Customer Reviews for

The Last Thing I Remember (The Homelanders Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 160 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

My son won't give it back!

I was reading this book before I gave it to my teenage son; but when an injury had him down with ice packs and heating pads, I thought it might relieve his boredom for a little while. He won't give the book back!! He has even turned down playing Xbox when his best frien...
I was reading this book before I gave it to my teenage son; but when an injury had him down with ice packs and heating pads, I thought it might relieve his boredom for a little while. He won't give the book back!! He has even turned down playing Xbox when his best friend came over for a visit, and instead started telling him about the book. Now they're both hooked on it. I love it!! The story is fast-paced and sucks you right in. The main character, Charley West, is one that my son and his friends indentifies with and I think he's a great hero for them. Kudos to the author for a great read and thanks for giving my kid something to read that has some good values in it.

posted by TainterMom on May 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Its ok....

The book I read was "The Last Thing I Remember" by Andrew Klavan. Now the story was good, and there were a few surprises. But over all I wasn't amazed. It was simply "ok". I wouldn't read it again. But that's only for me! I like books that give me a real surprise, that ...
The book I read was "The Last Thing I Remember" by Andrew Klavan. Now the story was good, and there were a few surprises. But over all I wasn't amazed. It was simply "ok". I wouldn't read it again. But that's only for me! I like books that give me a real surprise, that make me sit on the edge of my seat. That makes you THINK you know what's going on until the last chapter, and the surprise almost slaps you in the face. I told my teacher that I like murder mystery stories, and that I liked surprises. She handed me this book, and after I was done I was like "OK."
I wasn't amazed, or crying, or telling my family every last detail. The biggest (and basically only) surprise was that it was a year later in his life that he didn't remember. That was it, and it gave me no emotion. I was curious to see what happened, but I wasn't ENVOLVED. I don't really want to read the second book. They are words on a page, and not a book that pulls you in.
Don't get me wrong; it wasn't a bad book. No no, it was good. It was written good, and I never put it down and said "KILL ME." It was good, but not captivating. And that's my review :)

posted by LauraMeow on October 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 6, 2009

    My son won't give it back!

    I was reading this book before I gave it to my teenage son; but when an injury had him down with ice packs and heating pads, I thought it might relieve his boredom for a little while. He won't give the book back!! He has even turned down playing Xbox when his best friend came over for a visit, and instead started telling him about the book. Now they're both hooked on it. I love it!! The story is fast-paced and sucks you right in. The main character, Charley West, is one that my son and his friends indentifies with and I think he's a great hero for them. Kudos to the author for a great read and thanks for giving my kid something to read that has some good values in it.

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fast-Paced

    Author Andrew Klavan has been hailed by authors such as Stephen King and is the recipient of two Edgar Awards. Other titles include: True Crime, Don't Say A Word, and Empire of Lies.
    Charlie West just woke up in someone else's nightmare. Covered in blood and bruises while strapped to a chair, Charlie tries to think of the last thing he can remember. He was a high school teenager practicing karate, doing homework, and dreaming of being an air force pilot. Where is he now? Who is he really? Most importantly, how was he going to get out of this room alive, because the stranger's voice outside the door just ordered his death!
    Listed as Book One in The Highlander Series, this YA novel is told in first-person point-of-view. There were a lot of things in this book worth mentioning. I loved that Charlie kept a Churchill quote in his pocket. This book addresses the poor choices teenagers can make and the drastic outcome, as well as the pivotal shining moments that one remembers all their life. This is a fast-paced book to keep you glued and very well-written. The ending may disappoint and leave you hanging, but the next book, The Long Way Home, is coming soon.
    Recommended!

    Kelly Moran,
    Author and Reviewer

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    This book and its sequels stand as my favorite books to exist an

    This book and its sequels stand as my favorite books to exist and i have read many books. I have the hardcover editions of the entire series because i want it to last forever
    Usually i would just get it on my nook but this book is so great i couldnt help but pay the extra five dollars 
    I recommend this to people of ages 13 and up because of the occasional harsh language but overall is a great book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    This book a great book, it will keep you glued into the pages an

    This book a great book, it will keep you glued into the pages and on the edge of your seat the entire time. Two Thumbs Up from me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Wonderful teen book

    I actually listened to this book on very, very long drive and found it to be intriguing. I can see how this series can draw a young adult reader in and keep them wanting more. I would recommend this book to a young teenager who wants to have a little adventure spun into their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    A Good Read

    Charlie West seems to be "the perfect teenager". But he goes to bed one night while living his perfect life and just aquiring the phone number of the girl he truly wanted to get to know better, and wakes up strapped to a table covered in blood and hearing his execution ordered from someone on the other side of the door. It is a year later and he has no idea what has happened in all that time. The book does not supply the answers that you want, you'll have to buy the sequel to get that ~ perhaps the entire series. All in all a enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    A must-read!

