Customer Reviews for

The Last Thing I Remember (The Homelanders Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 160 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

My son won't give it back!

I was reading this book before I gave it to my teenage son; but when an injury had him down with ice packs and heating pads, I thought it might relieve his boredom for a little while. He won't give the book back!! He has even turned down playing Xbox when his best frien...
I was reading this book before I gave it to my teenage son; but when an injury had him down with ice packs and heating pads, I thought it might relieve his boredom for a little while. He won't give the book back!! He has even turned down playing Xbox when his best friend came over for a visit, and instead started telling him about the book. Now they're both hooked on it. I love it!! The story is fast-paced and sucks you right in. The main character, Charley West, is one that my son and his friends indentifies with and I think he's a great hero for them. Kudos to the author for a great read and thanks for giving my kid something to read that has some good values in it.

posted by TainterMom on May 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Its ok....

The book I read was "The Last Thing I Remember" by Andrew Klavan. Now the story was good, and there were a few surprises. But over all I wasn't amazed. It was simply "ok". I wouldn't read it again. But that's only for me! I like books that give me a real surprise, that ...
The book I read was "The Last Thing I Remember" by Andrew Klavan. Now the story was good, and there were a few surprises. But over all I wasn't amazed. It was simply "ok". I wouldn't read it again. But that's only for me! I like books that give me a real surprise, that make me sit on the edge of my seat. That makes you THINK you know what's going on until the last chapter, and the surprise almost slaps you in the face. I told my teacher that I like murder mystery stories, and that I liked surprises. She handed me this book, and after I was done I was like "OK."
I wasn't amazed, or crying, or telling my family every last detail. The biggest (and basically only) surprise was that it was a year later in his life that he didn't remember. That was it, and it gave me no emotion. I was curious to see what happened, but I wasn't ENVOLVED. I don't really want to read the second book. They are words on a page, and not a book that pulls you in.
Don't get me wrong; it wasn't a bad book. No no, it was good. It was written good, and I never put it down and said "KILL ME." It was good, but not captivating. And that's my review :)

posted by LauraMeow on October 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 162 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Good book

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Cheesy

    Reading in our 8th grade class as a read alloud, super cheesy, way to my near-death expeiances. Would not reccomend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    This book and its sequels stand as my favorite books to exist an

    This book and its sequels stand as my favorite books to exist and i have read many books. I have the hardcover editions of the entire series because i want it to last forever
    Usually i would just get it on my nook but this book is so great i couldnt help but pay the extra five dollars 
    I recommend this to people of ages 13 and up because of the occasional harsh language but overall is a great book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    It's an awesome book. Very well written! All of it is great! The

    It's an awesome book. Very well written! All of it is great! The author hits all the best points.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Awesome

    Best book ever. If you like this book then read ashes by ilsa j. Bick :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Pass me book 2 please!

    Loved it! Great story line, great characters, great plot. I very much enjoyed this book and recomend it for anyone! Actually....don't read it ti very small children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    This book a great book, it will keep you glued into the pages an

    This book a great book, it will keep you glued into the pages and on the edge of your seat the entire time. Two Thumbs Up from me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    I loved this book so much it was non stop action,and it kept you

    I loved this book so much it was non stop action,and it kept you on your feet !!! a must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    The book The Last thing I Remember was a very exciting novel to

    The book The Last thing I Remember was a very exciting novel to read due to the fact that it was never ending in its story mode. It is mainly towards anyone who wants a way to escape there world and enter a new one full of action and suspense. I recommended this book to my friends and they loved it so give it a try and try your luck with the Homelanders.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Amazing

    An amazing book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Love this book

    My reading teacher gave me this book fir a reading group and I was told to read to page 90 but I finished the book but its not my fault its a good book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Disappointing and absolutist tripe

    Not a great read. Very suspenseful, intriguing premise, but full of hypocritical garbage. The series presents a stark, black and white view of the world. The one person who encourages kids to think for themselves and the things they take for granted ends up being a terrorist and a madman. As much as the main character goes on and on about freedom and rights, clearly those things only extend to those who support his perspective. Anyone who thinks otherwise is a crazy terrorist. Read this book if you want to believe that the world is black and white and filled with moral absolutes, that god is good and that America is just about perfect or the best ever, and that anyone who disagrees (even partially) with any of the former statements is evil or crazy. I was seriously disappointed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    Curtis

    This is a amazing book that will keep u on the edge of the

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    The story is exciting. Charlie West is a hero that is both a mod

    The story is exciting. Charlie West is a hero that is both a model for decent American teenagers, but also relatable. The way the author writes, I can SEE everything that is happening without having too many boring details. Even my brother and sister who don't like to read are hooked on this series.
    The action and violence is realistic and well described, but there is nothing else in here that a parent wouldn't want their child to read about. The love story in this series is believable, but clean--a rare find in modern teenage books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Omg.

    This book had me from the very first chapter! Its a great mystery and i cant wait to read the rest of the series. I need to know what happens, its greaaaaat!(:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Anonymous

    I loved this book! For once, an author made the main character patriotic, and even, drum roll please, religious! Gasp! It was a very refreshing read, and the plot was amazing. For those of you who don't think there is much depth to Charlie yet, read the next books in the series. All the peices will fall into place and leave you stunned.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Just OK

    I am not sure what I was expecting, but this book was just okay. Abrupt ending with no closure.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    READ THIS BOOK!

    I was amazed. Andrew Klavan is one of the best authors ever. This book was impossible to stop reading. I HIGHLY recommend it for teen readers looking for mystery and action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Impossible to lay down

    I couldn't stop reading it. I had to find out what was going to happen on the next page. Andrew Klavan is an incredible writer. I can't wait to find out what happens Charlie West!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 162 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9