last Thing I Remember" by Andrew Klavan. Now the story was good, and there were a few surprises. But over all I wasn't amazed. It was simply "ok". I wouldn't read it again. But that's only for me! I like books that give me a real surprise, that make me sit on the edge of my seat. That makes you THINK you know what's going on until the last chapter, and the surprise almost slaps you in the face. I told my teacher that I like murder mystery stories, and that I liked surprises. She handed me this book, and after I was done I was like "OK."
    I wasn't amazed, or crying, or telling my family every last detail. The biggest (and basically only) surprise was that it was a year later in his life that he didn't remember. That was it, and it gave me no emotion. I was curious to see what happened, but I wasn't ENVOLVED. I don't really want to read the second book. They are words on a page, and not a book that pulls you in.
    Don't get me wrong; it wasn't a bad book. No no, it was good. It was written good, and I never put it down and said "KILL ME." It was good, but not captivating. And that's my review :)

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Read this

    Shut the f*** up bad comment people because its a good read

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Amazing

    I loved this book because it had adventure and times when he would remember Bible scriptures or he would start praying. People just dont write many books like it anymore. Defanitely a 5 star book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Boo!

    Loved it almost as i love obama

    3 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Great!!!

    Love the series I still have to read the last one. The only thing that got old was the flashbacks because they were so long but they go away in the second book. You will love these.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Suspense!!

    This book is an amazing one!! Absolutely nothing better!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    Amazing book

    This is one of my favorite books. It is kind of a short book, but it is a good one. I am really looking forward to reading the next book in the series. If you want an exciting teen thriller, look no further. Alex Rider may have finally met his match, Charlie West.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    the best!

    this is the very best book i have ever read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fast-Paced

    Author Andrew Klavan has been hailed by authors such as Stephen King and is the recipient of two Edgar Awards. Other titles include: True Crime, Don't Say A Word, and Empire of Lies.
    Charlie West just woke up in someone else's nightmare. Covered in blood and bruises while strapped to a chair, Charlie tries to think of the last thing he can remember. He was a high school teenager practicing karate, doing homework, and dreaming of being an air force pilot. Where is he now? Who is he really? Most importantly, how was he going to get out of this room alive, because the stranger's voice outside the door just ordered his death!
    Listed as Book One in The Highlander Series, this YA novel is told in first-person point-of-view. There were a lot of things in this book worth mentioning. I loved that Charlie kept a Churchill quote in his pocket. This book addresses the poor choices teenagers can make and the drastic outcome, as well as the pivotal shining moments that one remembers all their life. This is a fast-paced book to keep you glued and very well-written. The ending may disappoint and leave you hanging, but the next book, The Long Way Home, is coming soon.
    Recommended!

    Kelly Moran,
    Author and Reviewer

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Best Book to be Written

    This book and its sequels stand as my favorite books to exist and i have read many books. I have the hardcover editions of the entire series because i want it to last forever

    Usually i would just get it on my nook but this book is so great i couldnt help but pay the extra five dollars

    I recommend this to people of ages 13 and up because of the occasional harsh language but overall is a great book

    Highly reccommended by me

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    LUV IT :-)

    I luv so much cant put it down :-)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Horrible book

    It was allright at first, it takes a while get into it and my biggest comment is that this is the most racist book i have ever read. Seriously, islamists? Why not hispanics or asians? Just because someone does something means that automatically the whole religion follows it. Horrible book. Wouldnt read it again if my life depended on it.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Not a great book

    An ok read but skimmed through a lot of it

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    The last thing i read.

    This book has an overall good plot. However it takes a long time to get into. If you want a book that will pull you in from the begining, this is not it.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Great!!

    This book is great!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    T love ll

    This book is a little boring at the begining , then when he escapes from that prision then it gets crazy and it gets u thinking and wondering bout the nxt scenario

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Love it!

    Super awesome suspensful and action packed. At the end get ready to buy the second book, and the others!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Amazing

    A real suspense. My favorite book I have ever read by far

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 162 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9