    This book was like reading The Bourne Identity the movie! It was action- packed! This book is seriously at the top of my list!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    The last thing i remember

    This was a good book, action packed and fast-paced! It was a little slow duringt the flashbacks, but other than that it was a great read! Deffinetly reccomend this for those who like mystery thrillers!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Best book

    This book was soo good it took me pretty much 5 days to read, it is a really fast read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    My Review

    Very good book just wish the author could have put the whole story in one book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    Great!

    The Last Thing I Remember is a great book, full of action, suspense, and mystery. I definately recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2010

    Great Read

    The Last Thing I Remember was a great read. One morning beaten and tied to a chair, Charlie woke up and has no idea who he is or what's happening. The last thing he remembers is going to sleep when he was 16, which was years ago. Charlie's is determined to figure out who he is and who the people chasing him are. He's also very persistent on finding his way home to his parents, even know they could be anywhere. Charlie can't trust anyone but himself, which just makes his situation even more difficult because he can't remember anything. The Last Thing I Remember kept me entertained throughout the entire book. This book was a great read and I recommend it to younger adults. It was a very fast pasted thriller. I also recommend this boom if you like action books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    "The Last Thing I Remember" thrills and captures the reader

    Andrew Klavan's captivating novel "The Last Thing I Remember" kicks off his new "homelanders" series with great stride. The book is about an average seventeen year old boy, Charlie West, who is undergoing the same problems that most teens encounter everyday. The types of problems that weigh on this regular kid's mind day in and day out. The kind of problems that seem so big and important when you are going through them. But this teen soon learns that there are much worse obstacles in life when he wakes up in a small torture room - bruised, burnt, and bleeding - with no memory of how he got there. Two men outside the door have orders to kill him and soon begins his struggle for survival, freedom, justice, and - above all - the truth. As the story progresses, the reader will become wrapped up in Charlie West's thrilling adventure and shocked by the twists that develop later on. Upon completing "The Last Thing I Remember" the reader will only be anxious for the second book in the series to come out so that they may continue Charlie's adventure after a clinching ending. In his novel, Andrew Klavan manages to teach the reader such important lifestyle values as hard work, determination, love, and faith. Charlie never stops fighting to return to the life he once had, always referring to a quote by Winston Churchill "Never give in, never give in, never, never, never, never." And all of the while Charlie discovered what he had and what he truly loved in life. I personally really liked the book because it was thrilling and exciting the whole way through. Anyone who enjoyed the Bourn Identity series would most likely enjoy this book as well. I recommend that that everybody looking for a fun read try this book, especially those who like action and adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    amazing

    this book is absolutely amazing he writes it in a very vivid perspective of a real teenager and makes it feel like your actually there with the characters. just amazing how visual this book is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Last Thing I Remember;

    All around amazing book, read it in a few hours. Can't wait till the second one! I deffinately suggest you read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sally Kruger aka "Readingjunky" for TeensReadToo.com

    How can a reader possibly pass on a book with a first line like this one: "Suddenly I woke up strapped to a chair?" THE LAST THING I REMEMBER is non-stop action from start to finish.

    Seventeen-year-old Charlie West goes to sleep one night, and the next thing he knows, he wakes up battered and bloody just over a year later. He tries to piece together the memories of his last day as he sits strapped to a chair. He remembers getting up, going to school, and even getting lucky enough to have a conversation that might lead to a date with the girl of his dreams.

    However, these memories don't include any explanation for the situation he finds himself in at the moment.

    Charlie's difficulties mount as he struggles to escape. He overhears a conversation outside his cell that leaves little doubt that his life is about to end. Inspired by his karate master and a quote from Winston Churchill, he gains the focus necessary to overpower his captors and escape to a nearby woods.

    But that is just the beginning of a confusing search to figure out what got him into this mess in the first place.

    THE LAST THING I REMEMBER is the first in a new series called THE HOMELANDERS. Andrew Klavan is an accomplished author of adult suspense novels and the winner of two Edgar Awards. If the excitement created in this new series is any indication of what is to come, he is sure to be a success with YA readers, as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2